We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“perfect accommodation for exploring Angus coastal...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Stables

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Arbroath, Angus, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

lindaruit
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“perfect accommodation for exploring Angus coastal area”
Reviewed 13 September 2020 for a stay in September 2020

stayed here on the recommendation of a friend and we were not disappointed. the stables is in a beautiful location with good outdoor space and high spec facilities inside. Has everything you will need and very clean, spacious and comfortable.Arbroath, Lundan Bay and whole Angus costal route a short drive away and the walled garden in the grounds of the estate are lovely for an evening walk or as a play area for children. highly recommended.

Date of stay: September 2020
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretSco...
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Value Family Accommodation”
Reviewed 26 May 2020 for a stay in October 2019

We stayed in the Stables cottage in mid October in 2019 and were greatly impressed not only by the standard of the cottage, but by the facilities in the estate grounds.

The Stables cottage sleeps 4 in 2 ensuite bedrooms. Downstairs, we had an open plan living room / dining area / kitchen. The kitchen is modern and very well equipped. But the best thing is teh setting in the middle of a large country estate which you are free to wander around.

Our son loved exploring the walled garden which was an unexpected bonus with its table tennis, picnic tables, built in barbeques and fruit orchard with enormous cooking apples were falling off the trees. We quite literally felt like Lord and Lady of the manor as there was no sign of anyone else about even though one other family was staying at the same time as us. The grounds are so large that you have your privacy,

The cottage had piping hot water and good central heating. It took us a few nights to find the right settings so that the cottage didn't get too warm at night, but we like a cool house so most folk would probably be delighted with the temperature,

Nature lovers will enjoy watching roe deer emerging from the woods and we caught glimpses of a few birds of prey.

We would highly recommend Kinblethmont if you are planning a staycation in Angus or if you have plans for a large family gathering as some of the cottages can be linked to give you space for a large group.

Best of all, the price was exceptionally reasonable.

Date of stay: October 2019
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsola23
Bragg Creek, Canada
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 1 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

I was visiting family in the arbroath area and the Stables
Cottage was perfect. The country location was perfect for me as it’s only a short drive into Arbroath. The cottage itself is very comfortable and immaculately clean. I found everything I needed and that’s quite unusual as I like to cook. The grounds of Kinblethmont house are magical and there are many paths and trails to ride a bike or walk. The Owners are really nice people and available should you need anything. I will definitely book this place again.

Date of stay: April 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
4 May 2018
I am so glad that this guest enjoyed her stay. We like to make sure that the kitchen is well equipped - if there is something you need that is not there - just ask. This guest hired one of our hybrid bikes which is a great way to enjoy the estate and surrounding area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I
1 review
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Everything about the Stables was amazing, the location and the set up where perfect. Both our children loved the walled garden , the games that where hidden and all the wild life we got to see. The house was comfy and clean and a real joy to come home after a day adventuring. Wish would would have booked 10 days !

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
15 Sep 2017
I am so glad that these guests enjoyed their stay - we love it when our younger guests take an interest in nature.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kendra w
Norton
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect....perfect.....perfect!!”
Reviewed 23 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The Stables is an amazing place to stay, it was far more than my family were expecting. We travelled with two boys aged 10 and 6 and they both loved every second of our stay. It is truly like home from home and finished to a very high standard, even has toys for the kids which was a great touch!. Check in and out is the best we have ever come across and the Ramsay family are really friendly and helpful. We had lovely welcoming touches, milk in the fridge, shortbread biscuits, chocolate bunnies, jam and oatcakes...thank you.

The different marked paths to the walled garden are fun to use and the garden is huge, we played football, table tennis and used the park but they had much more to do if you wanted eg badminton, rugby, croquet, bbq's

Its a great base to explore surrounding towns etc, we loved Lunan Bay, a stunning place to visit and the boys had great fun on the beach and playing on the sand dunes. Arbroath town has what you need and supermarkets in easy reach. The play parks are far better than most places the boys loved them and had great fun. We visited all the local towns and ventured further afield to Aberdeen for a bit of shopping.

All in all can't praise The Stables enough and has got to be the best place we have stayed in to date and would return tomorrow if we could.

Date of stay: April 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
24 Apr 2017
I am so glad that these guests enjoyed their stay. This part of Scotland is an undiscovered gem with a wealth of things to do a short drive away. I am so glad that the walled garden is appreciated - we love it and it is always a bit warmer and calmer than everywhere else!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.