We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“'Wedding Week' at Barscobe House.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
2 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
11 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 17
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 2 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rebecca k...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“'Wedding Week' at Barscobe House.”
Reviewed 31 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I can not recommend this house enough to people !!! We stopped at Barscobe House from the 13th-20th May 2017. It was amazing! from the start we had an extremely warm welcome from the house keeper which completely set the tone for the holiday! you couldn't help but not get excited about the house when you were around Vicky as her excitement was infectious! Vicky told us what were good walks for the area and how to get to the loch and waterfall. Our first day was lovely weather so we walked to the waterfall and then the loch were we had a play in the rowing boat that's in the boathouse down there ! It was a great hit with everyone and the dogs loved it too.
We stopped at Barscobe for our wedding week as we wanted both our family's all under one roof, we had 16 people in total and 3 dogs, we were very apprehensive about everyone getting along and if people would be getting frustrated by not having their own space but because of the sheer size of the house this was never a worry it was more a case of trying to find people as everyone spread out and had their own space! The Snooker Table was a big hit also as everyone tended to chill on a night in the grand hall mainly with various snooker tournaments taking place (which was brill for bonding!). As for our wedding on the 18th we all got ready for the ceremony at the house we went to Gretna Green and had the service at the Anvil hall and had the reception back at the house after. We had brought our own garden gazebo and a big BBQ on the lawn the drawing room leads out on to, the weather was fab and the house and setting made for beautiful pictures. We owe our fantastic day to this house and for that we will be forever grateful! Cant wait to go back on one of our big anniversaries! Much love, the new MR & MRS Xxx

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2017
Hi Rebecca,

Thanks so much for your review - WOW it sounds like your wedding was just perfect and that you all had an excellent time at the house, making the most of the fabulous weather and grounds! Glad to hear the pool table was a hit, we're sure you all have left with many happy memories.

We were delighted to help with your booking and will certainly pass your comments onto the owners who will be thrilled to hear how helpful you found Vicky too - she is certainly a credit to the property!

We'd love to help with your anniversary trip, what a great idea and don't forget we offer a loyalty discount for repeat groups so you can claim this next time too :)

Best Wishes,
The Team @ SCH
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan W
Pooley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Scottish Summer Family Reunion”
Reviewed 18 January 2017 for a stay in August 2016
5
people found this review helpful

Stayed one week in mid August 2016. Ideal size for family gathering of 15. House is large and is set in good size of garden which in turn is in a well maintained estate with plenty of scope for walks and exploration. Parking and access easy; shop in village locally and supermarket at Castle Douglas. Large catering kitchen with Aga ( trays though have seen better days and some are bent so difficult to slide in and out) and electric cooker adjacent (no pre-set timing possible).Large pantry/cold store adjacent to kitchen. Masses of crockery of various types (although some chipped) and also glasses and also stacks of cutlery of again various designs. Big chest freezer with some of the previous occupants foodstuffs therein and large fridge in pantry area. Very useful separate wash up scullery with two dishwashers. - an ideal arrangement for a large group
Dining room can seat 15 on an assortment of chairs. Drawing room and TV lounge and snug section of Great Hall furnished with well worn furniture (covered in loose covers and throws) none particularly comfortable. Outside patio area which could have been of considerable use was furnished with largely broken items mostly unusable and was also not cleaned. Downstairs just one toilet.
Upstairs on one level are all the bedrooms, again with well worn furnishings - some chairs with the stuffing hanging out and visible and some chairs so fragile that they carry notices to tell you to keep off. Bathrooms all with period plumbing and fittings - only one fixed shower in the whole house and that is still over a bath and is in the former service wing - no modern separate shower arrangement in the house and no provision for disabled. Beds are largely for old design and not all can be considered comfortable - the couple in the four poster found it such a monster that they resorted to sleeping on the floor in their room. Most of the windows are completely sealed up including in the toilets; for most of the year in Scotland this is probably a good thing but in the hottest week of the summer it was not ideal to have no ventilation especially as the Great Hall smells of smoke at all times presumably from the fire when lit and this has now impregnated all the hangings and furniture - this is a far from ideal situation for any who have asthmatic or breathing problems in the party as we had.On arrival at the back door - the most logical entrance to use to unload at as it gives direct access to the kitchen - one is faced immediately with a notice entitled "The Rules of Barscobe House" - rather more of them than one needs to run a 1000 pupil secondary school as one member of our party remarked - and a not entirely welcome or friendly document as it is pretty clear from it you are there on sufferance. At the time of our visit this document also shifted the ground rules regarding dogs - the original documentation had said dogs OK on the ground floor but this reduced that to a back room and the service corridor only. We were met on arrival by the caretaker who lives in the adjacent cottage and taken on a conducted tour of every room of the house. We had not realised that during this tour we should have done a careful and detailed study of every item of furniture and detailed all damage existing thereon. We should have made a dated photographic record as is done when taking on a hire car for example for after the visit we were accused and billed for items of damage that were nothing to do with our residency but without the evidence the owner, who lives at a distance, took the word of the caretaker over that of the client. As a consequence for no fault of our own we are still out of pocket on the damage deposit. Overall an expensive week for the nature of the property - we have had more comfortable and better equipped places for this annual family reunion in other Scottish locations for less money and certainly experienced a more friendly relationship with the owners who have had a far greater sense of hospitality.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2017
Many thanks for taking the time to submit a review for your stay at Barscobe House. So nice to hear you found our team helpful & efficient and that we were able to assist after the holiday to bring a satisfactory conclusion following your discussions with the owner of the house.

Thank you also for your additional comments which are very much appreciated and we are very glad to hear that your family had a wonderful time and hope you have lots of happy memories from the holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing