We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr.”
other travellers have booked this property
Tranquil and relaxing.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tranquil and relaxing.
Breakfast on the Patio.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Tranquil and relaxing.
Breakfast on the Patio.
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Dining Room
Bedroom 3
Dining Room.
Bathroom 1
Bathroom 2 Walk in shower.
Bathroom 1
View from Drawing Room
Hallway.
Bedroom 1.
Living Room.
Bedroom 2
Kitchen.
Rear of House.
Front Door.
Front Garden.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Castlewellan, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jimarmstr...
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr.”
Reviewed 4 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

If you ever wanted to stay in an authentic Irish farm house but with all the modern conviences, then look no further, this is for you. Our grandchildren just loved it and had the freedom to play in the garden and go exploring the house. The adults enjoyed a well equipped kitchen and the bedding, along with the rest of the house, was clean and comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruthlondo...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“"Jane Austin" house, but with central heating and dishwasher!”
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A beautiful house, tastefully restored and generously equipped. There is plenty of space to spread out (three teenage children!). Everything was so comfortable - there was no hurry to leave the house in the morning! The location was great for walking in the Mournes and lazing on the beach (even saw seals at Dundrum). Very helpful and friendly owner. We hope to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and comfort
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisalowry...
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to spend time with family and friends.”
Reviewed 4 March 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed at the farmhouse over the Christmas 2015 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Hazel the owner, was an excellent host - very friendly and accommodating. The house is very spacious with a beautiful garden. It also has lots of lovely period features and is very well equipped.
We would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend the farmhouse to our friends and family.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLandGJM
Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Charming house”
Reviewed 8 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our New Years break at Cherry Tree Farmhouse. The kitchen is very well equipped and the house is spacious - ideal for us as there were 2 couples, 2 toddlers and a baby between us! We had a lovely walk in Tollymore Forest (about a 20min drive away) and the boys had great fun kicking a ball about in the garden. Owner Hazel provided a warm and friendly welcome and we would recommend this house as a comfortable place to stay if you are looking for a quiet getaway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madamejoj...
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Relaxing, secluded, luxurious charm”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Stayed with friends for a few days to "get away from it all" and had an amazing time.
It's so secluded and quiet, while still being close to so much to do! Castlewellan forest park (where I went pony trekking),Tollymore, Spelga Dam, Slieve Croob, Newcastle are all very close, as were the local shops.
The house is absolutely beautiful, as are the gardens. It's not every holiday rental where you can enjoy grapes you've just picked off the vine! The kitchen was so well equipped and so many little extras were provided just in case!
I'd go back in a heartbeat..... and stay a little longer next time!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Total seclusion but with lots to do nearby!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing