We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Wedding Venue!”
other traveller has booked this property
front of Kippilaw House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
front of Kippilaw House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
front of Kippilaw House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
15 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 40
Melrose, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul_spac...
1 review
“Fantastic Wedding Venue!”
Reviewed 5 November 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had our wedding at Kippilaw in September 2017 from Friday night through to Sunday morning and the whole experience was wonderful! We didn’t want to leave.

The venue is fantastic and our guests loved it! We had guest from the UK and Taiwan and they thought the house was just stunning and made the environment feel magical. Nice rooms with different themes and lots of character. It really did have the feel of a big family wedding! The house has a few fireplaces that were on which made the evening feel very cozy.

The food was outstanding, we had beef, seafood and a vegetarian pie (which was huge!) everyone loved it. Cutting a huge piece of meat really was fun for our guests – some new skills were acquired that day. A great way to make people happy is to give them great food!

The team at Kippilaw were also great, Lil and Douglas helped us plan and prepare the wedding – making sure we didn’t make any newbie mistakes, the catering was great and suited everyones needs and the waiting staff were extremely helpful.

The house interior and exterior makes for some great photos too! We have a lot of happy memories here.

A great place for wedding with lots of character, highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2017
On Behalf of Everyone at Kippilaw ,we had a wonderful experience with
Your lovely families and friends .
Thank you for choosing Kippilaw.
Please come and visit again anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George S
1 review
“Absolutely Brilliant.”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We all had the most fantastic weekend at Kippilaw. I was hosting a 21st birthday celebration for my closest 20 friends and close family and we had such a fun time. The old house is full of character and Lil and all the staff were so hospitable and welcoming. The planning of the weekend was made super easy also with Lil super relaxed approach. Would thoroughly recommend to anyone for large celebrations.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2016
Dear George
Thank you so much for celebrating your birthday at Kippilaw House. We are so glad you enjoyed the Kippilaw experience and we would welcome you all to stay again. We appreciate your kind and honest review.
Best regards
The Kippilaw Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna L
1 review
“Magical 21st Birthday”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I celebrated my 21st Birthday here on a magical weekend with 30 of my closest friends. Not only is the house absolutely beautiful and perfectly equipped for catering or self-catering, but Lil and Lauren were so friendly and useful to help with any questions I had before we arrived. We had beautiful weather so were lucky enough to be able to make use of both the incredible grounds as well as the beautiful house, and it really is in the most spectacular location. Having no noise restrictions also meant that we could enjoy our weekend into the early hours, without being worried about disturbing the neighbours. I would jump at the opportunity to stay at Kippilaw again!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for your fabulous review. We are so glad you enjoyed staying at Kippilaw and would welcome you and your guests to come and stay with us again. Its always nice to hear that our guests love Kippilaw as much as we do.
Thank you
Kind regards
The Kippilaw Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garrysdad
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Flawless venue”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

28 adults and 4 children met up for a family celebration. All of the questions beforehand were answered quickly and fully. Even as our requirements altered, nothing seemed to be any trouble. The house was clean and fully equipped for a mix of self-catering and catered meals. The weather was just reasonable so we made full use of both the indoor and outdoor facilities. It's easy to feel at home here. Our whole family would recommend Kippilaw for a large gathering.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxed feel of the house in a secluded location.
Liked least: Access around the kitchen when people were seated at the table. A slimmer kitchen table might help.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for your review. We loved having your family stay with us at Kippilaw House. We hope you visit us again soon and we are so glad you enjoyed your family celebration.
Best regards
Kippilaw House
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thorpenes...
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for large family Christmas”
Reviewed 30 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Amazing place to stay, Warm house with plenty of hot water. Kitchen has everything you need, magi mix,electric whips,3 potato peelers etc.
Nothing was too much trouble, even mended 1 of the 7 water heaters on Boxing day!
This property was perfect for a big family Christmas, including the dog.
Thank you Douglas and Lil

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lay out so everyone had somewhere to go.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2016
thank-you so much for staying with us over Xmas .
please visit again if you are around here
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing