We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So peaceful...”
Review of Inch Abbey

Inch Abbey
Book In Advance
More Info
US$64,07*
and up
Game of Thrones Filming Locations Tour of...
Ranked #4 of 19 things to do in Downpatrick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Was by chance we stopped here but great choice... TBF it's only ruins but nicely kept and maintained.. Also was Robbs camp Riverun in GOT.. lovely Abbey and very peaceful

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank tickers24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"information boards"
in 7 reviews
"game of thrones tour"
in 10 reviews
"car park"
in 9 reviews
"gothic architecture"
in 3 reviews
"beautiful ruins"
in 3 reviews
"cistercian monastery"
in 2 reviews
"peaceful spot"
in 2 reviews
"family picnic"
in 2 reviews
"banks of the river"
in 2 reviews
"great history"
in 3 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 7 reviews
"steam train"
in 6 reviews
"sunny day"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful location"
in 2 reviews
"burial site"
in 2 reviews
"local history"
in 2 reviews
"inch"
in 14 reviews
Filter

15 - 19 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2018

Lovely little spot whether you arrive by car or take the train from Downpatrick as we did.
Beautiful remains which are extremely well maintained. Take a picnic and enjoy an hour or two to unwind.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Terence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018 via mobile

We visited as it was on our journey, nice 20 minute stop and also one of the game of thrones locations which is why we stopped,
Not much here but still nice place to spend a short time.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Southwestpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

The Abby is established in XII century and ruined 400 years later. It is a miracle that the erected walls are still standing, even though the Abby is abandoned in XVI century. The scenery around is magnificent and not so many people visit this place. We were there accidentally with the Game of Thrones tour.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Shimnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2018

Really enjoyed our trip to Inch Abbey - very interesting plaques with information about the history of the Abbey - beautiful surroundings also.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Inch Abbey also viewed

Downpatrick, County Down
 
Downpatrick, County Down
Downpatrick, County Down
 

Been to Inch Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing