We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fab rental”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Boathouse

river view from sitting room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
river view from sitting room
marina from jetty bedroom 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
river view from sitting room
marina from jetty
bedroom 1
through the porthole
dining area
kitchen and dining
kitchen
Boathouse in winter from marina
double bedroom 2
twin bedroom
one of three shower rooms
shower room 2
patio
2nd sittingroom /sofa bedroom
from the river
house and jetty
high tide
bedroom
autumn view
sunset
jetty
crocus display
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bluie22
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab rental”
Reviewed 13 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Recently stayed in the Boathouse and it was one of the best rentals we have stayed at. Lovely decor and a great layout, and fantastic views. Patio at front catches the sun until 7pmish for bbqs and the terrace on the water the late evening sun - lovely to sit at the end of the day. Stayed with a 4 year old and 18 month and they both loved it, from the winding path to reach to the great views of birds and boats out of the windows. Only two steps internally in the property so great for toddlers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: it exceeded expectations
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Reviewed 31 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
I H
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Boathouse Pleasure by The Marina, Kirkcudbright”
Reviewed 6 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Staying with friends this little gem on the banks of the River Dee, Kirkcudbright was simply delightful. From the private lane winding its way to the cottage, the tasteful decor, lovely open plan kitchen, diner, sitting room to the large balcony area over the river it was like our own piece of heaven. With three bedrooms, 3 bathrooms and a second lounge/self contained granny flat it was perfect. The views over the river and the small marina were spectacular, especially at high tide.

We will return with a larger group in summer to enjoy this tranquil beauty and super rental again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The beautiful secluded setting on the banks of the river and the views
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M
Hull
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Relaxing atmosphere with fantasic views”
Reviewed 13 April 2012 for a stay in August 2011

We were the first people to rent the property after its extensive renovation. We were very glad we did. The location is unique being in the old town of Kirkcudbright but right on the riverside. We spent many hypnotic hours just watching the tide come in, go out and yes, come in again! The standard of equipment and furishings is very good with a modern yet comforable feel. There are no overlooking neighbours and you feel very private and secure. Next time I must bring my boat so I can use the slipway and boathouse which resides below the property. Even went crab fishing from the balcony. Highly recommended all round.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Riverside view and privacy
Liked least: The Chinese Takeaway in Kircudbright.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Reviewed 17 March 2012 for a stay in January 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$126
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing