We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage and a friendly welcome”
other travellers have booked this property
Escape in the tranquility and rural beauty
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Escape in the tranquility and rural beauty
Enjoy relaxing in front of the log burning stove, reading your book or just soak up the tranquility. Welcoming afternoon tea at The Bothy.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
98 reviews
Escape in the tranquility and rural beauty
Enjoy relaxing in front of the log burning stove, reading your book or just soak up the tranquility.
Welcoming afternoon tea at The Bothy.
Tree lined approach
Welcome pack of locally produced bread, preserves and fresh eggs
Picnic table and BBQ
The Bothy oozes cottage charm
Fully equipped kitchen
Curl up and unwind in front of the log burning stove
Relax in front of the Log burning stove with TV, DVD, board games ,free Wi-fi and books.
Twin bedroom with option of super-king
Comfortable beds with scatter cushions and high quality linens
Deluge shower in bathroom over bath.
Private garden and picnic table
Whitepark Bay
Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge
Rathlin Island
Dunluce Castle
Giants Causeway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ballycastle, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 98 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
W12Steve
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage and a friendly welcome”
Reviewed 31 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The Bothy is a great choice for your stay. We had a very warm welcome, good advice on things to do and a really useful guide to local amenities. The cottage itself is lovely and very well cared for. The beds are good, kitchen nice to work in and bathroom of a very good standard.

It has a lovely wood burner and we were provided with a stock of peat and wood. When we arrived the fire had been lit and there were fresh, home made, scones, bread and a good supply of eggs.

I would throughly recommend The Bothy for a holiday or short visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fire
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review. Pleased you enjoyed the warmth of the fire and the freshly baked scones on arrival.
Warmest regards,
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maureenor...
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“RETREAT”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The Bothy was a lovely quiet step back in time in a beautiful scenic location surrounded by stunning walks and wildlife and peace and quiet and privacy. This was just what we were hoping for and that is what we got.Thankyou April and Neil and the lovely Lucy for everything it was a delight to be at the Bothy :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2015
So pleased that you found the peace and quiet you were looking for at The Bothy at Balnaholish,also great to hear you enjoed the stunning walks and beautiful scenery on offer.
Hope to see you again.
Warmest regards,
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melodye H
Rileyville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best cottage in all of Ireland”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I have stayed at many self-catering around Ireland, by far the Bothy has spoiled me. My daughter Shannon and I found the Bothy to be this wonderful experience. Neil and April are there to welcome you, Fresh scones, bread, butter, jam, marmalade, eggs, milk, and cream. Which were the "bomb" as the kids in America say. Lol. Neil and April cater to your every need. The soft towels, the bed clothes, all beautiful. You need only bring your clothes, everything else is in the cottage. And I mean everything. An awesome stay. The whole history of the cottage, and the way it has been restored, simply amazing. All in all a lovely stay. Thank you Neil and April, Melodye and Shannon

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2015
Wow we are thrilled to have such high praise "The Best cottage in the whole of Ireland" but more importantly we are so pleased you both enjoyed your holiday on our beautiful coast.
Hope you will come back again!
Warmest regards,
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen...
1 review
“A must stay and a must return!”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This is the most amazing rental I have ever stayed in. It was much better than the photos and it looks great in those. It is very quiet and peaceful, very comfy and charmingly decorated. Everything you could want is there including a non-slip mat for the tub. The landlords are very nice and helpful and have a Black Lab named Lucy who took care of my need for Lab hugs. There is a garden you can wander in that includes a bar-b-que, table and seating. The location is perfect for the Northern Ireland coastal area and everything is very close. If you want to travel farther, Derry and Belfast are just an hour away. It doesn't get any better than this and deserves far more than 5 stars. The WiFi worked great - this was nice especially in a rural setting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing was bad
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a super review and it is always lovely to have such positive feedback about our little cottage. We are very lucky to have such a stunningcoastline with so many beautiful places to explore.
Warmest regards,
April
It was lovely meeting you and if yo are ever back in UK please come and stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt K
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Warming, cosy, idyllic”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We loved our stay at the Bothy. After a long trip, arriving to freshly made scones and bread, and the best marmalade we'd tasted in years was heartwarming. The cottage is beautiful and peaceful, and April and Neil were so welcoming. Thanks, if we come back to Northern Ireland, we will definitely be looking to stay at the Bothy again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: April's heartwarming touches
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2015
So pleased you enjoyed the homemade marmalade,bread and scones.It makes it all worthwhile to hear that they were enjoyed so much!
It was lovely meeting you all and fantastic news that you had a great holiday. I was sorry not to have seen you to say goodbye and thank you for your kind words in the visitors book . Hope to see you again.
Warmest regards,
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing