We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Haven is 'Heaven'.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 1 Sea Haven

Main, double bedroom with views out over the sea and mountains. Take time out and relax in the chair
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main, double bedroom with views out over the sea and mountains. Take time out and relax in the chair
Open plan lounge and dining room leading to hallway with expandable dining table Sit back, relax and watch the sea lapping on to the beach from the warmth and comfort of the lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Main, double bedroom with views out over the sea and mountains. Take time out and relax in the chair
Open plan lounge and dining room leading to hallway with expandable dining table
Sit back, relax and watch the sea lapping on to the beach from the warmth and comfort of the lounge
Treat yourself to breakfast on the patio and enjoy the warmth of the sun rising up over the sea
Sit at the dining table (seats 6) and enjoy a home-cooked meal. That fresh air will make you hungry!
After a day in the great outdoors, lie back, relax and enjoy the TV from the comfort of your bed
Luxury large walk-in combination shower with rain shower fitting, perfect to relax and unwind.
There's plenty of space in the bathroom and toilet to prepare yourself for the day's adventures.
The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you might need on holiday within easy reach
The second bedroom offers a cosy refuge for an adult (or 2 children with the additional pullout bed)
The second bedroom provides plenty of space to store an outfit for every occasion
We have a range of local treats available to purchase and take back home - they make an ideal gift.
The perfect venue for a quiet coffee in the morning or tasty barbeque in the evening
Look out for this sign at the entrance to the car park. The sign of things to come: a great holiday!
Park in front of this sign, or nearby, and follow the arrow to the yellow door.
Once you've found the yellow door, you know you're about to experience some magic moments.
Yes that is the sea on the horizon. Soak up the view on the patio with a relaxing bottle of wine.
Look to your right from the patio and you'll see 'the Mournes roll down to the sea'.
I wish I had this at home! The perfect barbeque kit for a balmy summer's evening on the patio
Plenty of weatherproof storage space for up to 3 bikes or several golf carts + the barbecue!
Glorious weather, glorious view = a magic moment = only 5 minutes walk from 1 Sea Haven
Why wouldn't you want to go waling in the mountains on a day like this - the view from the car park
The view of Newcastle and of 1 Sea Haven nestled on the sea front from Slieve Donard
Who could resist a stroll on the beach when the weather is like this? Time to savour a magic moment!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newcastle, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Kev3167
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Haven is 'Heaven'.”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a beautiful apartment this is. Fantastic location with views of the sea. Luxury comforts throughout the apartment.
Less than a minutes walk and you are in Newcastle Centre. The beach is even closer. Great italian restaurant a stones throw away.
The owners, Anne and Phill, are extremely helpful and friendly.
We had a fantastic week here and will definitely book again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too many to list but location, views and TV bed were my favourites.
Liked least: Didn't book long enough stay.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
221norman
Anstruther, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect getaway location underneath the Mourne Mountains”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at Sea Haven as a base for visiting friends and family. The location was perfect, close to shops and restaurants, but with a relaxed feel opening straight onto the beach and with a great view of the mountains. The Newcastle waterfront is perfect for a morning run and the house has everything you need for a comfortable week away. We'll be back!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan S
Santa Pola, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful well worth a visit.”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I first visited Sea Haven with my sister for a long weekend early last year.we flew in from England landing at George Best Belfast Airport and within 40 minutes we arrived at the apartment in Newcastle where the mountains of Mourne sweep down to the sea. Having escaped the pressure s of work for a long weekend we were delighted to see our "home" for the next few days. It was absolutely fantastic 5* in every detail. From a lovely welcome note written on slate board at front door, to a welcome pack in the kitchen such little touches immediately made us feel very at home.
The decor was outstanding , subtle colours , beautiful ornaments and all fully coordinated..
The apartment is situated right in the heart of Newcastle, close to the beach, shops ,bars and restaurants and there's even a golf course virtually on the doorstep.but above all it was Anne and Phil who put the icing on the cake, nothing was too much trouble for them, they even drove 45 minutes from their home to fix the shower for us ( and it turned out to be human error Mine !!!! ) and nothing wrong with the shower Al all !!!! Their attention to detail goes above and beyond ; from fluffy bathrobes, slippers, toiletries in the bathroom, cleaning products in the kitchen, EVERYTHING that you could think of , had been thought of
I returned again with my husband for a fortnight in August and if we gave the apartment 5* earlier in the year we upgraded it to 6* as new contemporary furniture in the living area just ticked another box.
Sea haven is definitely worth a visit you will not be disappointed. A jewel in the heart of the Mournes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: theres nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M
Banbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sea Haven - it should be renamed Sea Heaven”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and 4 year old daughter stayed her last year for the third time and I cannot speak highly enough of our dealings with Ann and Phil, the standard of accommodation provided, and the package as a whole was first class. We were in the middle of everything yet far enough removed to enjoy the views and our own space.

To walk to Royal County Down for golf, to step out your front door early morning for a stroll on the prom, and to just stand/sit and listen to the waves on the beach was just heaven.

Our daughter had a ball with the park/beach only a short distance away and that clean sea air certainly had her to sleep early every night. We look forward to our next stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hil2405
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Luxury on the beach”
Reviewed 17 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed for a weekend recently and would highly recommend sea haven as apace to stay.
It is very close to all the amenities: shops, restaurants, the beach and promenade, the golf course.
The apartment is luxurious and comfortable. The hosts Anne and Phil are very helpful and friendly.
I loved it so much I have booked to go back in July with relatives who are visiting from New Zealand.
I can't wait to return and show it off to my family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing