We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveller rating
380
30
7
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
380
30
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsiona suiteloch fynegeorge hotelarched windowsformer churchlismore roomwarm welcomekippersinveraray castleperfect hostsnew ownersbreakfast roomfresh milkroad noisebedroom and bathroombreakfast was excellentfriendly owners
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 417 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018

We chose this B and B as we were going ghost hunting at the nearby Inverary Jail. We stayed for 1 night in the Jura room, well from after 3am. The room was nicely decorated with coordinating furniture. The bathroom was clean and had a double shower. The room had a mini fridge with fresh milk in it, there was a good selection of teas, hot chocolate, decaf and ordinary coffee and some homemade shortbread. Great hosting by Bruce. Breakfast was served in the dining room with views across the loch, there was even a pair of binnoculars at the window for use. Good scottish breakfast which allowed items to be swapped in/out, only a slight disappointment was the tattie scone which needed to be cooked/fried for longer.

I would definitely recommend this B and B.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sgP886AD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce M, Owner at Newton Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thank you for your extensive review and your recommendation.
Kind regards, Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

My husband and I had the pleasure to spending 2 nights at Newton Hall Guest House during a recent trip to Scotland. Our room was spacious with a beautiful en-suite bathroom that appeared to have been recently renovated. The location is a short walk from one the downtown area, and only minutes way from the charming downtown area and Inverary Castle. The breakfast was abundant and delicious, and Pam's shortbread cookies were the best we had in Scotland! I would absolutely choose to stay here again. Special thanks to Bruce and Pam for being such gracious hosts.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Nicholette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce M, Owner at Newton Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Thank you for your very kind comments and delighted that you enjoyed Pam's breakfasts and her home baking. We would be delighted to see you here again and hope your Scottish trip was a great success.
Kind regards, Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Bruce was especially friendly and helpful, and the room was lovely. Yes, it’s right by the road, but the traffic almost disappeared at night. The view of the Loch is breathtaking, and we enjoyed the Loch and the local walks immensely. The breakfasts were excellent, and we highly recommend this wonderful B and B. A wonderful space, in an unforgettable setting, operated by two extraordinary people.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce M, Owner at Newton Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

So nice to hear that you enjoyed the room and the view so much. We really appreciate that you recommend us and hope that we will see you here again soon.
Kind regards, Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Had a one night stay here on the way to visit the Isle of Mull. Had a warm welcome from Bruce and were shown to the very lovely Iona suite. As someone already mentioned there are some drawbacks with this room. Unfortunately the main road is just outside the window with quite heavy traffic thundering by. The room was very stuffy and really needed the window open so it was a choice between shutting out the noise ( a bit) or trying to get some air in. Everything else about the room was mostly lovely. However why provide a Cafetiere with instant coffee powder ? ! The bathroom was gorgeous, with a high quality finish. I suggest taking earplugs to dampen the traffic noise for a decent sleep . I'm generally a good sleeper but was glad I'd packed some ! At breakfast Bruce seemed a little flustered as everyone seemed to turn up at once. Not over impressed with the quality of what was on offer particularly as we were paying £120 for the room. Muesli which just seemed to be oats,weak coffee. Good bread though .Some plain Yogurt would be nice too .All in all this is trying to be a luxury B&B and a few little tweaks might help.The view from the bedroom is glorious.

Room Tip: Take earplugs if you are in a room overlooking the loch.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montymuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce M, Owner at Newton Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Thank you for your review. We always listen to our guests' comments and we strive to maintain the highest of standards and aim for all our guests to feel relaxed and comfortable while we are looking after them so it is sad to hear that your overnight stay with us was so disappointing. Kind regards, Pam and Bruce.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

Newton Hall Guest House was a comfortable place to stay. Its location made it perfect for exploring Inveraray as well shopping. The room was clean and well appointed. Our host was friendly and made us feel at home. The full Scottish breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fran0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce M, Owner at Newton Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thank you for your very kind comments and so glad that you had an enjoyable stay here with us.
Kind regards, Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews