We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excelent”
other travellers have booked this property
Beautiful listed building in a quiet lane in the centre of town and close to all Angus has to offer.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful listed building in a quiet lane in the centre of town and close to all Angus has to offer.
Large lounge seats 10. Ornamental ceiling, free WiFi, games, books and hand carved oak fireplace.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
54 reviews
Beautiful listed building in a quiet lane in the centre of town and close to all Angus has to offer.
Large lounge seats 10. Ornamental ceiling, free WiFi, games, books and hand carved oak fireplace.
Part of the Heritage Trail this 19th century Home is full of quirkyness and charm.
Newly fitted kitchen, fully equipped, includes d/washer, w/machine and fridge freezer.
New units and worktops, include various dried goods, and larder staples.
We cater for guests visiting for special family occasions.
Special Occasion? We will bake you a cake.
Large entrance hall with maps, local information and carry out menus.
The ground floor family room has double bed, cot and adjacent single room with single pine bed.
This suite sleeps 2 adults, and baby cot, and small room off with adult size single pine bed,
Newly fitted WC and wash hand basin adjacent to the Green Room.
White porcelain 2 piece suite, with mains mixer tap.
Balcony landing with stained glass window.
Large first floor bedroom with antique wardrobe, king size bed and views to Balmashanner Hill.
Another upper floor bedroom sleeps 3, with bunks.
Bathroom with over bath shower. Complimentary toiletries. Shower stool and bath seat provided.
Large basement games room, sleeps up to 3, with pool table, table tennis table and table football.
This has 3 windows opening to the rear, and incorporates its own bathroom.
Roomy bathroom with 4 piece suite and a sit down shower.
View from our upstairs lounge.
Drive easily parks two vehicles. At a push 3.
Paved, gated, and fully enclosed garden.
BBQ Patio and gazebo.
Bike storage.
Blossom in Spring.
Apple tree.
Lovely park not 5 minutes away.
Forfar Loch - a nature reserve and playground. Sailing, canoeing and a leisure centre.
A friendly town where you can explore this lovely area. We look forward to welcoming you xxxx
Our Local pub, antique shop, fish and chip shop and sweetie shop leading through to the town centre.
All ready and dressed for our Festive Guests. We can do other celebrations too.
The Balmashanner monument stands over Forfar, and can be seen, over rooftops from the Blue Room.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Forfar, Angus, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
cristirom...
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Excelent”
Reviewed 19 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

O casa minunata cu o gazda pe masura. Recomand pentru o experienta de neuitat in Scotia.

Stayed for two weeks in this comfortable and friendly home while working in the area. Anne is excellent hosts. The room was beautifully comfortable, warm and welcoming, as was the lounge. The house is fully with everything you want to be like your home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
It was lovely to have you stay with us, and appreciated how well you all took care of the House. We hope to see you all back in this area again, when you are next back in Scotland. Kind regards Anne.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb!”
Reviewed 8 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Our second time staying in this lovely house. Clean, spacious, quiet, just a 5 minute walk into the centre of beautiful little Forfar and a warm and friendly landlady to boot!
Theres loads to see and do. If its a gateway to the Scottish Highlands your after then look no further!
I strongly reccommend this guest house, you wont be dissappointed.
Thanks again Anne, see you next time x

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2016
Dear Mark, Thank you for once again coming for Bonfest. Thank you to our Forfar businesses, who looked out for you, and helped get you all to Kirrie and back again. You will always be welcome to stay with us. Regards Anne.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeniseLor...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely, welcoming and pleasant stay!”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We are just back from a short break away to Forfar for a friend's wedding. We stayed at Glenisla House for two nights. From the beginning Anne (the owner) was very good to deal well - very attentive and keen to make any personal choices to your stay! She met us at the house at the time we requested and gave us a very informative tour around the property and a mutitide of suggestions as to how spend our free time - we found this very useful! There is everything that you need in the house for a short or long stay and was very clean and well stocked. The house is amazing - quirky and a never ending treasure trail! We all enjoyed our stay here! The location is brillaint - only a small walk to local facilities and private parking and a lovely private garden to use!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout of the house and the prompt and efficient service from the owner
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2016
Dear Denise, Thank you so much for your kind comments. You were lovely guests and we look forward seeing you again, with a little more time to explore Angus and all there is to see and do. Our wee team does try to make your break a good experience and will appreciate your comments. Kind regards Anne.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark L
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Glenisla House - Charming and Delightful”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The address prepares you for a friendly, pleasurable experience: 6 Sparrow Court. Quiet, comforatable, run by a host who makes you feel at home, Glenisla House provides an excellent starting point for exploring the history and beauty of Angus County.

Our stay was so rewarding that we are already planning a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The value
Liked least: That our stay was not longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2016
It was a pleasure to have you stay. There is so much still to see and do, we really look forward to your return visit. You will be more than welcome. Kind regards Anne.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa12...
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great home from which to explore Scotland from Edinboro to Aberdeen...”
Reviewed 23 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Forfar and the surrounding area is beautiful and welcoming. The history of Scotland starts right there and Anne can help you find everything from the ancient to modern working Scotland, to the fun of the local pubs... drive into the mountains or to the shore, the location can not be better.

Glenisla House itself is lovely and comfortable, with a well stocked kitchen, game room and courtyard to just relax and enjoy the day... truly we found it a perfect base for a vacation

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2016
Thank you Theresa. It was wonderful to have you stay with us and be able to share this lovely part of the world. Your photos that you sent us were much appreciated, and we look forward to your return visit. Kind regards Anne.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing