We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic, fantasy place to stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
Skerry Cottage at the base of the lighthouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Skerry Cottage at the base of the lighthouse
beautiful sunset decking area from the kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Skerry Cottage at the base of the lighthouse
beautiful sunset
decking area from the kitchen
kitchen
kitchen
kitchen
kitchen
decking area and lighthouse
living room with open fire
main bedroom
main bedroom
bathroom
romantic setting for a wedding
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Peterhead, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Dan P
Spring, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A fantastic, fantasy place to stay!”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We spent one night at this comfortable, spacious, charming, did I say spacious, convenient, lovely lighthouse. Absolutely beautiful location. We WILL do this again. Wish we had planned to stay longer. Great kitchen too. Very well maintained property. You have to do this! So much better than a hotel or B&B.

Date of stay: September 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevski66
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Staying in the Lighthouse Keepers cottage is a unique experience”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Skerry Cottage is one of two cottages, located right beneath the historic Buchan Ness Lighthouse. This place is just fantastic, waking up to hear the sea, breakfast on the decking, just you and the sea gulls, amazing.
The cottage has been expertly renovated but the charm is still there. Spent 3 nights here absolutely brilliant. Thank you.
Kevin and Cathy.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyn R
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A magical cottage in a wonderful location”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My eldest daughter, son, grandson and I stayed at Buchan Ness, it was a magical place, we all really enjoyed our stay. Sheila was warm and welcoming, the cottage was really lovely. I would highly recommend this cottage .

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was great.
Liked least: Not been able to stay longer
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigJa7
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“..just fab. Can't wait to visit again.”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Great place to get away and get some peace and quite. Well equipped and furnished to a very high standard. Lovely welcome and not rushed to leave. Lighthouse is on its own private island accessible via a bridge. Wish we had booked for longer, and will definitely return.

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcanton...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best in Peterhead”
Reviewed 24 May 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have been lucky enough to have been staying here since February until present time this has got to be the best in Peterhead very clean and comfortable a real home from home as we are working up her , Sheila is a wonderfull lady and very helpful and always calls each week to see if we are ok hope we are here a lot longer makes working away from home much easier when you have these cottages to come back to many thanks Sheila

Date of stay: February 2013
Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.