We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great place to be”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Timetrave...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A great place to be”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Summer cottage is in a stunning situation, so peaceful and relaxing. It's comfortable and cosy with everything you need. A real Shangri La !
Booked for three nights then added an extra one. Would have loved to stay longer and will definitely return.
As all have said Donnie is the perfect host. So welcoming and helpful. He goes out of his way to make your stay special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The scenery,the view from the lovely bay windows, the peace and quiet.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Blissfully peaceful”
Reviewed 3 August 2016 for a stay in September 2015

Stayed in the cottage was a very relaxing stay for 2 nights. Would have loved to stay longer. Donny is a fabulous host very relaxed and easy to deal with. Views amazing and right on the beach which felt like a private location. Liked the quirkiness of the attic bedroom and the views out the loung where amazing. Would highly recommend a stay here Great place for walking and just chilling out. Short drive to Campbeltown for supply when needed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyselle-l
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great find. Highly recommended. Beautiful sea views.”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed 2 wonderful nights in the Summer Cottage and wished we could have stayed longer. This is a beautiful, tranquil place ideally situated with fantastic sea views and sunsets. This was our first visit to Kintyre and for any future trips we will definitely head back to the Dunaverty Rock Boathouse. Our host, Donnie, is great and he made us feel welcome. He greeted us warmly after our 16.5 mile hike from Campbeltown, even helping me off with my walking boots! We can highly recommend the Dunaverty Rock Boathouse and its stunning views. It is ideally situated as it's on The Kintyre Way. It is a short walk to the village of Southend where there is small shop, nice tea-room and a welcoming pub that serves meals. Thanks Donnie for a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views. The peace and quiet and our host, Donnie
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2016
Lyselle - thank you for the positive feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to Dunaverty Rock soon - best wishes - Donnie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie Y
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday cottage”
Reviewed 2 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed in summer cottage for Hogmanay, it was fantastic. Donnie the owner is great, really friendly & can't do enough to help you and ensure you have an enjoyable stay. Donnie has been doing some work on the cottage, when we went it had a brand new bathroom suite, new stove & newly decorated living room. Really cosy and lovely. We will definitely be returning, did not want to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location right beside the sea, cottage is small but great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howyou
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A different world”
Reviewed 7 December 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a weekend break, it was too short, we have stayed at this location twice, once in the other property. We will be back next summer for sure. The wildlife, otters seals and masses of sea birds are just enchanting, we spent hours walking along the beach or just watching the water. A beach with golden sand is only a skip from the front door.

Donnie is a most welcoming host, and we found that nothing was too much trouble, always a smile on his face, with lots of local knowledge and ideas of things to do.

I really cant recommend this place highly enough, if you want a break like none other, this is the place for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and tranquility
Liked least: Time to go back to the city
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing