We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
157
54
16
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
54
16
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews converted church free breakfast sky room separate building private rooms are warm place to stay fantastic hostel bright atmosphere dormitory room charge devices super chill well stocked kitchen included in the room rate main building great wifi one night rooms are clean
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

This was such a disappointing experience. I really love the idea of converting old buildings and it does this well but it's a bit tired in areas and grubby in the stairwell. After a long trip, we were greeted with too many stairs and with heavy luggage I now would recommend taking it one floor up and leaving it. Then the hostel staff first told us the rules and how we must leave a passport or 5GBP as a deposit for a key. This is very outdated and though we did get the money it back no problem and I know how expensive new keys are, a new card key system would be so much less hassle. The communal area upstairs is very clean and quirky which is the biggest plus of this hostel! The kitchen was also well stocked very early for breakfast and scrubbed. The WiFi works really well too. Unfortunately the bathrooms are a nightmare. There was no space. I literally had to climb into the shower to close the door. Toilets were absolutely filthy. There was no checks in ages.There had been someone in the night who had peed on the floor and it was left for hours until we checked out. The showers are really really BOILING without any adjustment option or even 30secs. If you let go, they stop leaving one to shower pressed against the wall - I'm sure this is good for winter and I love hot showers but just too hot for me. Our room was a 6 bed and absolutely stifling. The beds are probably my least favourite thing here as they were hard and not clean, resorted to sleeping on my towel when one person in the group found crumbs in the sheets and I couldn't bare to be under blankets anyway. The charger port worked and I like the structure of the beds. Really wanted to like it, can see how it might have been awesome a year or two ago but I really think this place needs a good scrub and some new bedding.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank KateW0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackpackersPlus, Manager at Backpackers Plus, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Hello Kate!
We are sorry to hear you didn't fully enjoy your experience with us.
Travelling with a tour can be sometimes... demanding, especially if you have expectation that do not match the reality.
Although asking deposit for keys ( or card keys ) can be see as outdated, it works just fine. It makes people think about coming back to check out with their key and not just leave with them in their pockets. And as you pointed out, it is a deposit and we give it back.
We agree with you on the shower issue. They are small and we are working on a better project for them. All our shower have different temperature and there are signs on each and every of them that tell you about the kind of temperature you will find in them.
We are not a boutique hostel, so we have foam mattresses on bunk beds, but we definitely change beds every day. If you would have come at the reception explaining your problem/ concern, we would certainly have change the sheets for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

Friendly, well-equipped kitchen, quirky building,communal areas get busy when a tour group in but very chilled the rest of the time. Value for money with self-service breakfast. The dorm a bit claustrophobic with window at lower leg level.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Original52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackpackersPlus, Manager at Backpackers Plus, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Hello there!
Thanks for the great review!
We are happy you enjoyed our skyroom area!
Upgrading our ventilation system in our dorms is on our list of things to improve already.
We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

Really easy to arrive and park, We loved that place, so comfortable and pleasant. We had a new ensuite room, very nice and clean and even more enjoyed the skylounge for dining, relaxing, meeting people...

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Trickymimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackpackersPlus, Manager at Backpackers Plus, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Hello there!
Thanks for the nice review!
We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Backpackers Plus is fantastic and a super chill environment. The staff are kind, friendly, helpful, and all around welcoming. It's a little home here! Clean rooms and facilities, lots of amenities, great wifi, and a healthy breakfast. It's also situated right outside the busy part of town, adding to the peaceful atmosphere, but is only a five minute walk from the center of town. 10/10 will be back!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank AnnaMarieFMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackpackersPlus, Manager at Backpackers Plus, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Hello Anna Marie!
Thanks for the smashing review!
We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We arrived in Oban on Friday 18th May to catch the ferry to Barra the following morning - but hadn’t booked anywhere to stay. Even though we’d put ourselves in the ‘mature’ age group we thought we’d try Backpackers Plus and what a good choice it was. We had a bright, spacious comfortable room in the annexe with shared toilet and showers which was fine. There was a well equipped kitchen where we could make tea/ coffee anytime; breakfast (cereal/ bread for toast etc) was laid out in the morning for self service. Marzia, the receptionist, was welcoming, helpful and very efficient. It will be top of our list on our next visit to Oban.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank gwenny253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews