We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply better than anticipated”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Melrose, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Geoff B
1 review
“Simply better than anticipated”
Reviewed 2 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I booked this venue for my wife's 50th birthday celebration and it was magical in every regard. The staff are just so lovely and helpful. The facilities second to none and the location breathtaking.
I would recommend this to anyone and intend to return one day

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was such a pleasure meeting with you and all your family and friends and I am so pleased that Lynn had a lovely birthday. It was good to see the hot tub in use and you had such lovely weather to appreciate being outside in the courtyard at the Wing. I hope that you will be able to come back and visit us soon.
Many thanks
Carole
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmrustad
Borders, United Kingdom
1 review
“My best birthday ever!”
Reviewed 29 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Our Norwegian visitors were amazed and almost speechless over the quality, comfort and beauty of the Hope Scott Wing (and they have high expectations!). We all loved the kitchen/dining area, which was so conducive to happy meals and general relaxation. The bedrooms also were highly praised for being so delightfully appointed. Abbotsford is well-placed for experiencing the Scottish Borders, and three car-loads of Norwegians headed for cashmere-buying in Hawick, as well as sightseeing elsewhere. The Bechstein in the drawing-room was a joy to play. It was undoubtedly, for the hostess, her best birthday experience ever, and we all left with very happy memories. The staff were so helpful and positive, and no detail had been overlooked in ensuring that high standards were maintained throughout.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Feel and Touch the History”
Reviewed 22 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We had booked a 2 night stay.
If you love being immersed in history and luxury surroundings then staying at this accommodation will not disappoint.
Being the recent private home of Sir Walter Scott's family you get to experience their lifestyle.
We had a most beautiful period bedroom with a luxurious large private bathroom that you could have had a waltz in !
The superb plentiful breakfast is served in a gorgeous large period dining room (only thing missing was the butler !)
On top of this we had access to a large sitting room,library,snooker room and the large gardens as well as Sir Walter Scott's Abbotsford House !!
All this is perfectly complimented by the lovely welcome and excellent service provided by the House Manager Carole.(she even gave us a tour of the whole Hope Scott Wing before settling in)
The lovely town of Melrose and it's historical abbey are only a 10 minute drive away providing shops and restaurants.
The many other famous border towns and abbeys are all within easy drive.
Not only do you get to discover the history and beauty of the borders within the radius of this property but you get to come back and live in it as well !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review. You are so right when you say that you can experience the family's lifestyle in this unique house. It was a pleasure meeting you both and I hope that you manage to come back and stay with us again soon.
Carole
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith W
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best Big House Ever”
Reviewed 11 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We have been lucky to stay with groups in a few big houses in Scotland in what is a growing market.
Four families went with fourteen of us all told for an upmarket weekend away.
This is far and away the best ever.

Worth going through our "ideal check-list":
Friendly helpful welcome. Big Tick,
Modern plumbing and heating. Big Tick.
Bedrooms of a reasonably consistent size (no arguments). Big Tick
Great Scenery. Big Tick
Well equipped kitchen. Big Tick
Separate Dining Room. Big Tick
Plenty of public space. ie not greedy on bedrooms. Big Tick
Lots of Bathrooms (mainly on-suite). Big Tick
Entertainment (piano, games, snooker room, speakers, tvs, hundreds of books). Big Tick.
Good location (Easy access and lots to do). Big Tick.
Roaring fire. Big Tick
Comfortable Beds. Big Ticks
Outstanding Value. Huge Tick
Wow Factor. Huge Tick

A stunning blend of period features, and modern appliances with great design, access to the main house and gardens. Whoever did the design fit-out deserves an award. Faultless.
5* plus or even 6*!
Our own Downton Abbey
Will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Blend of old and new. Top finishes. Lots of space
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2016
Thank you so much, Keith, for this honest - and glowing! - review. An incredible amount of hard work has gone into the Wing over the past five or six years - and it's worth it all when we hear how house parties like yours have had such a memorable stay. We'll do all we can to keep offering the same service and experience - all part of the legacy of Sir Walter and his most hospitable descendants... All the best, Marianne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F
1 review
“Historic luxury with a modern designer twist and all the trappings”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Fantastic well appointed accommodation unrivalled in terms of location resting on the banks of the River Tweed with lashings of history and culture.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for the rating - and great description of what guests can enjoy and experience here at Abbotsford...! Haste ye back, Marianne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing