We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
A view of Burns Street from Rabbie's front door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A view of Burns Street from Rabbie's front door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
A view of Burns Street from Rabbie's front door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
stevejigs...
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“perfect”
Reviewed 5 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

this excellent cottage is close to the town center, with ample parking close by, ideal for people with walking disabilities, and ideal for local pubs etc, plus fly fishing is very good

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2016
Thanks Steve. We're glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon n
1 review
“Dumfries - A great place to visit”
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Our cottage in Dumfries was perfect. We were very centrally located and walked everywhere. The cottage was roomy, clean and comfortable across the street from Robert Burns house. We found everyone we met to be friendly and helpful including the staff in the restaurants, shops, museums , the bus drivers and the residents of the town. I loved everything about Dumfries including the fact that you can visit many other areas - Moffat, Castle Douglas, Kirkcudbright, etc. with only a short bus ride. The cottage owners, Susan and Brian, went our of their way to help make our stay so enjoyable.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2016
Hi Sharon,
We are so glad you had an enjoyable stay and everything, especially Dumfries, was perfect for you. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
1 review
“Fantastic homely cottage in the heart of town”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Queen of the South. Very central but quiet location. Loads of fun stuff to do in the local area. Highly recommeded!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2016
We're glad you enjoyed your stay and had loads of fun! Thanks for your recommendation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belcher77...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful little house - central base for touring.”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Never having visited the Dumfries area before we were fortunate to obtain a letting at Susan and Brian Stuart's property of 5 Burns Street Dumfries.

We arrived at the property after a drive up from Liverpool after visiting the Old Forge at Gretna Green and peeking in at a couple of weddings taking place [ahhh].

Warmly greeted by Brian at the house, he showed us round explaining the bits and pieces and showing us the house guide book. `Will you be popping round ? we asked' , `Oh no said Brian, enjoy your peace and quiet and heres my emergency number should you need anything'.

So there we were.

The `Wee Hoos' is a lovely place and fully equipped for a family of four.

Situated in a quiet little street diagonally opposite Robert Burns house there is adequate parking a few feet away from the front door.

Two good sized bedrooms, first with a double, second with two single beds, nice modern shower room toilet, quiet lounge with TV, and fully equipped kitchen looking out onto a little patio and grassed area.
Eating and drinking semi alfresco with the back door and windows open after a hard days touring was pleasant here as the setting sun comes into the back area.
The house is tastefully decorated and relaxing to be in.

Dumfries one way system can be a bit challenging for the unfamiliar self catering tourist but with a little perseverance [and a detailed street map from the nearly hidden tourist info centre at: 64 Whitesands, Dumfries DG1 2RS one can discover not only the supermarkets and petrol station nearby but also the hidden gems of Dumfries itself !

In Burns square if one looks around, there is a plaque on the wall commemorating the original site of Greyfriars where Robert the Bruce killed the Red Comyn in the wars of Scottish independence against the evil Longshanks, Edward the first.
There are lots of nice charity shops round there and the wife and I got a few bargains.

Out on the road from the town we popped up to Drumlanrig Castle a magnificent stately home. Apart from us two there were families with children touring the castle.
The guide and archivist Nicola was amazing and should really be on telly. She kept both adults and children enthralled with her accounts of the history. Amazing lady !

Couldn't find the ancient standing stones of the `Twelve apostles' or Morton Castle as poorly signposted so visited Drumcoltran tower instead. Boy it must have been tough be in the 1550's as this place is a mini fortress.

On our wanders again up we went to Threave castle. Stopping in the little car park and eating our self catering picnic the farmers were gathering in the silage for the winter.
A little fawn dodged speedily around the tractors in the fields.
A lone Osprey flew overhead [they have a centre there for these birds of prey].
Absolutely idyllic surroundings - a mega chill.

An 800 meter amble through beautiful countryside brought us to the castle moat. A boat ferries us folk over to the island. Said to be the ancient home of the rulers of Galloway a 1000 years ago this place was the fortress of Archibald the Grim of the Black Douglas's.

Today, it is a place of serenity when kingfishers and wildlife thrive. Wife told me as we sat on a bench on the way it reminded her of `telly tubbies country' [Thank god the kids are grown now ha ha]

Was very pleased to learn more about Robert burns just thinking he was a poet. Chap was a customs officer and farmer, his carbine musket with lead 4 ounce bullets and his signature on the window done with a diamond ring gave me a fresh insight into the man.

Tried a tin of Haggis cooked on the stove at 5 Burns Street but the with wife put me me off telling me it was sheep's lungs. Ah well, excellent curry houses just round the corner from Burns Street !

Excellent base for a no stress self catering touring break !!!

Paul Campbell

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely lovely homely property with everything we needed
Liked least: Dumfries one way system. Tee Hee.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
Thank you! Not only a ringing endorsemsnt of our property but of our beautiful region too. We're so glad you had such a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being close to everything.(Car not required)
Liked least: Should have stayed longer.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
Thank you Alan. We're so glad you had a good time and found everything clean and comfortable. We're pleased you'd like to return and we'd be very happy to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;