We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favourite place for coffee and lunch”

Harbour Lights Coffee House & Bistro
Ranked #11 of 19 Restaurants in Kirkcudbright
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

This is great spot, opposite the harbour. Good coffee and lengthy tea menu, three soups on the go as well as good selection of sandwiches and meals. Quirky and warm.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank gilmoreCoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2018

It's a good thing that I didn't read the reviews prior to popping in as I would have missed what was probably the largest scone I've ever seen. It was quite reasonably priced, with the option of adding clotted cream and jam. The cream was definitely lacking the sweetness I had come to expect, but was definitely welcomed as an added treat.
The place was quiet and cozy and we sat by the window which offers a a bit of a view.
Perfectly fine for a place to relax and give one's feet a rest.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank geismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018

Probably the worst scone I have ever tasted. I tried one bite and had to spit it into a tissue. The coffee had been rendered undrinkable by the addition of scalded milk. Anyone making barista coffee should know how hot the milk should be. To add insult to injury, we paid more than we have ever paid for two scones and coffees. Plenty of other places in the town if you want to eat.

Decor is very weird.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pkdherisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

We stopped at harbour lights coffee house as we saw a few tables free when we walked past and the other coffee house was unfortunately packed. We should have realised why that one was busy and this one wasn't...

it was after the lunch rush at around 1:30. We ordered drinks only and all seemed ok. However when the waiter took our order back to the kitchen, the chef(owner) slammed a sign on the side that read 'serving meals only' which he stuck on the door. Luckily we were allowed drinks as another table of 4 were turned away for not wanting food.

The food looked like it would be nice but we didn't try it.

Decor is random, and is a mixture of van Gough paintings and Dr who items. The worst part is the toilets which are filled with crude jokes and stories, I'd avoid letting your kids use them if they are able to read.

All in all if you just want a coffee in a nice cafe, this isn't the place for you.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank alibrownuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

We called in Harbour Lights Coffee House for a mid morning snack. The dining area is nice, the staff were friendly and the food we ordered was okay. The place didn’t feel as clean as it might particularly around the counter area and the toilets.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank albeback1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harbour Lights Coffee House & Bistro also viewed

Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Harbour Lights Coffee House & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing