We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Secluded bliss for a peacefully relaxing stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Tranquil and relaxing.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tranquil and relaxing.
Breakfast on the Patio.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Tranquil and relaxing.
Breakfast on the Patio.
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Dining Room
Bedroom 3
Dining Room.
Bathroom 1
Bathroom 2 Walk in shower.
Bathroom 1
View from Drawing Room
Hallway.
Bedroom 1.
Living Room.
Bedroom 2
Kitchen.
Rear of House.
Front Door.
Front Garden.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Castlewellan, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
m00nman19...
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Secluded bliss for a peacefully relaxing stay”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stumbled across this property just a few miles outside Castlewellan and were delighted that we did as we had a cracking couple of nights at Cherry Tree Farmhouse. We were a party of x4 adults and x4 kids (all boys) and each of enjoyed our time here immensely.
There are three decent sized bedrooms and a smaller room for bunk beds for the younger ones and the house is immaculate throughout. It has recently been refurbished to a high standard and was very welcoming.
Hazel the owner gave us a guided tour and shared a bit of the history of the house before leaving us to enjoy. The kids had great fun playing around the garden and made good use of the many board games and on the first night we barbequed until dark. The second day we entertained ourselves in the kitchen, baking and cooking while enjoying a glass of vino and playing more games with the kids.
Two nights was sadly not long enough but with kids heading back to school we bade farewell but will definitely be back soon!
A great sized house in a wonderfully peaceful location off the beaten track I cannot recommend this place enough...go and enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden
Liked least: That we only stayed two nights...far too short!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conor N
1 review
“Fantastic location! ”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We came and stayed at Hazel's beautiful spacious cottage in April 2015.
We were over for a family wedding and her cottage was ideal for our small family.

The cottage is nestled in the Dromara Hills, away from any main roads and surrounded by lush green fields - ideal if you're looking for a quiet getaway.
Its also only a short distance from the seaside resort of Newcastle and the Mourne Mountains so lots to do nearby too!

Cherry Tree Cottage has 4 spacious upstairs bedrooms of which 3 face on to the large private back garden. It also has a modern shower room and separate bathroom. Downstairs there's 3 family rooms including a grand dining room, a living room with piano and an informal dining room adjoining the kitchen.
All the rooms downstairs have period fireplaces and are tastefully decorated.

When we arrived the kitchen was already stocked with some dry goods and there was a good range of plates and cutlery so that had we been with another family we wouldn't have been left short.

We found that the dishwasher was simple to use and we also made use of the washing and tumble dryer without any issues.

Outside our 2 year old had a great time investigating the garden along with the hidden 'fairy castle' the child friendly fish pond. There was even a small summer house with outside seating which was lovely to relax in whilst keeping an eye on the kids!

All in all, a lovely cottage in a great location. Somewhere I'd definitely look forward to staying again in the future!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika W
2 reviews
“Perfect artist's retreat”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This farmhouse is a perfect artist's/musicians retreat. My husband and i stayed with our teenage daughter and all enjoyed it immensely. The house is full of light and space, it is also warm and comfortable. It combines all the modern amenities you might need, with a beautiful location. It has a very peaceful atmosphere with its enclosed gardens , a perfect spot to sit out to view the backdrop of the Mourne Mountains. There are so many places to visit nearby, the highlight for us was a waterfall just a five minute walk from the house. Our host Hazel couldn't have been more helpful!
We only wished we could have stayed longer!.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardJS...
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful recentley refurbshed traditional country farmhouse”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is a traditional large farmhouse, off the beaten track, which has been upgraded recently to provide 3 large beautiful quality double bedrooms and a bedroom with bunk beds. There are three reception rooms and a large kitchen and conservatory area and it's ideal for a large family reunion or group of friends. Set within farmland, it is quiet and private, but the very atractive Castlewellan (and country park- ideal for walks and off road cycling) is close to hand, and Newcastle, the Mourne Mountains and other attractions are nearby.

We had a lovely time. Hazel is fantastic.

Make sure you get directions from 'Oasis', as it can be difficult to find!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It;s so comfortable and peaceful.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$161
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing