We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent cottage with all amenities”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bow Cottage

The front of Bow Cottage in Abbey Street, Melrose
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front of Bow Cottage in Abbey Street, Melrose
Bow Cottage Living room & dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
The front of Bow Cottage in Abbey Street, Melrose
Bow Cottage
Living room & dining area
Spacious and bright living room
Well equipped and bright kitchen
Bathroom with walk-in shower
Front Door
Welcome tray
Bedroom One
Bedroom Two
Melrose Abbey
The Eildon Hills as seen from Scott's View viewpoint
The River Tweed
View across to Melrose and the Eildon Hills from Gattonside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Melrose, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elizabeth...
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage with all amenities”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My friend Hilary booked Bow Cottage for us to stay during the Book Festival. What a lovely cottage, so central - easy walking distance to shops, Melrose Abbey, river walks. I had no idea that the Borders area was so beautiful and will certainly return, if not in 2015, then certainly in 2016. The cottage is cosy, well appointed, comfy beds, everything you could wish for. We did a lot of sightseeing by car and also walking and although keen cooks, would also recommend the Indian carry-out just two streets away - yummy - the best we've had in a long time. Well done Louise, we would thoroughly recommend Bow Cottage and, thank you very much for the cake, croissants and free range eggs - a bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable cottage in central location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review, Im glad you were happy at Bow Cottage, and enjoyed the Book Festival. Im so sorry I never got the chance to meet up with yourself and Hilary and I hope I see you back for the Book Festival next year. Glad you enjoyed the cake!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison F
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfectly comfortable and welcoming.”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We three stayed at Bow Cottage for two nights and couldn't have been happier with our stay. Cosy and full of home comforts. Very comfy bed. Central position in the town was perfect. We ate out in the Town House for dinner and found the food to be superb. Communication over booking was made so simple and so efficient. Couldn't recommend our satisfaction with the whole experience highly enough. Many thanks Louise, you do a grand job in making your guests feel so welcome.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review, Im glad you enjoyed your stay at Bow Cottage and enjoyed Melrose. Come back soon. Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margoandg...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“mr mrs stevenson”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Fantastic little house, near train station and shops yet
in quiet little lane. Across from melrose abbey
Louise made our stay great. Nothing is a bother. A very welcoming and homely house. Warm comfortable and clean. Could not fault anything. Recommend this house

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2014
Thank you for the lovely review, although you maybe mean close to the bus stop as there have been no trains in Melrose since1969! I'm so glad you enjoyed your short break at Bow Cottage. Hurry back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Welcoming, comfortable, clean, everything you might need!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Stayed at Bow Cottage for weekend with husband and two grown up children. Lovely welcome with cake on arrival which was much appreciated, as were all the extras including tea, coffee, milk, croissants, eggs...Bow Cottage is well appointed and perfectly situated in a very quiet yet central location. Would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to detail eg lovely handmade soap, fresh eggs, coffee etc
Liked least: Shower door sticks
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review, much appreciated. Im delighted you enjoyed your stay in Melrose.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudi B
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed here with our friends and two dogs during rugby 7 weekend. On arrival chocolate cake waiting for us made by Louise as well as lovely welcome note. Cottage cosy and has everything! Including soaps and shampoo. The kitchen is well equipped and had everything we needed including fresh eggs. Home from home in great central location. We will be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2014
Thank you for the lovely review, I'm glad you enjoyed the cake! Hope to see you all back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;