We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tweed Rig

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Views over the famous Eildon Hills
Dining table (seats 14) and living area
Living area: Samsung 51” Plasma TV. Full Sky package. DVD player
Dining table seats 14. High chairs available.
Living area and open plan kitchen
Dining table seats 14 and open living area
Living area with access to balcony
Living area
Kitchen
High chairs available for the dining table to accommodate the little ones.
Open plan kitchen.
Living area
Master bedroom: kingsize bed. Full ensuite. Closet room. View over Eildon Hills
Master bedroom with views over Eildon Hills. Additional Travel cot available
Master bedroom. Full ensuite: Bath, Shower and WC
Closet room with cot
Double bedroom (1): kingsize bed (this bedroom is adjacent to the main bathroom. Bath, Shower & WC)
Main bathroom. Full Ensuite: Bath, Shower & WC)
Main bathroom. Full Ensuite: Bath, Shower & WC)
Double bedroom (2): double bed. Ensuite shower & WC
Twin bedroom: two single beds. Ensuite shower & WC
Twin bedroom: Ensuite shower & WC
Family room: double sofa bed & 2 single beds. Ensuite shower & WC. PS2 with selection  games/movies
Family room: Ensuite shower & WC.
Gallery bedroom: two bunk beds suitable for adults
Utility room
Tweed Rig has a woodland garden
Table tennis located down in garage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Melrose, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Doullmy
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This property ticks every box for a get-together with family/friends! On arrival the property has a wow factor that does not disappoint, a very comfortable property. The location is perfect as you feel very much in the country yet the lovely town of Melrose is a short pleasant walk away with lovely river walks too. The house is very comfortable and very well equipped , everything you could possibly need is in a cupboard or drawer. The needs of everyone from an 11 month baby to the more mature traveller are met in this house. We have found a gem in the Scottish Borders! Can't wait to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander...
St Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic house, great service and beautiful area”
Reviewed 3 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We rented this house for a company creative retreat and to integrate new members with the rest of our team. The house is situated in a beautiful part of the Scottish Borders, perfectly secluded yet with good links with Melrose for any fresh food shopping. The house is fantastically well-eqipped. Most of the bedrooms have en suite bathrooms and are all furnished impeccably. The best feature of the house is the open plan living area, with a large dining table linking the kitchen to the television area. We thoroughly enjoyed meals together and the space definitely helped create a great atmosphere. Other wonderful features were the table tennis room downstairs, the sauna (which we all tried out) and the outside BBQ area.
The owner was always superbly communicative, accommodating and helpful. All in all, we don't have a single negative thing to say about our stay and cannot wait to return next year!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xZd-7OWeKl4

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facilities in the house
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bev761
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 17 October 2014 for a stay in July 2014
9
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Tweed Rig in July 2014 as a family group of 9, we were really looking forward to staying in the property but when we arrived it was not the house advertised in the pictures on the internet. Lots of things were broken and not working properly and the house and veranda was in need of repair, one of the settees was broken and one of the beds and some of the bedroom furniture my husband had to put back together in the twin room. The washer was broken, the toaster tripped the electric, dirty, rusty water filled barbeques were left in the garden, the shower was blocked and that was just a few of the problems we encountered. We paid £1650 for the week, we were so disappointed with this holiday letting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2015
As the owner of Tweed Rig, I was shocked to find this review. In the 10 years we have rented out Tweed Rig we have never had a review like this. This is our former, family home and we do everything we can to ensure our guests enjoy their stay. As with all large houses, things do get broken or need replaced from time to time and we always ask our guests to report anything wrong so we can fix/replace things as the cleaning company do not have time during changeovers to check everything. I was confused about this complaint as there had been guests in the house straight after the 'disappointed' guests and they found everything to be in working order and left a review saying how much they enjoyed their stay (Amazing, Sept 2014). Without knowing all the details, I immediately emailed the 'disappointed' guests to offer them another stay for free which they accepted. I later found out from the cleaners that it took them a while to clean the house after the disappointed guests left. The cleaners took photo's on their mobile phones to explain the reason it took them twice as long to clean the house that day. Perhaps the guests thought they would not get their deposit back and had looked for faults to retaliate? After checking the list of their complaints, there were only 2 valid faults - the seal had gone in double glazed window which we could not have been fixed until the house was empty and the balcony was needing some minor maintenance work done which again would have needed to be done when the house was empty. The guests were keen to book dates for their free stay but I could not offer them any definite dates until November 2015 onwards as we were committed to other bookings and some essential repairs and maintenance. I never heard from the guests again after I emailed them with the dates and then they submitted the review. We always ask guests if they find something wrong or not working in the house to contact us and we will try and fix things for them and future guests, so I am not sure why they didn't call us if things were not right.
We are not in business to make huge profits. We do not charge a lot of rent for the size and location of the property compared to other similar properties. Our aim is to keep our former home well maintained for our future use and for guests to enjoy this unique home in the meantime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravz_09
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We recently hired out Tweed Rig for my 30th bday and had a wonderful time with the family. The location was great as it was isolated and we had some time to ourselves and also an easy commute to Edinburgh.

The accommodation was exactly how the pictures were. My biggest surprise was the size of the living room which was a lot bigger than I had anticipated. The rooms were a good size and it certainly helped having several bathrooms.

Debi has provided us with a good list of what to bring and what was already included in the cottage which saved a lot of space coming up. The Tesco delivery to the cottage worked a treat.

The whole family had a fantastic time and could not fault this cottage. Would definitely stay here again.

Thanks Debi

Ravi

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic house for socialising with a group of friends or family”
Reviewed 26 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Fabulous house, amazing view from the balcony, great bedrooms, kitchen facilities were spot on for cooking for a large group of people no shortage of glasses.
The location is great for all areas we did a park and ride into Edinburgh as well as walking to Melrose and the abbey the area around is superb very scenic.
We were a party of 10 and enjoyed the house and the surrounding garden, we even had a deer visist us twice!!! Recommend this house to anyone, we would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The social area is fantastic for getting together
Liked least: Bunk beds
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing