We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely wonderful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bow Cottage

The front of Bow Cottage in Abbey Street, Melrose
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front of Bow Cottage in Abbey Street, Melrose
Bow Cottage Living room & dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
The front of Bow Cottage in Abbey Street, Melrose
Bow Cottage
Living room & dining area
Spacious and bright living room
Well equipped and bright kitchen
Bathroom with walk-in shower
Front Door
Welcome tray
Bedroom One
Bedroom Two
Melrose Abbey
The Eildon Hills as seen from Scott's View viewpoint
The River Tweed
View across to Melrose and the Eildon Hills from Gattonside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Melrose, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kath755
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It was a delight to deal with Louise. After booking I asked Louise if there would be a hollowfibre pillow (due to allergies) and she made sure all the bedding was hollowfibre which was terrific. Her welcome pack was excellent and much appreciated and the personal touch of providing a wonderful home-baked cake and homemade marmalade was fantastic.
The cottage is delightful, comfy, cosy and very well equipped for making meals if you wish. The extra loo upstairs was great and there is loads of storage space. The location is fantastic - a stone's throw from the High St. but very peaceful. It was like being in a country cottage in the middle of town. I particularly liked the soft furnishings in the bedrooms. We would have loved to have sat at the table and chairs outside but the weather just wasn't warm enough.
Melrose itself is a lovely little town with an interesting range of local shops and with plenty of places to have a nice meal and several options for carry-out food. We had an excellent meal in the Kings Arms. Melrose is also a great base for exploring the Borders area by car and for walking. We will definitely return and will want to stay at Bow Cottage again.
Thank you, Louise!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2015
Thank you so much Katherine for the lovely review, I'm glad you were comfy and enjoyed your stay.......,and cake and marmalade! I hope we see you back at Bow Cottage very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neville C
2 reviews
“A great place to stay.”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The cottage is located in the center of the town but down a quiet side lane. Well furnished and ideal for visiting the surrounding places of interest. The welcome pack, including a cake was much appreciated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location.
Liked least: All good.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2015
Thank you, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we solved the mystery problem with the TV!!. Weather wise you undoubtedly picked the best week of the year so far. Thank you for watering the hanging baskets and window box and I hope to see you back next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate H
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cosy cottage in the heart of Melrose”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Lovely cottage and a delicious cake to welcome us. Very well equipped with everything you could need. One of the most comfortable beds we have found in self catering accommodation. Location is fantastic - right in the centre of Melrose. We were there for the Borders Book Festival so everything was in walking distance. Louise was very helpful with a couple of questions before our stay. Would definitely recommend to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - and very well equipped
Liked least: Limited outdoor space
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
156lolly
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 9 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Stayed here May 3rd for 5 nights with my husband, in laws and my dog, had read the reviews, and everything was as I had read. The cottage was lovely and clean very well equipped, great location, and yes a lovely cake waiting for us. It was a great base for sightseeing with so many lovely places to visit close by. Would definitely return in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How homely the cottage was
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alex d
Millport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great little Cottage with everything you need and more.”
Reviewed 19 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a great little cottage in the middle of Melrose. Although it is in the middle of Melrose it is really quiet and peaceful, with no hassle. The Cottage has everything you will need plus lot's more like Wifi, electric blankets, gas central heating and plenty more, we will be back that's for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was brilliant.
Liked least: Parking was a bit awkford.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing