We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Day Out”
Review of West Coast Tours

West Coast Tours
Ranked #2 of 19 Tours in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: West Coast Tours offers a range of day and sightseeing tours. Our day tours to Mull, Iona and Staffa allow visitors to visit two or even three islands in one day as well as regular bus services to Tobermory and joint tickets with Duart Castle. Our City Sightseeing open-top bus tours operate in Glasgow, Oban and Bute and offer expert commentary and the ability to hop-on and off. We also operate a fast passenger ferry link between Campbeltown and Ballycastle in Northern Ireland called the Kintyre Express which offers visitors the chance to combine both the west coast of Scotland and the rugged Causeway Coast of Northern Ireland.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

my wife, our little dog and I wanted to go on a boat trip whilst we were in Oban. We choose west Coast Tours as it had an office near where we parked the car. The young chap behind the counter suggested that we should go on the 3 Isles tour which starts at 0950 and returns in 2005. He also suggested where we can park the car for a whole day for a fiver.
As some reviews have said, it really did go line clockwork, everything was on time and we were able to take our little dog to all three islands. Our driver Chris was really informative and a great credit to the company.
I recommend this trip very highly.

Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westcoasttours2018, Manager at West Coast Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and it's great to hear that you enjoyed the tour and would recommend us to others. We'll pass on your comments to Chris who will be delighted with the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"three islands"
in 27 reviews
"fingal's cave"
in 72 reviews
"bus driver"
in 32 reviews
"the early bird"
in 22 reviews
"iona and staffa"
in 27 reviews
"boat ride"
in 18 reviews
"day trip"
in 34 reviews
"two hours"
in 22 reviews
"audio tour"
in 5 reviews
"booking office"
in 12 reviews
"smaller boat"
in 9 reviews
"single track road"
in 8 reviews
"entertaining commentary"
in 4 reviews
"ran like clockwork"
in 4 reviews
"organised tour"
in 5 reviews
"st columba"
in 4 reviews
"perfect weather"
in 4 reviews
Filter

28 - 32 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a wonderful day doing the tour. Our bus driver was great and funny without being overbearing. Everything ran on time. We would highly recommend this tour! The Roebuck’s from the USA

Thank roebuckjuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westcoasttours2018, Manager at West Coast Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for your review and we're delighted you had such a great day and would recommend us to others. We hope you come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The tour packages offered by West Coast tours were efficient. The transportation arrangement ran like clockwork. Hopping from Isles to Isles was seamless. Just pay attention to the instruction to counter staff and you are good.

Thank JonnPiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westcoasttours2018, Manager at West Coast Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for your review and we're glad to hear everything ran smoothly and you enjoyed the tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Other reviewers have warned you to get to the Staffa Tours office in Oban early to pick up a raft of tickets. The station car park has only thirty spaces but there are others around town if you can find them. Plan ! The tour itself was very pleasant in fact excellent and a great opportunity to photograph wildlife especially Puffins. You can get good pictures with the most modest camera as the Puffins come very close. Why the one star for customer service ? Well I can truly say I have never ever experienced a more aggressive rude and unhelpful response as we did when we visited the company offices having booked online that morning and missed our trip. The company have subsequently admitted that their online system wasn’t working properly and should have blocked a late booking because parking in Oban can be very scarce and you need to allow plenty of time to park and pick up tickets from the office. We were grudgingly offered an alternative trip / date which we subsequently took after re arranging a lot of other things. By contrast the ferry company people were a model of politeness and help when we asked them to cancel those alternative arrangements. Here is a little taste of what you can expect if you have a problem like ours. I was trying to explain why I felt a refund was appropriate to the counter staff. Me “can I tell you ...” counter staff member interrupted with the response ”dont you tell me anything” said in a very shouty voice. Me “can I explain then” counter staff response “and don’t you patronise me either !” And so it went on. Not a credit to the town or Scottish tourism. Spoilt the day. When i made a formal complaint which is very unusual for me the complaints manager has offered a similarly grudging apology and claimed we had been rude. Not a bit of it. I had been exceptionally careful to be polite.

Thank EHO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westcoasttours2018, Manager at West Coast Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

It was myself who investigated and responded to your complaint and explained that your description of what happened was very different to the one that staff, including our area manager who happened to be in the shop at the time, described. Our staff work very hard all season long to help customers have a wonderful experience on our tours. They deal with many difficult situations and go above and beyond in many instances. Your complaint was one of very few we receive over the course of the season and, as I stated, I do sincerely apologise if you feel you were treated poorly. However, I will say that I will defend staff when they are subjected to rude or bad behaviour by customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked the tour online , and had to pick up tickets from the West Coast shop near the Oban ferry terminal. However please note that you cannot pick up the tickets in advance as we tried to do , however the shop opens early on the early bird days and we were able to park just past the railway station, pick up the tickets , and quickly get to the ferry terminal in good time for boarding at 07:10
this early start makes sense as there is plenty of parking at that time , the ferry is not crowded , and throughout the day you are ahead of the crowds.
It was a long day , but split up into very enjoyable shorter segments - our 5 year old grandson loved it all and never got bored.
Ferry to Mull was brilliant , with plenty to see from the deck areas.
then straight on to the West Coast coach - very comfortable and an excellent commentary , on the trip across Mull to Fionphort.
Then straight on to the boat to Staffa - good commentary and reversed almost right in to Fingals cave - awesome ! The skipper then adroitly got us in to the small landing slip and we were on this magical island. The kids yomped off to find the puffins and we climbed to the summit and took 360 degree panoramic pics of the incredible array of islands in all directions - if you are a keen photographer don't miss this . it's not signposted but at the top of the steps from the boat just carry on up.
After our 1 hour on Staffa we were on our way to Iona , with again plenty to see all the way and a good commentary.
A highlight on Iona was sitting on the verandah of the pub and watching a crow picking uo shellfish on the rocks then flying straight up and deliberately dropping them onto a rock and diving down to eat the contents from the broken shell - smart birds.
After a relaxing 2 hours on Iona , it was a short trip back to Fionphort on the local ferry then back on the bus to Craignure to catch the large ferry back to Oban. Plenty of time for fish and chips in the cafeteria on the way.
Brilliant day out enjoyed by 3 generations of our family.

1  Thank robnrose745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westcoasttours2018, Manager at West Coast Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review and we're delighted you enjoyed the tour so much - all three generations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Coast Tours also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to West Coast Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing