We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolute Perfection”
other travellers have booked this property
Escape in the tranquility and rural beauty
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Escape in the tranquility and rural beauty
Enjoy relaxing in front of the log burning stove, reading your book or just soak up the tranquility. Welcoming afternoon tea at The Bothy.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
88 reviews
Escape in the tranquility and rural beauty
Enjoy relaxing in front of the log burning stove, reading your book or just soak up the tranquility.
Welcoming afternoon tea at The Bothy.
Tree lined approach
Welcome pack of locally produced bread, preserves and fresh eggs
Picnic table and BBQ
The Bothy oozes cottage charm
Fully equipped kitchen
Curl up and unwind in front of the log burning stove
Relax in front of the Log burning stove with TV, DVD, board games ,free Wi-fi and books.
Twin bedroom with option of super-king
Comfortable beds with scatter cushions and high quality linens
Deluge shower in bathroom over bath.
Private garden and picnic table
Whitepark Bay
Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge
Rathlin Island
Dunluce Castle
Giants Causeway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ballycastle, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 88 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
FlissyGee...
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Absolute Perfection”
Reviewed 23 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This really is the perfect holiday rental! The cottage is close enough to the main visitor attractions in the area - Giant's Causeway, Bushmills, Ballycastle & Rathlin Island, and the Dark Hedges, but is quiet and tranquil: a beautiful base for exploration of Northern Ireland. The windows overlook a woodland garden with birds singing and eating from the birdfeeder.
We stayed for 4 nights, but I could quite happily have moved in - the beds were possibly the comfiest I have ever slept in (mine at home felt quite inadequate afterwards), the shower hot, and the kitchen full of yummy snacks; we arrived to freshly-made scones which were lighter than air, homemade bread, milk, butter, eggs and a roaring log burner. There were fresh flowers in every room!
The Bothy is stocked with a wealth of new release DVDs, books and board games, so, if like us, you experience Northern Ireland in it's less hospitable mood (we had gale force winds, hail and heavy showers throughout our stay), there really is plenty to keep you entertained in this little home-from-home.
The cottage is decorated in excellent taste - in keeping with the nature if it's original use, whilst maintaining a luxury and modernity that is rare in holiday rentals within this price bracket.
April & Neil could not have been more obliging.
If you are planning a stay in this corner of the world, I would look no further... trust me, you'll want to stay forever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: I wanted to stay longer!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2015
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. The garden is now full of birds and a badger has taken to rolling in the wild garlic at night time! I do hope that we will see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NITXW01
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome Bothy!”
Reviewed 23 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

What can I say that that hasn't already been written?

This little gem of a cottage is simply awesome. Nestled away up a quiet country lane less than 5 miles from Ballycastle. A great place to retreat far from the 'madding crowd' that just oozes opulent charm, from the kitchen to the water closet and everywhere in between!

As soon as you arrive you will receive a very warm welcome from your host, April.

The 'welcome pack' is the most generious that we have ever come across, home made wheaten bread & scones (we brought the remainder of the wheaten home), jam, marmalade, eggs, milk, orange juice etc, even a bottle of wine, not to mention the little treats in the bed rooms. in fact every room had a little treat ... Incredible!

The decor throughout is just amazing also, like you just walked into a page of 'country living magazine" - beautiful drapes and bed linen with a cosy lived in feel about the whole place.

Forget about your hotels and guest houses, this is the place to be! A perfect base if you are holidaying around the north coast.

Well done April!

ps; great WiFi reception also.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All aspects
Liked least: We couldn't stay longer.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2015
Having just finished reading your most generous review of our little cottage I can honestly say that I am thrilled you were so very happy with everything.
Our dream was to be able to provide a place where one could completely relax in the peace and quiet.of the countryside but still close enough to the outside world should you want to explore the beautiful coast and all it has to offer.All the little extras are our way of saying a very warm welcome to our home.
Hope to see you again soon!
Warmest regards,
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2015 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Mar 2015
It is great to hear from you and thank you for your kind review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you hope to come back again.
Warmest regard,
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KMMul
Newbridge, Kildare
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely flawless... the perfect idyl!”
Reviewed 19 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and my sister spent two nights in this beautiful cottage and did not want to leave! As soon as we turned in the driveway we were in love with the place. I cannot recommend this little bolthole enough. It is a peaceful getaway with all of the stunning Antrim tourist spots on your doorstep. The cottage was cosy and tastefully decorated with top quality facilities.. everything was thought of from home baked scones and fire lighting on arrival to the basics in the fridge for a convenient stay. Thank you April and Neil for a wonderful stay in your beautiful bothy, it is just stunning I just wish we could have stayed for longer - next time hopefully!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words about The Bothy.
I can't begin to tell you how much pleasure it gives us to hear that our guests have had a peaceful and relaxing stay.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Warmest regards,
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian k
Newry
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Escape!”
Reviewed 5 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely cottage, warm and welcoming.
A very comfortable bed from which one can watch the birds feeding in the garden.
Ideal location for the Antrim Coast.
Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2015
Thank you for your most kind words and relieved to hear that you found the bed comfortable which is so important as it either makes or breaks a holiday! The birds are a joy to watch and I keep meaning to put some binoculars in the Bothy so thank you for reminding me!
Do hope you will visit again.
Warmest regards
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$106
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing