We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful location and spectacular views!”
other travellers have booked this property
House and hot tub view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House and hot tub view
Hot tub sunk into private decking, stunning views, what more can be said? Ballochgair Farmhouse
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
House and hot tub view
Hot tub sunk into private decking, stunning views, what more can be said?
Ballochgair Farmhouse
Large sumptuosly appointed livingroom, perfect for a large family to relax in.
Modern kitchen, door opens onto large private deck and hot tub
Recently refurbished upstairs double room, feature fireplace, stunning views over kilbrannan sound!
Second livingroom, working feature fireplace, large Lcd TV, Nintendo wii for the kids, amazing views
Luxury upstairs bathroom with whirlpool bath and 5 headed shower
Upstairs bedroom, recently refurbished, spacious bedroom.
Downstairs bathroom, traditional style, roll top bath
Feature fireplace in one of the bedrooms
upstairs bedroom, recently refurbished, twin room, LCD TV with free view, amazing views (ofcourse!)
View from upstairs bedroom window, what a lovely way to wake up!
View from upstairs bathroom, looking straight onto Arran and the Kilbrannan Sound
View from second upstairs bedroom, beautiful.
View from the smaller downstairs livingroom
View from the larger downstairs livingroom.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Campbeltown, Kintyre Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JDB_Vence
Vence, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful location and spectacular views!”
Reviewed 9 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

If you want a place to stay with amazing sea views on this wonderful Scottish peninsula and direct access to a truly magical beach, this is the one to choose.
The owners were very helpful and attentive from start to finish. The house itself is substantial and comfortable with all the amenities a family needs and plenty of sofas for everyone to collapse on after exploring the amazing coastline. City-dwellers will appreciate the old-world charm of the local villages and Campbeltown itself, just a few minutes drive away. Historic distilleries like Springbank offer tours and tastings and everyone is as friendly and welcoming as you would expect. This is a true escape from the pressures of modern life at work or at school - and the dog loved it too!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2017
Thank you very much for the positive review, glad you enjoyed the farmhouse and the area, we really hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future,
Ps. Glad you had some lovely weather, although probably not as nice as France at this time of year
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A stunning place”
Reviewed 23 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

What a splendid time we had at The Ballogchair Farmhouse!

The farm is just a superb property, fully equipped with all one could possibly need (contemporary kitchen, lovely shower and baths, comfy bedding, relaxing hot tub, etc.)

Our host made us very welcome, answered our many questions and gave us excellent tips on where to go and what to do.

The Kintyre peninsula with its scenic coastline, its ancient history and its close proximity to Islay is definitely worth the trip. We also warmly recommend the Ballochgair Farmhouse!

Corinne and Justin
Dominique, Stéphanie, Pierre-Marie, Pauline and Faustine

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Exceptional location and luxurious accommodation
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2017
Thanks for taking the time to write and review, we were delighted you chose to stay with us and would love to welcome you back in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus H
San Carlos, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Truly beatiful house and location”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent three days here in early August, and left wishing we had booked longer. The house is a large farmhouse, and is beautifully furnished and decorated, not just typical "cast-off" stuff like so many rental places. The view across to Arran and Ailsa Craig are really stunning, and looking out at them while enjoying breakfast on the deck or relaxing in the hot tub was really wonderful. Kintyre is not the highest profile corner of Scotland but there's plenty to explore including castles, beaches, seaside towns. Leaping from the dunes at Machrihanish was our kids' highlight of the trip and the haggis nachos at the Old Clubhouse were a good surprise. Felicity and Sean were very welcoming and we wish them much success in continuing to rent their home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, the hot tub and view
Liked least: would have been nice if the wifi signal was stronger, it was kind of useless
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
Thanks for the kind words Angus, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay, if you are ever back in Argyll we would love to see you again
Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david8242
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A luxury farmhouse overlooking Arran”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have had a thoroughly relaxing week in Kintyre, with exceptionally good weather adding further to our enjoyment.

My wife, daughter, schnauzer and I were made welcome on arrival by the owners then given a guided tour. The farm house has absolutely everything to make for a comfortable stay. We were even left some cheese and a bottle of wine as a welcoming present!

Every room is furnished and decorated to a high quality, and the contained gardens make this a very private location. We enjoyed the hot tub immensely - there are beautiful views to the isle of Arran.

We enjoy walking, and there is a forest trail just 300m or so from the farm yard entrance. We also managed a few sections of the Kintyre Way.

The area has much to offer, from the sunsets at Machrihanish to the coastal pathways around Campbeltown Loch...with lovely bars & restaurants and interesting shopping in between!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The 'feel' of the farm house and gardens - a quality stay (with really comfortable beds)
Liked least: The fact that we were only booked for one week!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2016
Thanks for taking the time to write this great review, we are glad you had a wonderful time and look foward to welcoming your family back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveller...
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful - Home Away From Home .”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed at this holiday home with my husband, daughter , twin granddaughters and our black lab. What a perfect stay we had. The owners have truly thought of everything. The house is such a lovely old house brought up to a very modern standard. You really do have beautiful views over to Arran. It is so peaceful. There is a lovely enclosed garden which our girls and dog loved. The bed are very comfortable with lovely bed linen. There is an abundance of fresh towels with separate towels for the hot tub ( see they really have thought of everything ) The kitchen has every dish , pot and utensil you can think of - again great thought by the owners. The house is in a great location for touring Kintyre. Beautiful beaches at Carradale, Saddell , Machrihanish and Southend. All a short drive away . The owners are so welcoming and very approachable . If you are travelling to this area we highly recommend beautiful Ballochgair Farmhouse .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2016
Thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review! Am really glad you enjoyed your stay. We really hope to welcome you back again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing