We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Fearnach Bay House

Entrance to Fearnach Bay House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to Fearnach Bay House
View of Loch Mefort from the house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Entrance to Fearnach Bay House
View of Loch Mefort from the house
Breakfast on the terrace
Fearnach Bay House in June
This bedroom has luxury en suite bathroom
Fabulous views from the window seat in the living room
A place to relax
The entrance hall with master bedroom beyond
A popular viewing area
The dining area will seat up to 8 with comfortable leather chairs
Fearnach Bay House from the loch
A familiar sight from the house
The master bedroom
Superior quality beds and bed linen
En suite luxury bathroom
All bedrooms have sea views
A quiet corner
The kitchen has all mod cons
Winter sunset on Loch Melfort
Fearnach Bay House perfect at any time of the year
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Oban, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
budhen
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed here at the same time last year and immediately rebooked. It is still just as good as last time.

Our week was in June/July.

Warmly recommended.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sncaffare...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Luxurious, beautiful and remote loch-side house”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Fearnach Bay House is in a beautiful, private setting, right on the waterside with fantastic views. The owners Jennie and Rory really went the extra mile to ensure we were comfortable. The house is warm and cosy and very well equipped for quite large groups with great modern facilities. The underfloor heating throughout and wood burner was particularly welcome in December. Fresh flowers, mince pies, whisky and local toiletries were a really nice touch. The area is steeped in history and great for walkers. There are also various activities on the loch and out of nearby Oban - though we had awful weather we still found things to do.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoodWineH...
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Bliss. Pure & simple.”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013

The best accommodation I think I have stayed in, both for its quality and location. The views are even more stunning than the website suggests, just breathtaking, and the layout of the house is perfect in order to enjoy them from every room. There is nothing the owners haven't thought of, and the house is better equipped than my own home! Rory and Jennie are the perfect hosts – they show great hospitality but leave you to relax knowing that they are there if you need anything. We saw Jennie fairly regularly because we couldn’t stop ordering her fantastic home-cooked meals, which are worth going back for alone! Their local knowledge and insights were very useful.
There is a lot to see and do around, plenty of walks on foot and day trips by car, and the owners and previous guests have put great thought into making suggestions available. However, we were very lazy because it felt like a waste not being in such a superb house!
I spent many hours sitting in the bay window reading a book and appreciating the views.
Despite the weather outside, the house is heated beautifully, so feeling chilly was never a problem (I mention this as a ‘cold’ person!).
We shall be back, I have no doubt, and we are very excited about the cottage being built on the estate. The only downside to such superb accommodation is that I predict it will become very popular!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlastairH...
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful house in the most beautiful setting.”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We spent a lovely week at Fearnach Bay House at the beginning of September. Jennie and Rory are wonderful hosts, and their kindness and attention to detail made our stay very special. The house has everything one could wish for, and the surrounding area is extremely beautiful - we particularly loved the window-seat with views across the loch. We had great fun walking and fishing on the loch, then coming home and sitting by the fire on the all too comfortable sofas! The bedrooms are all very luxurious, with excellent mattresses and lovely sheets. Thank you so much to Jennie and Rory for a wonderful stay, and I hope to be back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The window-seat with beautiful views of the Loch.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xx x
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“I came away feeling completely refreshed!”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Stunning location - Dramatic hills, the peaceful loch and a view that changes dramatically throughout the day as the weather changes. Much time was spent walking and fishing!

Amazing house - Kitchen/living area is a fantastic space for socialising as a group or just chilling out. And the speaker system runs throughout the house!

A wonderful place to relax, my week at Fearnach Bay House was very comfortable and very happy!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing