We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great family holiday base near Oban”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cologin Farmhouse

Cologin Farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cologin Farmhouse
The views from the farmhouse Free fishing on our trout loch in the hills
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Cologin Farmhouse
The views from the farmhouse
Free fishing on our trout loch in the hills
A traditional Esse stove complements the modern oven and 5 ring gas hob
The dining room table can seat 10 adults
There's an ice dispenser on the American Fridge Freezer.
The Esse keeps the farmhouse kitchen warm and cosy
This bedroom can be set up as a double or twins plus bunk beds
One of the kingsize beds at Cologin
Bedroom layouts are flexible and the ground floor ensuite can be a twin or an American King
Cologin has two ensuite shower rooms and two family bathrooms
Leather sofas and tween chairs infront of the open fire
Sunny south facing aspects
A BBQ with a view at a nearby beauty spot
The Barn Country Inn is just around the corner
There's a playpark at Cologin
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Oban, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Frank T
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great family holiday base near Oban”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The farmhouse is deceptively large and very well laid out and the website photos don't do it justice.. There were thirteen of us in the family staying there for a week - grandparents, three adult couples and five grandchildren. Everyone loved it. There was plenty of space a big enough dining table for all of us, and another table in the large kitchen. We had plenty of room. Apparently the farmhouse is to be refurbished soon and perhaps it is beginning to get a little worn but that was fine by us with five little kids charging about.
We loved the fireplace open to both the dining room and the lounge with a nice logfire.
Well equipped - an Esse as well as the cooker, fridge freezer which made ice : freesat tv's, ipod dock, WiFi for £10 for a week. And the pub / restaurant The Barn is nextdoor.
Would thoroughly recommend it

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A nice spot very close to Oban and safe for the kids to run about outside.
Liked least: Lack of a store for the kids bicycles.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brochan
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great property and location. Response to feedback on issues found disappointing”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This is a ps to the preceeding review 'A lovely weekend at Cologin' April '14
Before leaving we brought some matters to the owner's attention which had caused some nuisance value. We were though disappointed with the owner's response. The owner dismissed feedback about bedroom curtains not screening out daylight effectively (on very large bedroom windows) as insignificant. For us, being woken at the crack of dawn on a non-work day / having a relaxing weekend break was pretty unwelcome. If you wouldn't like this either this may not be the best property for you. I should say though that I found this in the bedroom I slept in and don't know about the others. We also had problems with the water being scalding hot and then too cold as a result of having turned the water tank off because it was unusably hot. The owner explained that the water was usually heated by the 'Esse'? and the inference was that this would have provided comfortable temperatures. Suggest it would be worth checking in advance / on arrival to know what you need to do to avoid problems with water temperature. Similarly the heating controls were not clear, which meant we were too hot at night and we also found the oven controls unclear (this included a chef among us) which meant we had a very late dinner one evening, missing the music night in the barn as a result!. All of which we had taken in our stride, without major concern. We would though have hoped for a better response from the owner suggesting the items raised would be addressed for future visitors. In the absence of which, although it was otherwise a good property in a great location we are unlikely to return or to recommend without giving the above information.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marywE512...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely weekend at Cologin”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Rooms are comfortable and the layout is fantastic. Lovely surroundings . Idyllic , secluded situation but close to main roads for other local attractions. Well equipped for the number of people with well appointed patio. As a group of friends we found the accommodation very suitable with regard to the layout of the bedrooms and number of bathrooms. Kitchen well equipped however, gas hob needs a little care and attention,( which we will mention to the owners before we go). The Barn Bar next door has food , which we did not try, but really handy if you don't want to cook or drive. No noise at all was heard from the bar in the house. Super dark skies for star gazing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna S
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“In need of a good clean!”
Reviewed 29 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We stayed at Cologin Farmhouse during the October half term 2012. The location is lovely, quiet and picturesque and the farmhouse is a very good size and layout.

My main concern was the cleanliness. On entering the farmhouse, the first thing you will notice is the smell, which is largely caused by a plumbing issue in the kitchen, under the sink. Please do not open the cupboard as this increases the odour. I think smell caused by faulty dishwasher and washing machine. Did report to owner during stay but wasn't fixed during our stay, but then only there for 3 nights.

The farmhouse could be so beautiful if given some attention. Most of the curtains were falling down, the soft furnishings were in need of a good clean. The arms of the sofa and chairs for example were black and the dining room seat pads filthy. The rug under the dining room table was also in need of attention. You wouldn't want to sit at it without your shoes on.

I am only putting these negative comments as I want to be honest, as when looking to book accommodation for my family, I am never looking for 5 star luxury but always hoping for 5stars in terms of cleanliness! The photo's on the website may need updating!

On a positive note, the towels and the bedding were beautifully clean and the farmhouse extrememly warm. The children (ages 2, 4, 6 and 8), thoroughly enjoyed it there.

I hope the owners take these comments and remedy the issues as it could be a perfect holiday rental with your family!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Cleanliness/Smell
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Dec 2012
Thank you for your feedback - the farmhouse is due for some internal decoration this winter after a very busy summer season. The seats are already booked in for recovering and the dining room rug has been sent away for a professional clean. We have got to the bottom of the blocked drain from the dishwasher and I am very sorry if this caused any inconvenience during your 3 night stay. I am glad your children enjoyed their stay - the house is always very popular with young families.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V C
Soham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous house in a gorgeous setting”
Reviewed 11 June 2012 for a stay in August 2011

2 families - 4 adults and 6 children.
House in beautiful setting with amenities only a 15 minute drive away. Very comfortable and well presented, we loved staying here, and would consider returning despite our long drive from London to get here.
Lots to see and do in the surrounding area - a lovely holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Setting, views, size of rooms
Liked least: Cant thing of anything negative - bigger porch for all our shoes!!!!
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;