We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great facilities and great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gatelodge Cottage

Gatelodge Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gatelodge Cottage
View from Gatelodge Cottage View from Gatelodge Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
Gatelodge Cottage
View from Gatelodge Cottage
View from Gatelodge Cottage
View from Gatelodge Cottage
View towards Gatelodge Cottage
Kitchen / Dining
Kitchen / Dining
Bathroom
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Living Room
Living Room
View around Gatelodge Cottage
View around Gatelodge Cottage
View around Gatelodge Cottage
View around Gatelodge Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Derry, County Londonderry, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Christine...
Whangamata, New Zealand
1 review
“Great facilities and great location”
Reviewed 30 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Gatelodge Cottage. It was perfect for our family of five and we loved the location and the scenery. Easy access to the City of Londonderry yet tucked away in the heart of the countryside. We will definitely try and stay here the next time we are visiting. Would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandawool...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An immaculately clean cosy warm country cottage with a lovely view”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a very pleasant week here just after Christmas, with great facilities (it has a fabulous large lovely kitchen which made dining and having guests for dinner very easy and enjoyable. The house was immaculately clean and it felt like a professional let (as opposed to letting's someone's house) yet furnished to still feel cosy. And the house was very easy to live in with two small children with a charming walled garden so very safe (if the weather had been better!) and a lovely view. I thought it might have been a little cold (so brought lots of bedwear for the kids!) but it was also surprisingly warm. The surrounding countryside is very accessible and walks by the river virtually on your doorstep, yet just a five-ten min drive into town. A really great find, and with very amenable owners too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great cottage
Liked least: Can't really think of anything
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B
Orillia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very nice place, but cold in December”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Robert Moore is a very nice fellow, and is extremely helpful with what you need. I would stay here again. As it is an old building, it had sat unused for a few weeks before we got there. It took a few days to heat the place up using the wood stove and central heating, as it was very cold and windy the week we stayed. By the time we left, it was nice and warm. Five of us in our party, and with other guests, it made the living room a little cramped for space. But it was snuggly. We prepared food for Christmas in the well sized kitchen. Lots of hot water, lots of space for eating. As Robert Moore and I can attest, if you are over 6' 4", the upstairs bedroom ceiling will be an issue. Also at issue; the internet (ISP) was not available, so no connectivity for a week. (Could be a good thing, or a bad thing, but it is nice to have the internet.) The downstairs bedroom remained cool for the entire stay, according to my daughter.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location!
Liked least: WiFi broken. Cold building for first few days.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cinzia_f4...
Pontedera, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing