We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic house in a great part of the world”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Swallows

Front of house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of house
Back Garden Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Front of house
Back Garden
Kitchen
Oil stove/ Wine cooler /American fridge freezer
Kitchen - dinning room
kitchen - dinning room
Kitchen Island
Kitchen
Utility room
Utility Room
Utility Room
Oil stove
Kitchen
Upstairs sitting room
Master Bedroom En-suite
Family Bedroom En-suite
Downstairs family bedroom
Downstairs bathroom
Sitting room upstairs
Double bedroom
Family bedroom upstairs
Family bedroom
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Hall from bedrooms
Upstairs sitting room
View from sitting room window
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Sun room
Sun room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Ballycastle, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarahred7...
Portaferry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic house in a great part of the world”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Plenty of room for our group of 14 the owner Maureen was helpful and friendly, lots to do in the area would definitely recommend!!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna D
1 review
“Fun in Ballycastle”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

8 adults and 2 little ones stayed at this lovely house very comfortably for 1 week.It was a definite home from home.We arrived to a lovely welcome card from the owner and a fabulous hamper containing all sorts of goodies including freshly baked wheaten bread.The accommodation was perfect for our large group and it provided everything we could have possibly needed for a stress free holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philip b
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A home form home experience”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

On arrival of the swallows we found that we had a card with a lot of information written along with a hamper with some essentials... wine and beer being the main! I have never experienced any thing like this with out paying extra! a very welcome gift. The house was faultless- clean, tidy, it was everything we wanted and more. It had every thing you needed to live like your at home. with 12 of us sharing this house it was not cramped at all far from it. the picture doesn't do it justice its like the Tardis... This is by far the best rental I have ever had and I have had a few! The area is beautiful with a lot of near by attractions and every one we met was very friendly. some bars nearby with some excellent food! if you stay here I bet you will not be disappointed guaranteed!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jillbl321
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab weekend in Ballycastle”
Reviewed 30 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We were a group of 6 adults and 6 children. The booking was straight forward & Maureen was very quick to respond to our request. The house is spacious & very clean. The kitchen is large, well equipped & plenty of seats for us all to have breakfast together. The children enjoyed playing hide & seek as there was lots of places for them to play. The garden was secure to play outside. Our weather was cold, wet & windy but the heating system was simple, easy to use & kept us warm. A lovely hamper with wine, cheese & crackers plus instructions on how things worked in the house were waiting for us. The children loved their Easter egg hunt with the chocolate eggs & baskets Maureen had left for them, it was extremely generous. I would definately recommend staying in 'The Swallows'. Our next trip to Ballycastle I will be contacting Maureen to book.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The space in the house & how well equipped the kitchen was
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackeloc...
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 19 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We were three families spending the weekend together, with 6 children and 6 adults. This place was just absolutely perfect for us! There was plenty of space to eat together, cook, play games, and the adults could even have their own rooms without having to share with their kids!
Maureen had left a welcome basket with lots and lots of lovely goodies, which were appreciated the whole weekend! We followed the recommendation and had our Sunday lunch at O'Connors which was great - good food, great service for a good price.
With that many people eating together we appreciated the dishwasher. :-)
Now we just need to find a reason to return, as it was simply amazing.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The house was bigger than we thought it would be from the pictures, really the photos don't do it justice!
Liked least: The road passing by the house was quite busy Saturday night - nothing that some earplugs couldn't have solved though :-)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing