We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb.”
other travellers have booked this property
Cottages from the pond
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottages from the pond
Bearnagh Cottage Live-in-kitchen Happy Vale Entrance, Bearnagh Cottage to right of driveway
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Cottages from the pond
Bearnagh Cottage Live-in-kitchen
Happy Vale Entrance, Bearnagh Cottage to right of driveway
Bearnagh Cottage, Bedroom 1, King size bed
Bearnagh Cottage patio area and car port
Bearnagh Cottage, wood burning stove and wide screen TV
Meelmore Cottage bike shed and drying room
Bearnagh Cottage, Bedroom 2, Double bed (also a single bed in this bedroom)
Bearnagh Cottage sun room - living area with 4 large sofas
Friendly sheep at entrance
Mourne Mountains - Slieve Bearnagh Summit Tor
Mourne Mountains - Mourne Wall, Slieve Bearnagh
Map showing Happy Vale Location
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Newcastle, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
hillyhalf
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb.”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of 5 (children 7,9,11 yrs old) spent a glorious week in Bearnagh Cottage. The cottage was perfect in that it was a good size, very comfortable, well equipped and out of reach of the hustle and bustle. Gerry was wonderful in making sure that everything was better than perfect for us. At the same time though, he managed to do this in a very unobtrusive way. We were extremely comfortable from the first moment to the last second of our stay and have already made plans to revisit. The location is simply fantastic with beautiful countryside on the doorstep. Forest parks are minutes away in the car and coastal towns and supermarket only slightly further. The skies at night are beautiful (as an astronomer) and the Mourne Mountains are a gift (as a keen hiker and fell runner). My wife loved the peace and quiet and the kids were more than entertained at the beaches and Castlewellan forest park. Thumbs up from all of us. I have been unable to come up with any negative points

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: That we had to leave
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2016
Your children had great fun playing about the patio granite boulders. Thanks for your kind comments and I look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion P
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Luxury cottage in a stunning setting”
Reviewed 16 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful modern luxury cottage nestled in the breathtaking Mourne mountains. Gerry, the owner was most welcoming on our arrival and had a beautiful fire going in the wood burning stove. There was ample room for the six of us. Modern, well equipped kitchen and comfortable seating in the beautiful sunroom with stunning views. The Mournes on our door step which was ideal for our trip up Meelmore mountain. We'll definitely be back.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2016
Thanks for the feedback, Marion. Great to meet you all at the top of Slieve Meelmore with some snow on the ground. You will be very welcome for a return visit. Gerry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dfurphy
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked here for a weekend away from the 2nd until 4th of October 2015. The cottage was spacious and warm with everything you could possibly need and extremely clean and homely! Gerry, who owns the two cottages could not have been any more helpful and he really made our stay worthwhile, pointing out the best walks and how to make the most of our stay there and what the area (which is stunning) had to offer. Absolutely fantastic! Have booked again for February. Cant wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2016
Always good to see guests enjoying the cottages. Thanks for your kind comments and you will be very welcome again in February
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johneen m
1 review
“Happy times! ”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Had a fantastic stay with family. We rented both cottages as it was a larger group. Both cottages were warm, spacious, spotlessly clean and had all the equipment/utensils that could be needed for a break away. The location is ideal as its a very short journey to newcastle, annalong, etc.

Thanks Gerry. Hope to be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
Thanks for your feedback. You will be very welcome again. Gerry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessS...
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed from Thursday 20th -23rd of August.
The house is beautiful and in an amazing location.
Great amenaties. EVERYTHING you need, all utensils.
TV in every room beautiful large fire burner. Would be great for anytime of year. Lovely outdoor eating area.
Outstanding view and a lovely stream to accompany it.
We had kids with is and it is an ideal area for any family or for any retreat.
Great big sun room.
All rooms were very clean. The bathroom was lovely. One room with ensuite had shower and main bathroom had a lovely bath and shower facility.
Beds are extremely comfortable with under storage.
Parking area is large and there is a car port good size.
Will certainly return :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
Great to see the kids enjoying themselves. Hope to see you back soon. Gerry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;