We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The second return visit....with many more in the...”

Review of Ludgate House

Ludgate House in the sun
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ludgate House in the sun
All you could need in a kitchen Plenty seating in the dining kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Ludgate House in the sun
All you could need in a kitchen
Plenty seating in the dining kitchen
Cosy logburner and comfy sofas
Peebles award winning High Street
Quality furniture and luxurious bedding
Our second king sized room, with divan
A room for your little angels!
Batahroom with electric shower
Outdoor eating with BBQ
Sunny walled garden
View across the Tweed to the church
Cross Church, round the corner
Neidpath Castle beside the Tweed
Visit the four Abbeys - this is Melrose
Stunning local secenry
Traquair House is ten minutes away
Christmas at Ludgate House
Local scenery
Lyne Kirk
Churchyard at Romano Bridge
Floor Castle, a fabulous day out!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Peebles, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nettynoos
york
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The second return visit....with many more in the future hopefully!”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

What is there not to love about this house?
So beautifully furnished, excellent interior design, so clean, so well equipped, so many little extra touches like all the ingredients you need for making a roaring log fire in the wood burner, a whisky bar, local handmade biscuits, free wifi, all the tourist information to hand that guests would require, and just a wonderful homely feel so that the minute you step in through the front door, the holiday has begun!
Peebles is a truly beautiful little town and the surrounding countryside breathtaking.
No wonder we returned and are already planning the next escape to this perfect bolt hole!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angela b
Peebles, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superbly comfortable , spotlessly clean,well equipped,great place to stay in Peebles.”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed for 2 and a half weeks waiting for our house to become available, we were not on holiday.

The house was wonderfully relaxing and comfortable.The owner has thought of just about everything to make guests feel at home.When we arrived the house was warm and there were so many welcoming touches , fresh flowers, wine, food, etc and treats for the dog!

Even during a really cold snap the house was always lovely and warm. There were little extras all over the house that were unexpected and welcome.There's not a hint of skimping anywhere in this house.

We loved the location, so close to lovely walks, shops restaurants etc.We barely used our cars.

We wholeheartedly recommend Ludgate House, and you couldn't ask for a nicer owner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High quality goods throughout and VERY CLEAN.
Liked least: Limited work surface space in kitchen cooking area,(but we've been used to much more than average.)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
familyget...
County Galway, Ireland
1 review
“A perfect home away from home... LOVE IT”
Reviewed 28 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

My family just stayed at Ludgate House for the weekend. everything about this house is perfect, so cosy, clean, warm and spacious. It is a perfect holiday home and my family loved it. The house had everything you could need for your stay, even down to colouring pencils, childrens DVD to keep my nephews occupied in the evenings. without question we will be returning to Ludgate for future trips to Peebles. thank you for making our stay in Peebles so comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful kitchen and sitting room
Liked least: no dislikes
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAY19ab
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holiday cottage in Peebles”
Reviewed 8 December 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My family and I enjoyed a super 5 night stay at the absolutely delightful Ludgate House. We were lucky enough to be greeted on arrival by the owner Alison who showed us round and gave us some great tips on what to do in Peebles. Our first impressions were how well appointed the cottage was; so spacious, tastefully decorated and very clean, it immediately felt like home from home. As we settled in we found games, toys and colouring books for the kids along with a good range of DVDs and books. Then there were the luxury touches that really put Ludgate House in a different class, the chocolates, wine, drinks cabinet, fresh flowers topped off with the wood burning stove in the cosy lounge all ready to go. The bedrooms were great too; two large doubles with big beds, fluffy duvets and blankets with hot water bottles available for those cold Scottish nights. Our two kids loved their room with bunk beds, each sporting a cuddly crocodile and slept very well as the house was so quiet at night. The private garden sports a picnic table, barbeque and importantly for us a secure bike shed which we put to good use.

Peebles itself is lovely with its independent shops and a good range of places to eat. The house is situated very close to the centre of Peebles, only a few minutes walk from the High Street that our two year old managed to toddle round with no buggy. It’s also only a short walk to an absolutely super play park which was so picturesque with the autumn colours during our stay. We also checked out the local swimming pool at float time and went on a couple of family bike rides but our highlight was riding the trails at Glentress.

Definitely the best holiday cottage we’ve ever stayed in. We will be back!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dylanmcke...
1 review
“Home from home!!!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Myself my husband and my mother stayed for 5 days recently. The house was gorgeous, spacious and so comfortable. The finishing touches just made the house extra special. The house wanted for nothing with a welcome pack in the fridge milk for tea/coffee or cold bottle of white wine, (glasses to be found in a nearby cupboard) and fresh flowers too. Peebles was so friendly too lovely variety of shops.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing