We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“relaxing weekend in Kintyre”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Old Post Office

Old Post Office Holiday Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old Post Office Holiday Cottage
Old Post Office Holiday Cottage Old Post Office
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Old Post Office Holiday Cottage
Old Post Office Holiday Cottage
Old Post Office
Spacious enclosed garden, ideal for young children and dogs
External view of additional bedrooms
Entrance with plenty of space for parking
Rear garden
Garden with BBQ seating area
View of the cottage from the beach
View along the beach south
View along beach North to A'Chleit
View out to Cara from the beach at Muasdale
Gentle waves on the shore at Muasdale beach
There's nothing better than getting your bare feet in the sand!
Beach fishing from Muasdale
All welcome to come play at the beach
Jura, Gigha and Cara at dusk
Sunset over Islay
Sunset from the garden
Sunset as seen from the Old Post Office
Settle in for the night (or day) with a lovely wood/coal burning stove
Open plan living room with wood/coal burning stove, Sky TV, Wi Fi and Wii for kids (or adults!)
Open kitchen
Open kitchen with converted cart entrance window
Dining table, seating for 8 adults with 2 smaller children's chairs
Spacious ground floor double bedroom, ideal for restricted accessability guests
Plenty of space for manouvering around with lovely views out to the islands
Spacious Double bedroom on first floor
First floor double room with views out to the islands
Very spacious kids/single room with pull out beds if required
Alternate view of kids/single room with easy acces to the first floor shower room
First floor wet room
First floor wet room
Creel, this particular one is available for guests to use and with luck to catch a lobster
Tv, Xbox and reading spot for kids
View from A' Chleit along to the Old Post Office
The isle of Cara
Our own unique window ledge
Shells on our beach inspired window
This is a Conch shell which unfortunately is not a local!
View out to BBQ seating area
A smaller Conch shell
View of our rocky kitchen window
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Campbeltown, Kintyre Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Ewan M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“relaxing weekend in Kintyre”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The "Old Post Office" in Muasdale was a perfect place to stay whilst spending time in Kintyre, from the moment myself, family and dog arrived there we just loved the house, garden/beach and the views. Deffinately going to rebook in 2016 and would recommend this lovely cottage to anyone looking for self catering accomodation within Kintyre.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beach and view and the shear relaxing feel of the area
Liked least: not having enough time
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2017
We are so happy you and your family, and dog all had a lovely time. Hope to see you visit again in the future.
Thanks
Heather & Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydfordd
Buxton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning location”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed the last week of July. An ideal, quiet location with spectacular views and sunsets. We enjoyed the seal spotting opportunities too. So pleased to find a cottage so close to the beach. Some of our party even attempted some early morning swims!! Lots of little extras at this cottage with the use of the boat, lobster pot, trampoline, fishing equipment and fire pit by the beach. We even attempted to make our own crab cakes. The two main double bedrooms were lovely and the ground floor one was ideal for the grandparents. The upstairs shower and the cooker were a little disappointing but the Wii and XBox were a great bonus when the weather wasn't so good. The local shop was friendly and well-equipped and within easy walking distance, although the road tends to be rather fast and could be dangerous on foot. The local nursery and tea shop a short drive away was also a hidden gem too. With a large party of 10 we did struggle to all sit in the lounge and drying clothes was a challenge in the wet weather. We had a relaxing week which flew by and we were sad to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2017
We're so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. The lounge area has since had new seating and hopefully makes it more comfortable for larger groups. We are sorry that the upstairs shower and cooker were not up to speed for you, we have looked into both but cannot find any fault. Thanks for your review and hope to welcome at the cotrage in the future.
Heather & Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hola1888
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Happy Holiday!”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a wonderful break at the Old Post Office. Our party consisted of our family of 5, 2 grandparents & 1 dog - plenty of space for all.
The cottage had everything we could wish for and having direct access onto the beach was simply wonderful.
We were lucky with the weather & experienced breathtaking sunsets.
We hope to return!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2015
We're so glad you all enjoyed your holiday at the cottage, happy to hear the weather cleared up for you as well! The sunsets are spectacular. Would love to have you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Janic...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Really enjoyed our stay, everything provided, roadside bedroom a bit noisy as near the road but those in the other rooms slept well! Will make sure I get one of them if a next time! Upstairs shower a bit quirky for us oldies, but the views from the windows and lovey garden more than made up for that. Who needs showered, just go for a swim!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2015
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your lovely review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miela1
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed 28 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

You have all you need for your stay the cottage is fantastic located on beach great for kids a great place to relax will return .

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you stay again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing