We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“holidaying in someones house”
other travellers have booked this property
Martinshouse Holiday Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Martinshouse Holiday Cottage
Back entrance to Martinshouse Cottage Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Martinshouse Holiday Cottage
Back entrance to Martinshouse Cottage
Master Bedroom
2nd bedroom single bed
Living room with flat screen TV
spacious living room with 42' flatscreen tv with full sky package and FREE Wi-fi
The Kitchen equipped with all you need!!
Private parking
The sun goes down on Martinshouse
Privacy and peace and quiet at Martinshouse
Cosy in winter
The Cottage from Martinshouse Hill
Harvest time at Martinshouse
Martinsbridge over the River Teviot
Beautiful skies
We love gardening
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Hawick, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
williammc...
Forfar, United Kingdom
1 review
“holidaying in someones house”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

this house was very tidy and was well equipped.One or two little things that they could and should improve on are it states that it has WI-FI when it did not, I brought this to their attention but nothing was done.The other thing was snails moving about in the oven !!! sadly this put us off cooking so we had to eat out every night after that.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The locality
Liked least: Snails moving about in the oven and no WI-FI despite it being advertised as such
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2016
Dear Mr McInally

We have Sky WIFI for the benefit of our guests. The access code is on the guest registration sheet, a copy of which is supplied to every visitor. Of the 3 key people involved with the running of the cottage, no one has any recollection of your comments regarding issues with the WIFI. You spoke with at least one of us every day during your stay. If you were having trouble with WIFI any one of us would have been happy to help in this respect.

The cottage is meticulously cleaned and inspected for the arrival of each guest. This always includes cleaning the oven and replacing kitchen foil in the grill/roasting tray. On cleaning after your departure we noted that the oven had been used during your stay. The cottage has been booked more or less continuously throughout the summer. No snails have been reported or found in the property let alone the oven.

'...we had to eat out every night after that.' On your arrival you asked Lynda for directions to Chinese and Indian restaurant takeaways as these were you preferred treat while on holiday.

We had many enjoyable short chats during your stay. No issues were ever raised, in fact the opposite. You said everything was perfect and you were having a great time. For this reason alone we find some of your comments somewhat upsetting.

We pride ourselves in guest satisfaction and do our best to ensure our visitors have a wonderful stay. Any issues raised are addressed immediately.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfred A
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great place to stay with a young family”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This was a great place to stay with a young family.

The only part of the cottage that felt a bit small was the kitchen, which had a small table that I don't think that we could have all fitted around. But that was made up for by there being plenty of room in the bedrooms (to store things) and the lounge (to eat together).

We even had local family over to visit us one day and with four adults and two children in the lounge we still didn't feel particularly squashed.

There is a fenced in garden outside the cottage which meant that the children could run around playing games safely. We were also told that the fields behind the cottage weren't being used and so we could talk a walk up to the top of the hill for some great views, I don't know if you can always do this.

The cottage is quite isolated, it's maybe 100m or so from another cottage and isn't in the town. That might have been a problem if we wanted to be out every night, but when you want some peace and quiet after you've got the little people into bed it's ideal.

The cottage has a washing machine and plenty of space to hang things out to dry, very handy for when children get unexpectedly mucky,

The owners were very helpful and friendly as well.

This was a very positive stay and I hope that we can return.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for the lovely review and we are glad you enjoyed you stay it is very peaceful and relaxing their and as you say plenty outdoor space for the kids. We hope to welcome you back in the future

Regards
Kerry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
932jenny
Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This cottage was ideal for us. Clean, cozy, with everything you could possibly need. Beautiful country location but still close to amenities . Enclosed garden was ideal for our dog. Very good value for money. Great base for visiting family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
Many thanks for your lovely comments we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again.

Regards
Kerry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizziechi...
Flintshire
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect Haven”
Reviewed 21 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Stayed at the cottage with my husband, sister and brother in law and our 2 dogs. Couldn't have been made to feel more welcome. It was a real home from home. Very well equipped and good sized kitchen. We all slept well in the very comfortable beds. My sister and I were born in Hawick and we're really grateful to Lynda for letting us know that they were having a practise for the common riding going right past the cottage! It made my week, very emotional! We are hoping to get back to Hawick for the Common Riding next year and would definitely stay here again if it's available. Thank you for a lovely stay and sorry I completely forgot to write in your visitors book. Fabulous garden and wonderful views, cannot recommend this place enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views and comfy beds
Liked least: nothing at all
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2016
Many thanks for staying with us it was a pleasure to welcome you and your family. We hope to see you again!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy D
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“So peaceful!”
Reviewed 15 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We have just arrived home after a lovely long weekend at Martinshouse cottage and feel so relaxed and rested. The cottage has everything you could possibly need and is also delightfully comfy. The beds are heaven and I slept like a baby. I have stayed in more luxurious cottages but I have never felt as at home as I did in Martinshouse cottage! The garden was perfect for our dog to run around in as it is fully enclosed so she loved it too. I really hope we will be back later in the year so we can enjoy the garden in the sun.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed!
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2016
Many thanks for staying at martinshouse. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing