We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting walks”
Review of Scot Free Tours

Scot Free Tours
Ranked #2 of 20 Tours in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Learn about Aberdeen's history and colourful characters, from pirates to Lord Byron, in this free one and a half hour walking tour. All tours start from the Mercat Cross in the Castlegate. To join a tour just turn up for the start time. The tours are free to join but you are asked to pay what you think it is worth at the end of the tour.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I went on 3 walks during a visit to Aberdeen. Interesting and really enhanced the visit. Of particular interest was the Old Aberdeen tour. I would have overlooked this area had it not been for the walk. It was very beautiful, and I am so glad I went. All the tours were fascinating and we'll researched.

Thank margot330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia S, Owner at Scot Free Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your review, Margot. I agree - the Old Aberdeen area is stunning. It's really nice to know that we helped you discover it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"walking tour"
in 7 reviews
"fun facts"
in 4 reviews
"excellent tour"
in 3 reviews
"historical events"
in 2 reviews
"knew her stuff"
in 2 reviews
"knowledgeable guide"
in 2 reviews
"mercat cross"
in 2 reviews
"aberdeen city centre"
in 2 reviews
"local history"
in 2 reviews
"lia"
in 14 reviews
"stories"
in 7 reviews
"intro"
in 2 reviews
"snippets"
in 2 reviews
"visitors"
in 6 reviews
"crime"
in 2 reviews
"donation"
in 3 reviews
"native"
in 2 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good fun tour taking you around the centre of Aberdeen with interesting stories. Well presented.

P.S: Turns out eyeballs do not melt.

Thank r0se666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia S, Owner at Scot Free Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Haha, thanks for letting me know! Glad you enjoyed the tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just back from a short break in Aberdeen . Booked two walks with Lia prior to our visit the Aberdeen city centre and Aberdeen old town walk which my wife and myself enjoyed very much ,Lia is very knowledgeable and puts over the history of Aberdeen with a bit of humour with stories of many interesting characters and famous people associated with the city and famous universities around the city .
On our next visit to Aberdeen we plan to further visit old Aberdeen and Seaton park this is a very interesting conservation area of the city .
Keep up the good work Lia hopefully we will be able to make another visit soon.

Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia S, Owner at Scot Free Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks so much for the review! I hope you make it back to explore more of Old Aberdeen soon. There's so much more than we can cram in to the tour but I am glad it gave you a taster.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

Very enjoyable tour, Lia is knowledgeable and shares many stories from Aberdeen history, Business and everyday life. Highly recommend!

Thank Agate Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia S, Owner at Scot Free Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Thanks so much for your review, Agate. Your recommendation is much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

It was a fantastic tour with a very informative guide and well worth doing (for visitors and for those like me who live in Aberdeen)! Really enjoyed it and would recommend/do it again. Thank you! Gemma

Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia S, Owner at Scot Free Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Thanks so much for your review, Gemma! Our aim is to tell stories that are of interest to both visitors and locals so I am really pleased to hear you would recommend it to both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scot Free Tours also viewed

 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Scot Free Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing