We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great place to stay with dogs”
other travellers have booked this property
Cosy sitting room with woodburning stove effect fire.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy sitting room with woodburning stove effect fire.
The kitchen has all mod cons and a small eating area King sized bedroom view 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
Cosy sitting room with woodburning stove effect fire.
The kitchen has all mod cons and a small eating area
King sized bedroom view 1
King sized bedroom
The quiet twin bedroom - can be made into a double.
The main dining area and sofa bed
West Lodge drive with farm track leading to the many woodland walks on Kinblethmont estate.
Large private garden
External view of West Lodge
The Walled Garden is about 3/4 mile away along farm tracks.
Follow the paths round the estate for beautiful walks
Beautiful sands of Lunan Bay
Play a round of golf or two at Carnoustie
Why not visit Glamis Castle
Arbroath Harbour Marina
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Arbroath, Angus, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rmgilbody
Higham Ferrers, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great place to stay with dogs”
Reviewed 18 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

stayed for a week good location good path for walking dog on door step. had to watch my dogs in garden as 1 found wall easy to jump. need transport to stay here as away from town would stay here again good holiday home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2017
I am glad these guests liked their stay. We do have good dog walking in Kinblethmont estate right from the back door. The wall for the enclosed section of garden is 80cm high which might be worth bearing in mind if your dog is a jumper ! The West Lodge is about 3 miles out of Arbroath so your own transport is needed if you are planning on getting out and about. There is at present a bus stop next to the cottage for a bus that goes into Arbroath about 3 -4 times a day during the day time. Please do not hesitate to get in touch if you have any questions you need answered before you book.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine_Ch
Banbury
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage and dog friendly too!”
Reviewed 17 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We have visited this estate and stayed in this cottage many times now but this year it has had a refit and is absolutely brilliant. Newly decorated, new sofa, new boiler and heater, newly fitted cupboards hiding all the appliances such as hoover etc nice big flat screen TV. One of the best things for us is that we are able to take our dog and it has a lovely sized secure garden for dogs and children to play in. We find that there is everything you could possibly need at this cottage with washing machine with drier as well as full oven and hob. I'd happily live there! Unlike a precious post, when we arrived the whole place was immaculate with all bulbs working and the fire on for us. Lovely to have tea, coffee, sugar, milk, jam and biscuits provided. The estate is marvellous for walking and we regularly saw deer and other wildlife. Lunan Bay is close by and is one of the most stunning sandy beaches in the U.K. Arbroath is famous for its fish and there are a great many good restaurants to try. All in all a great cottage in a perfect setting.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2017
These guests were some of our regulars - we have many that come back year after year. We try to get some improvements every year when we can fit them in and I am so glad that they are appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettlewel...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Condition of property is very disappointing”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This review is a mix of pros and cons.
My initial reaction on arrival at the Lodge was one of disappointment. The condition of the property is poor with damaged plasterwork, door frames desperate for a coat of paint, light bulbs out and old shaded flooring in the back entrance and bathroom. We shared the bathroom with the vacuum cleaner, floor brush and mop pail!!
The exterior of the property - the grounds, pathways all require weeding and the all around the grass areas have overgrown weeds. The external doors and windows were very dirty my Mum even threatened to go out and wash them!!
We were pleased with the quality of the towels and complimentary items, very comfortable beds and the inclusion of tea, coffee, milk, jam, shortbread and oatcakes was a delightful surprise.
I paid almost three hundred pounds to use the property for three nights and for that price I was expecting a better overall quality and a standard of maintenance which unfortunately I did not received.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The beds
Liked least: The overall condition of the property
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2016
I am so sorry that these guests did not enjoy their stay - unfortunately they did not mention anything at the time so we were not able to address the matter during their stay. The cottage has been very busy during the spring and as we do not like to bother guests we had not been able to get in to the garden to have a good go at it. We have been able to get something done in the last week - the garden is very large which can be great for guests but not so easy for us to manage. The other issues are of course a concern to us and we will get them rectified as soon as we can.
As you can see from other reviews many guests love the West Lodge and come back year after year but it is not for everyone - it is a traditional homely cottage with character and very different from an immaculate chalet. If you have any concerns please get in touch before booking -we would rather not have a booking than have disappointed guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing