We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Burt's Hotel(Melrose)
US$191
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clint Lodge(Melrose)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (718)
Filter reviews
718 results
Traveller rating
192
286
146
59
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
192
286
146
59
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself driveresident entertainerdining roomshearings hotelsbay hotelsjames mullaneyshearings holidayentertainment roomnational holidaysevening entertainmentpremier roomthe ground floorfree drinksgreat entertainmentturkey and tinselnight breakupgraded room
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 718 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed at most of the Bay Hotels in Scotland over the past 3-4 years and this is probably the last one for awhile. Visitors often complain about how dated these hotels are and it is true, most of them could use a refurb. Waverley was a bit better than many. The main issue seems to be an inefficient dining system. If you are listening Waverley,,, having a one hour dining time does NOT work. 200 people descend on the dining hall at once, including multiple coach tours. Other Bay Hotels have staggered times for dining which prevents having long lines and slow service by an understaffed dining room. Our poor waiter was either untrained or inexperienced and did not seem to know how to keep the courses moving along. Breakfast is a madhouse as it is all self service, including making toast ( 2 toasters for 200 people!) We noticed that they ran out of plates and seemed to have a difficult time keeping the buffet service replenished. Part of the problem could be alleviated if they would move the buffet line so that people could serve themselves from both sides instead of having it up against a wall.
The rooms are standard Bay hotel rooms, small and minimally furnished.
Unfortunately , the quality of the food has gone down, we suspect to keep the price lower for their target audience, UK OAPs.
Bottom line, if the deciding factor for your decision to stay at Waverley Castle is price, there is no denying that if you shop carefully, you can get a very good deal, just don't expect much, this place is not a 4 star hotel , maybe a 2 . You get what you pay for.

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear C B

We are sorry that you were not happy with your stay. We are currently looking at changing our dining system and you will be required to book a specific meal time instead of giving you the open sitting that is operating at present. The hotel only holds 130 people however it may look like 200 when everyone comes into the restaurant as soon as it opens - there is no need for this however on occasions it does happen. We have tried to give meal times that suit most tastes and requirements and we replenish the buffet with freshly cooked meals as quickly as possible.

We wish you all the best in your future travels

Regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went to Melrose Scotland With Shearings 15/06/18 - 18/06/18 Had a fantastic time. we did a trip to Jedburgh and Edinburgh, the driver Mike was great at talking about the trips, the Hotel was very clean and the food fantastic, would go agaiin sometime,
John B

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jbrowne55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear jbrowne55

Thank you for taking the time to review you recent stay and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back in the future

Kind regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went to the Waverley Castle with Shearings on a Mon- Fri break, as this is a review of the hotel I’ve not commented on the coach driver, trips out or the interchange experience.
First the good points, the public areas i.e. reception, bar, dining room and entertainment room and games room were excellent, clean and well decorated. The vast majority of the staff were very helpful and friendly and did their best to make our stay enjoyable.
The food was average Shearings fayre and some of the evening meals were a bit hit and miss, also on several occasions what was displayed on the menu wasn’t always available (our waitress said it was something to do with the suppliers).
Breakfasts were buffet service as seems to be the norm nowadays and the food on offer was well cooked and the bacon and sausage particularly tasty. However every morning large queues formed at the hot section due to a shortage of plates, after this had happened on the first morning I would have thought that steps would have been taken to remedy the situation.
On most nights we sat in the bar but we could hear the entertainment and people seemed to be enjoying themselves. Bar prices were on the high side but as there are no other pubs or hotels to provide competition within walking distance I guess this is to be expected. I was disappointed that there were no promotions other than £4 off a bottle of wine (still £15.95), on other Shearings holidays they’ve had deals on beers and upgrades on spirits.
I wanted a twin room when I booked but was told that the only twins left were upgraded rooms that they wanted to charge me £28 per person for, Shearings should make it clear in their brochure that there are only a limited number of rooms available at the standard price and be clear what the surcharge is (I have complained separately to Shearings and the Advertising Standards Agency about this).
The most disappointing aspect of our holiday and one that to be honest spoiled the experience for us was that our room was noisy and we were unable to have the window open on what were quite warm nights. We complained at reception and were rather abruptly told that it was the extractor fan in the boiler room and they couldn’t do anything about it and there were no other rooms available. They suggested that we either keep the window closed and use an electric fan (even noisier) or open the window and use ear plugs, I found this to be entirely unacceptable on a holiday that cost over £500! It was very apparent from the off the cuff remark made by the man on reception that this is a known problem, if this is the case Shearings should do something about it.
I paid full price for this holiday (only to later see it discounted by £80 per person) and if I book early I expect to be provided with a quiet room. This situation lasted for the duration of our stay and the lack of sleep did nothing to enhance our holiday experience.
However, if you manage to get a decent room and don’t mind being a little outside the centre of Melrose the Waverley would probably be OK for a short break.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs any rooms that look inwards over the roofs as these will be noisy. We were in room 310
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After an initial hiccup with accommodation which was soon rectified i had a very comfortable, enjoyable vacation here. The room was well decorated and fitted out and so clean. The situation of the hotel was just a short walk from Melrose with a beautiful riverside walk to the town. The dining, leisure and ballroom was excellent with plenty of good food , well presented and always hot served by attentive staff. Overall a memorable stay with the best entertainment i have experienced in any hotel. The resident entertainer was brilliant . The coach driver who regularly services this tour was friendly, knowledgeable and an excellent guide to the countryside and Edinburgh tour

Room Tip: Single rooms are boxs. Don't go for 301
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Micheal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Michael L

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and we are delighted you enjoyed yourselves. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went with Shearings and we pleasantly surprised by the standard of the hotel. We had booked a premier room, which was well worth the cost. The room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfasts were buffet style and always lots of choices on offer. Dinner there was a variety and we always had something we could eat. Our waitress (Fiona) was a bubbly smiling lady who made us feel at home and nothing was too much trouble for her. We did have some small issues with the room, but these were quickly rectified at reception. Would be go back? definitely.

Room Tip: Ask for a premier room.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gilliana85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear gilliana85

Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews