We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Christmas Break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hill View Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
06mvivia
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Christmas Break”
Reviewed 21 March 2017 for a stay in December 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Great stay here, cottage was lovely and clean, and also easy to find! (we stayed somewhere else last year and was a nightmare to find!)

Wifi is free, and there is milk, coffee, tea etc provided on arrival. We took our two dogs who were more than happy staying there - my only point would be for large dogs, the fence in the garden at the rear is very low so ours kept escaping! If you keep an eye on them this isn't an issue.

We will be visiting again as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage in a great area!”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great views from this cosy cottage; just off the A75 so handy for getting around Dumfries and Galloway. Ample parking, clean and comfortable accommodation. Highlights for us were Mersehead RSPB reserve, walking from Sandyhills to Rockcliffe (bus service back), Kippford village (Anchor Hotel a must), Loch Ken, plus the scenic road between Kirkpatrick Durham and Shawhead.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing of note, but better internet would be a bonus
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_alisonwa...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cottage, a home from home.”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week in August. Myself, husband and two young daughters had a fabulous time. The cottage itself has everything we needed making our stay an easy and very pleasant one. Having all the modern conveniences (and even a washing line!!) Made it suitable for anyone wishing to stay. There was a warm welcome when we arrived and it was nice to know help was on site if we needed. We explored the beaches, castles, farms, ice cream parlours and beautiful forest of Galloway. There was more to do than we had time for. Mabie park farm and moss yard farm were firm favourites and I would recommend for any family. Everyday was an adventure and we would certainly return in the future. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C
Kingsley Holt, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquil spot so easy to find”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This lovely property is situated just off the A75 and the directions provided are so simple,that a sat nav is not required. The cottage is pristine with everything that one could desire. It was nice to have tea, coffee milk and biscuits provided on arrival, but little extras like dishwasher and washing machine tablets were very thoughtful. The hosts were helpful and charming. Nothing was too much trouble.Nearest restaurants were either in Dumfries or Castle Douglas, a few miles away. No hesitation in recommending the cottage for anyone wanting a quiet base to stay whilst touring.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close to main A road.
Liked least: Wifi access not always available.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandmaja...
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Little bit of Heaven”
Reviewed 25 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Booked this very last minute, so was a bit anxious as to how it would be.
Didn't need to worry at all, it was lovely!!
Or arrival we were met by a lovely lady who showed us round, and told us how to work things, then left us to it.
The cottage is absolutely wonderful, tranquil, quiet, and peaceful, just the place for a relaxing break away from it all.
Seems like you are miles from civilization, yet it's only 4 or 5 miles to Dumfries.
Was lovely sitting outside on an evening listening to the Owls hooting, and trying to spot the wildlife.
The cottage provided everything you needed, and more! Some lovely little 'extra' touches that were really appreciated, and the twin beds were really comfy.
Will certainly visit again when we get the opportunity.
Wifi was a bit hit and miss, but hey ho, we were looking for peace and quiet!
There's always tesco or McDonalds up the road if you're desperate!
It's a great base for visiting loads of attractions around the area too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing