We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“2nd Fantastic Holiday in a row.”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Schoolhouse, Yarrowford
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Schoolhouse, Yarrowford
Main Bedroom Second Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
The Old Schoolhouse, Yarrowford
Main Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Kitchen
Lounge/Dining Room
Lounge/Dining Room
Newark Castle in winter
Selkirk Common Riding- crossing the river
The Yarrow Water, winter-time
Selkirk Common Riding- Market Square
Deuchars Bridge, Yarrow
Flora and Fauna!
Statue of William Wallace, near Dryburgh
Hills behind Yarrowford
The Green, Yarrowford
St Mary's Loch
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Selkirk, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
B H
Jax
2 reviews
“Good for sightseeing but truly in the middle of nowhere!”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Overall a good location for exploring The Borders but there is nothing nearby. The picture advertising the property is actually the owners' resident. The property is attached to the owner's home by a hallway with no locking door on the guest's side of the property. It was not well cleaned. The cups were stained (came clean with a bit of scrubbing), the tea pot slimy, pans had stuck on food, and the counters were dirty. There was filth around the toilet and mold in the shower.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location for seeing many of the area castles. Perfect for trail walkers!
Liked least: Having to clean up before we could use the kitchen and bathroom.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2016
We are a bit puzzled by these comments. The picture advertises "The Flat at Yarrowford Old Schoolhouse" and is intended to help visitors find it! We are situated in a rural location 5 miles from the nearest town and the tranquillity of this spot generally appeals to guests. It is quite easy to check the exact location, so visitors wishing to be nearer to town can make that choice. It is true that the flat is attached to our house, but the door in the hallway referred to by the guests is kept locked ( on our side- that's how it is ) from the time they arrive. I'm sorry they thought that the flat was not clean. We do our best to be thorough and careful in our preparations for guests' arrival and I am surprised and quite upset that they found so much to fault. We always like to give our guests a warm welcome and hope that they have a comfortable stay. It seems that on this occasion we failed in this task.
Vivienne and James Young
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin T
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“2nd Fantastic Holiday in a row.”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had such a good time this time last year we came back again and it's was just as great if not better due to the Mediterranean like weather we had every day and the warm welcome received from the owners. I would highly recommend this holiday cottage to anyone wanting to either chill out in a perfect cottage or explore the surrounding area. We found it perfect for both.

Can not praise this any higher.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2016
Thank you very much for your generous review. We're very pleased you had an enjoyable stay.
Best wishes
James and Vivienne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTCheshir...
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Lovely location. Wonderful accommodation. Groceries on arrival a lovely gesture. Heating had been put on, so place cosy upon arrival. Close to Selkirk and Bowhill. River 20 metres away. Play area 5 minutes walk. Wildlife to rear - lambs, pheasants and rabbits. Our 5 year old daughter loved it!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2016
Thank you for your very kind review. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the flat welcoming.
Best wishes
James and Viv
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBateman
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“warm, clean, and comfortable place to stay”
Reviewed 13 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I decided to book a stay at the Yarrowford schoolhouse flat whilst visiting family in the Selkirk area; we stayed for four nights in total.

The accommodation is very nice, its clean, comfortable and just what we needed especially on the first night as when we arrived it was raining heavily and we had travelled over 8 hours.

I'd certainly recommend a stay at Yarrowford; the owners are especially welcoming and kindly left a few supplies for breakfast.

Book a stay you wont be disappointed, we're hopefully coming back next year in the summer with the intention of staying for two weeks this time

Many thanks

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2015
Thank you for this very kind review. I'm glad you found the flat comfortable and welcoming.
Kind regards
Viv and James Young
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helga d
Fijnaart, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Superb stay!!”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Very warm welcome from James and Vivienne, Thanks for the groceries, and of course for the very tasteful "Selkirk Bannock". This morning I tasted it with the real Scottish butter, it was delicious!! Our holiday in Scotland was very pleasant as the cottage is very well equiped and comfortable, especiallly the bed, which was large enough for my husband (6ft11in). The weather was perfect for our several tours and our Dandie Racing on The Haining. We certaintly will come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large and comfy bed
Liked least: One tiny shower cabine, as we are big people from the Netherlands
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for your very kind review. It was lovely having you and your two Dandies to stay and very glad you enjoyed your time here, especially as it was Helga's first time in Scotland.
warmest wishes
Vivienne and James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing