We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe next time?”

The Willows Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Willows Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: US$8 - US$37
Description: The Willows Restaurant sits on the banks of the River Nith, over looking "The Caul". During the day relax in our fully licensed restaurant and enjoy cakes, tray bakes, lite lunches, tapas, afternoon teas with tea/coffee, Prosecco, or with a "Gin Twist"! If you are looking for a relaxing evening, somewhere quiet and romantic, a place to dine with family or friends, then our evening setting is the place to be. With our menu which caters for all dietary requirements, using only the best of fresh, locally sourced and produced ingredients, fine wines and full table service, views of the river, and maybe a chance to enjoy a few cocktails, you are assured of a relaxing time, and all made possible by our top chefs, and fully trained and uniformed staff. Booking your table is advisable, and can be done from the "Reserve a Table" button, where you can pick your own time for evening dining. For lunches etc you are welcome to pop in, or book a table by giving us a call.
Restaurant details
Description: The Willows Restaurant sits on the banks of the River Nith, over looking "The Caul". During the day relax in our fully licensed restaurant and enjoy cakes, tray bakes, lite lunches, tapas, afternoon teas with tea/coffee, Prosecco, or with a "Gin Twist"! If you are looking for a relaxing evening, somewhere quiet and romantic, a place to dine with family or friends, then our evening setting is the place to be. With our menu which caters for all dietary requirements, using only the best of fresh, locally sourced and produced ingredients, fine wines and full table service, views of the river, and maybe a chance to enjoy a few cocktails, you are assured of a relaxing time, and all made possible by our top chefs, and fully trained and uniformed staff. Booking your table is advisable, and can be done from the "Reserve a Table" button, where you can pick your own time for evening dining. For lunches etc you are welcome to pop in, or book a table by giving us a call.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We also dined there and were disappointed with our food. The halibut was a very small portion, over cooked and overwhelmed by salty lentils and overcooked cabbage. At nearly £17 this was overpriced for the size and quality of cooking. I wonder if we just chose the wrong meal option. My friend is a vegetarian and did not fancy the veggie options but did notice a basic penne pasta meal on the pre theatre menu. Unfortunately Willows were unable to make up this meal despite its simplicity. On a positive note the waiting staff were lovely and apologetic. Nice touch with the bread at the start. I hope it was just this dish which was disappointing as it is good to see new restaurants opening in the area.

1  Thank Barbara d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Owner at The Willows Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Barbara

Thank you for your review of our restaurant.

We will always respond to reviews, whether they are good or maybe not so good as is the case here.

Sorry that you did not like our Halibut dish, and I am guessing you have written this after seeing the last review which also said about it.

It is one of our more popular dishes, but maybe not just to your taste, which can sometimes be the case. The price of any dish is not just made up of the costs of the elements on the plate, it also brings in to play the decor, the staff, the tableware, nice plates, rates, electric, gas.........the list goes on, so please do not think you are just being charged a price for the dish itself. The overall experience is also taken into consideration. Was my evening worth the amount we paid.......?

I also see you were saying about a "basic pasta dish" on our pre theatre menu. This pre theatre menu is only served from a Monday to a Thursday, as stated on the menu , so unfortunately this would have been the reasoning as to why.

We always do our very best to make sure everyone leaves us happy, and as I said previously, we can only make amends when we know of a problem at the time, and not when we read about it on a media platform like TripAdvisor.

I am however glad that our waiting staff were lovely, and we hope that you will join us again.

Regards
Stephen & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this restaurant as it is newly opened and we were keen to try it. Sadly, all three of us were disappointed with our choices. The menu is strangely, more a list of ingredients rather than a description of the dish, so we all found it difficult to choose. I selected "Pan Seared Halibut, Puy Lentils, Bacon & Cabbage, Butterbean Broth". The small piece of halibut was overcooked, the lentils lacked any sort of flavour and there was little sight of bacon amongst the cabbage. My friends were equally disappointed in their meal.

On a positive note, the staff were very pleasant and attentive.

    • Value
Thank Carole I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Owner at The Willows Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Carole

Thank you for taking the time for leaving us your review after your visit to our restaurant.

Firstly may I say that the way we, and in deed other restaurants lay out our menu now is a more modern way these days, rather than going into a complete spiel of describing a dish where people get lost half way through. We name the dish, and put each element down, so as our customers know exactly what they are getting, which also makes it easier for those who may have a dietary requirement, so they can spot something which they may have an allergy to on the dish, so my apologies if this came across as strange.

I always speak to my team if ever we have an issue or complaint, which thankfully doesn't have to happen very often. My senior team member who was working last night has said that you did say you thought that the fish (180 grams uncooked) was a little small, however there was no mention of the other two dishes which you say you were all disappointed with.

Unless we know about these things then there is nothing we collectively as a team can do to rectify it, and then to see it over TripAdvisor leaves us with no way of fixing it.

We ALWAYS want our customers to leave us happy, and we do take any complaints personally...........If we didn't then we would be in the wrong business.

I do hope however this will not put you off coming back again in the future.

Regards
Stephen & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When a couple of "foodie" friends visited from Glasgow we risked booking a table at this restaurant although we had not been there ourselves. So glad we did. The place, the food and the service was most impressive. Despite seeming so young the staff were most professional yet friendly and the food was beautifully presented and so tasty. It was reassuring to see a smaller menu, but one that was so well though out.
Despite not being cheap we thought the value for money for the meal and wine was very good.
Keep up the good work!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank SusanDumfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Owner at The Willows Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Susan

What a lovely review to read today. We have tried so hard to deliver a top service since we opened, and I am pleased to say that we are slowly starting to get the word out, and recommendations by word of mouth are certainly the best form of advertising we can get.
I am so pleased that you chose us for your meal, and even more so that you enjoyed the experience.

We pride ourselves in using as much locally sourced and produced ingredients as possible, and this does have a slight impact on the price of each dish.
We really look forward to seeing you back to see us soon.

Regards
Stephen & Team
#teamwillows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had an enjoyable evening meal here during a recent stay in Dumfries. The food was good and the staff were friendly and helpful. There was a slight glitch in the service when we got to desserts and they couldn't have been more apologetic. It certainly didn't spoil our evening. I understand this is a new-ish restaurant and they deserve to do well.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dutch1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Owner at The Willows Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hey guys

Thank you for your lovely review.

Really glad to read that you enjoyed your meals with us, and my apologies for the glitch in the desserts. Our kitchen is very small, so our starters and desserts are done in the same area so if we have a lot of starters on, it sometimes can take longer to serve desserts.

I hope this will not put you off calling with us again.

Regards
Stephen & Team
#teamwillows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good that the restaurant is back in full swing ... and even better than before. Excellent meal in lovely surroundings. Good value. Service was top class from the young team of staff. Certainly one for future visits!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Liam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Owner at The Willows Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Liam

Thank you for your kind words.

We have put a lot of hard work into trying to make the Willows Restaurant a great place for people to come and dine, and I am glad to read that you enjoyed your meal with us.

Hope to see you back again soon.

Regards
Stephen & Team
#teamwillows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Willows Restaurant also viewed

Lockerbie, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to The Willows Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing