We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing self catering accomodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mall House

Mall House from the walled garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mall House from the walled garden
Sitting room Sitting room and kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Mall House from the walled garden
Sitting room
Sitting room and kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
King sized sleigh bedroom
Ensuite
Twin Bedroom
Adult sized bunk bed room
Lower bunk bed
Walled garden
Summer House
View from Summer House
Snow at Mall House
Evening Sun on Mall House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Montrose, Angus, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
maryb1832...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Amazing self catering accomodation”
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I have been coming to stay at Mall House for several years now and love returning to this cosy, comfortable, quiet apartment.
Sally makes one feel so welcome and she has a great eye for detail to the finer things to make one's stay enjoyable.
The walled garden is really beautiful and full of delightful colour and is the most perfect place to dine and relax.
The weather in my 2 weeks there was great and all meals were enjoyed in the garden.
The apartment is very central to Montrose with excellent shops very close by for groceries.
Particularly Nature's Garden which has a good variety of foods.
Mall House is not to be missed if you are planning a stay in Montrose.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2017
Thank you very much for your kind review. It was a pleasure to see you again this year and so pleased you enjoyed your stay in the apartment and found it comfortable. Our new outside dining area seems to have been very successful this year . I am glad you both enjoyed it and of course the weather was warm for your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian P
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Apartment was cold and dark”
Reviewed 5 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The owner was very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect as are the grounds. Apartment is in the basement and we found it very cold and dark although the furnishings are quite good, The apartment is set up for families with children with one double bed 2 singles and a set of bunk beds, we would have much preferred 2 double beds.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2017
We welcome many visitors from all over the world and we were aware that you had come from a warm climate. As such we did ask you several times if you and your friend were comfortable in the apartment as it was unusually cold wet weather when you were here. Most of us locals had heating and lights on as the heavy rain fell.
Our new heating system in the apartment was fitted last year and has proved most successful with our guests. We noticed that the thermostat was only set at 18 degrees during your visit which would not have been adequate for the 10 degrees outside. If you had turned it up or mentioned your problem it could have been quickly sorted. We did notice from outside the curtains were closed most of the time which would have made the apartment dark.
We are very disappointed that your stay was not satisfactory but the opportunities were there to change things for you if you had just mentioned it when we asked if things were comfortable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connector...
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 6 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

First class holiday home. We stayed there over the Christmas and New Year period and could not fault it. The owner was friendly and went the extra mile to make sure we had a comfortable stay and had everything we needed. I would not hesitate in staying here again and would definitely recommend the Mall House to anyone looking to stay in the Montrose area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midick
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous apartment in a period home”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

If you need self catering accommodation in Montrose you must stay here. A wonderful apartment with bags of room and all mod cons with access to the most beautiful walled garden. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would book it again if in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious and comfortable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2016
Thank you for your review. it was a pleasure to have your family to stay. We look forward to seeing you all again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H
New Orleans, United States
1 review
“Pleasant stay, beautiful property”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We used the Mall House as our base for a 1 week trip to Scotland. Rented a car and drove all over the country, then returned "home" each night with the exception of 1 when we stayed "off campus" as part of a tour. Sally was delightful and very helpful both in planning and after our arrival. The house had everything we needed with very few exceptions. Having a washer and dryer that actually worked was a bonus for us because we didn't have to come home from vacation and spend 2 days doing laundry!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing