We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely stay spoiled by deposit being...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Clare056
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely stay spoiled by deposit being unjustifiable retained!!!...”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We had a wonderful stay here, it is the best equipped chalet we have stayed in and we had hoped to return however.....our experience ruined today by argument about retention of the £50 damage deposit.
Beware anyone with young children....on our final morning, the nappy of our 16month old son leaked slightly onto top sheet and quilt cover of the bedding. We quickly stripped the bed to ensure nothing stained the bottom duvet or mattress itself - the exit details clearly asked for us not to wash the bedding and to instead leave for cleaner to take to laundry hence, we followed this instruction. The owner has today confirmed that the £50 deposit will be being retained as cleaner claims that the cover could not be washed - this is ridiculous as a single wash would have cleaned a very minor staining. We also today offered to cover any additional laundry bill (which would be much lower than £50!!)however, this was rejected by the owner.
Also to note that whilst in property, we needed to clean inside of washing machine and carpet to remove dog hair from previous visitor...perhaps we should have mentioned this to owner and charged our own cleaning bill?!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and well equipped for families
Liked least: Very unreasonable discussion and retention of £50 damage deposit
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay @ Heron Lodge........Pride is always taken in presenting our well equipped self catering property in immaculate order.

A small Security Bond is taken from clients to ensure they are respectful of my holiday property during their stay. Since renting out my holiday home for the last 7 years I have only had two occasions when I have not refunded a clients Security Bond- this being one of them.

These clients left the double bed linen, with human excrement on them, and Exited without notification to myself of the incident. This caused my cleaner much upset and on washing the bed linen, and a re wash....... the staining was still found prominent to see. Therefore, the clients were fully informed that their Security Bond held, would not be refunded and replacements have been purchased for future use by clients.

This would be considered normal practice by any holiday home rental owner. Obviously in all other occasions of rental including those clients were minor accidental damaged has been cause have been fully refunded promptly without further question.

Thankfully, the above incident is rare, and the majority of clients that rent my holiday home are very respectful and always leave the property as found on exit without any such incident which I am eternally Thankful for.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saints4ev...
St Helens
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved It!!”
Reviewed 23 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We have been to Dumfries may times over the last few years. But this is the first time we have stayed in a lodge, and we are so glad we picked Heron Lodge, It was absolutely fantastic, we had great weather which is always a bonus. But, the lodge was absolutley lovely, so well equipped, the views are fantastic. We really enjoyed it and can't wait to come again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views from the lodge
Liked least: that we only booked three days we should have booked the week
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay @ Heron Lodge. We take pride in presenting Heron Lodge in good order and try to provide all and more required for a great relaxing self catering holiday with home from home comforts.
Thank you for your coments and would love to welcome you back for a return stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington
Reviewed 18 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Providing own towels as we were coming from ouside the country
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 May 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay @ Heron Lodge.....

Heron Lodge has welcomed many overseas guests, France, Germany, Norway, Amsterdam, Australia.....But you being our first guests to stay from the USA!

The addition of PayPal to make payment for your booking by this website has been very helpful for Traveller and Property Owner alike.

Thank you for your valued comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Jun 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay at Heron Lodge and hope to welcome you back for another stay in the near futre...........

As you have foubd out the lodge is in a wonderful peaceful setting with breath taking views of Mabie Forest ......A great place for a well earned holiday break in which to relax and unwind from daily life anytime of year.

Pride is given in ensuring Heron Lodge is always immaculate, clean and ready prepared for guest arrival. Everything provided and more to ensure a fabulous holiday stay each time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing