We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (844)
Filter reviews
844 results
Traveller rating
219
354
153
54
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
219
354
153
54
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national holidays shearings holiday sea view self drive entertainment every night the dining room staff coach trip great holiday bar prices superior room each evening sea front breakfast was buffet style long weekend an upgrade weekend break single room
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 844 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

After much searching for an hotel in ObanSunday 17 th July managed to get into Bay great western, £79 for a night it was the cheapest by fatr an average price was about £110 friendly staff , great room with a view (121) buffet breakfast .Only downfall was the £6 charge for car parking...

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank andykelly56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

Location Really good, right on sea front
Room was big and comfortable, nice big bathroom
Hotel was old and full of oaps on bus trips
No wifi
Breakfast starts at 8, meals at night stop at 8 pm, asked why so early, was told because most people in hotel are old.
Looking at the menu in room, doesnt look like i missed much, again in was aimed at the more older generation.
£6 a day to park, you get a space, 2 out of the 3 nights someone had parked in it.
Would not stay again

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank LancasterJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melise B, Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Hi LancasterJohnny,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It is pleasing to hear you were comfortable in your bedroom and enjoyed the location of our Victorian Hotel. We do have free wi-fi in all public areas of the hotel. I cannot imagine that we would respond to your question regarding dinner arrangements in such a way. We serve meals at various times during most of the day and evening, however we cannot always suit everyone's requirements. I am sorry you would not stay again and wish you well on future holiday arrangements.

Kind regards,
Melise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

Here are the positives for this hotel. The views to the sea and harbour are spectacular. The room we had was pleasant except they appear to have been kitted out like an old folks care home. In fact the hotel appears to be very focussed towards the elderly - which is fine but it may not be your idea of a holiday break. They have entertainment to suit. Our first unacceptable issue was the yellowing stains on my partners bed. We had to call the night manager to change them as it looked like body fluids, which he did. Note luckily the rooms are decorated in a sort of easy to wipe down fashion - so they preempt this. Point 2 - breakfast is unacceptable - it’s not what they have, it’s the quality of what they have. Eggs with the smallest yolks I have ever seen, poor quality sausage that had a weird smell - lack of decent fruit (grapefruit and prunes only ) poor white bread, scrambled eggs made with the same poor quality eggs. It’s high volume catering food. Point 3 - the corridor areas are carpeted and smell of urine. Point 4- I walked down to ask if a parking space free in the car park and here is how the conversation went. Me: is the space number 1 free? Receptionist (aggressive tone and body language) : who is asking? Me: I am. Receptionist: well who are you? Are you staying here? Did you just come in? (Tone getting more aggressive ) what’s your room number.

When I told her that her tone was aggressive she started shouting that she ‘would not let me say that she was aggressive’ Honestly, what type of hotel trains staff like this. I came in with no agenda except to ask a simple question. The fact that she saw me enter from the car park ( as we were leaving and saw the space being freed up) should not mean that she responds in such a way. I did not get her name but she appeared to be Polish or Eastern European with long reddish hair. She needs customer experience training immediately. Staff behaving in thus day do so because they know they can get away with it. The manager was invisible.

Note - this hotel appears to be managed by a head office in England - they experience they have created has no resemblance to Scottish hospitality _ if this is why you travelled to Scotland then look elsewhere as there are plenty of good B&B ‘s for the same price . shocking.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank vince092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Some areas are in need of refurbishment and food could be improved. Certain items on menu weren't delivered as written. Wonderful surrounding areas to visit on boat and lots of walks. Staff work very hard .

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank SeaFoodaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melise B, Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Hi SeaFoodaddict,

Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Great Western Hotel.

Kind regards,

Melise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

Room was great, stunning seaview , sunsets were amazing, oban has so much to offer.boat trip to see the seals , a trip to mull ionia brilliant .....food was hit or miss , not much choice , and small portion s ,no entertainment coach driver had no knowledge what so ever of what the lochs were called lacking local info just got us from a to b .didn't go to staffa boat was full ,,,, holiday was ok not worth the money hotel rooms were ok if you got one thats been done up , would I go again yes with a differant coach driver ,

Room Tip: Room with sea views
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melise B, Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Hello Barbara,

Glad you enjoyed your stay and the lovely views we have to offer over the harbour. Our daily menu offers a choice of three starters, five main courses and four desserts and changes on everyday.

Kind regards,

Melise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews