We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good Times, Perfect for our needs”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mosspaul

Mosspaul
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mosspaul
Mosspaul in summer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Mosspaul
Mosspaul in summer
The comfortable sitting room at Mosspaul sits between the bar and the veranda.
The Bar!  All pumps and optics are functional and the owners can order in for you on request.
Casual dining for 10.  The games room can be set up for 28 diners.
Table tennis, darts, giant Wii, cinema and music in the games room.
The cinema seats up to 28 people comfortably for mealtimes
Why not hire our poker table for a quiet night in with a difference.
Stairs and Landing
Room 1 - double
Room 1 shower room ensuite
Room 2 - double
Room 2 ensuite shower room.  The shower is behind the door.
Room 3 - bunk room with 2 double bunks
Room 3
Room 4 - double ensuite.  Adjoins Room 5
Room 5 - triple bunk bed.  Adjoins Room 4
Ensuite bathroom for Rooms 4 and 5.  Has a shower over the bath.
Room 6 - bunk room with 2 triple bunks
Room 6 has a double built in wardrobe
One of 2 shower rooms ensuite to Room 6.  Note that the toilets for this room are over the hallway
Commercial kitchen with cooker, grills, slow cookers, pots and pans
Kitchen showing fridge, crockery and cutlery
Washing up with large commercial dish washer for fast washing
Recycling area
Mosspaul in the mist.  The scenery is stunning and the walking straight from Mosspaul is excellent!
Walking back into Mosspaul in snow.
Mosspaul Rideout Saturday 2015
Mosspaul Rideout Saturday 2015
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 19
Hawick, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
skeyno
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
1 review
“Good Times, Perfect for our needs”
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I was tasked with finding a place that could sleep up to 20 people, had beer, activities and we could party without upsetting people. When I found this place I found the perfect place

We rented the Inn for a Stag party (15 people) and we had more than enough room & the freedom of the Inn. We had the Keg and the optics going in the Bar which all of the guests enjoyed.

We had Poker, Beer Pong, Fifa, Hot Tub, Darts, Pool on the go and had 2 great nights. Owners were very helpful and friendly!

Would recommend to stag groups, good value for money

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2016
Thanks very much Sean. Hope you have a good trip back and good luck for the wedding. Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
Thanks very much David. We are delighted that you all had a good time and you would be welcome back here. Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ross A
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Weekend”
Reviewed 15 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I organised a stag do for myself and 16 guys, Alison was a great help throughout the organisation/planning.

We had a great weekend, plenty to do indoors as the weather wasn't great, pool table, darts, massive projector screen to watch the football etc...

The guys enjoyed the chance to pour their own pints in the bar. Great kitchen facilities to feed a large group and also plenty of eating space. Local supermarket will deliver a big shop to save space in the car.

Overall it was a great weekend, thank you to both Alison and Eddie for their help. I'm already looking to organise another trip down there, maybe for some golf next time.

Ross

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Plenty of space for a large group, lots to do indoors and out.
Liked least: If you were really picky you could moan about the lack of phone signal/WiFi but that's really not why you would go there.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2016
Thanks very much for the review Ross. We'd welcome you and your guests back any time and are glad you enjoyed your stay here. Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A1711
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Perfect for a large group!”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We were 14 guys on a stag do for the weekend. Was a perfect house for the group;
- Large industrial kitchen (with dishwasher!) perfect for cooking - including the BBQ outside!
- The built in bar was great for sorting out all the (many) drinks
- Ping-pong table and Wii on a huge projector
- Plenty beds for everyone
- Darts and Pool table

Enough to keep us occupied for the weekend and then some. No issues with making noise until 4am in the morning either. Managed to see the Hawick Rideout too as an added bonus. Great communication from the owners and they were around to answer any questions too. Definitely Recommended!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2016
Thanks very much Ally. We enjoyed having you here and are glad that the Rideout was an added bonus. You'd be very welcome back. Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny C
2 reviews
“Perfect remote stag do location - Proper bar / media room and industrial kitchen”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A group of 15 of us stayed for a weekend for our friends stag do. It was the perfect location for us, it let us have free roam over a proper bar with a keg hooked up (purchased through the owners) as well as optics for our spirits and a proper glass washer to make sure there is always glasses at the ready.

During the day we went exploring up the hills into the wooded areas and had some fun with our throwing axes and bow and arrows - we were sure to leave it as we found it though!

The owners were in the process of setting up a hot tub and other activities for future bookings, which will only add to the experience! If you have any questions feel free to ask and I will try to answer for you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Free run of the building - bar etc.
Liked least: Wifi was a little poor - however this is more likely down the the lines in the area.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2016
Thanks Dean - its great to hear that you had fun at Mosspaul! You and your group would be very welcome back - kayaking, archery, poker table and hot tub all ready to go!. Kind regards, Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing