We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic weekend and Dark Hedges.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Forestsidehouse

Forestside House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Forestside House
Forestside House Ballycastle Ample car parking space at Forestside House and Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
Forestside House
Forestside House Ballycastle
Ample car parking space at Forestside House and Cottage
Open Fire Living Room
Large well equipped kitchen
Typical family room
All bed linen hotel quality
All bed linen hotel quality
2 cots available in Forestside House
All bathrooms with bath and shower enclosure
Dining room with extendable table
Private gated entrance with ample car parking
Fully enclosed gardens
Children's play area
Private lane
Spacious fully tiled hallways
Patio with Charcoal or Gas BBQ available
we are only a short drive from ballycastle golf course
we are only a short drive from the ferry terminal to rathlin island
early morning mist on rathlin island
Fair Head Ballycastle
We are located 12 miles from the world heritage site the Giant's Causeway
Clare Forest is a short walk from the house and cottage
Ballintoy harbour at sun set
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Ballycastle, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mal675
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend and Dark Hedges. ”
Reviewed 26 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Just back from a fantastic weekend at Forestside, what a fabulous house and great location.
We where meet by the wonderful Rhonda who checked us in and showed us all around the house and gardens.
It's a beautiful large house with more than enough rooms for several families, situated in a safe country location within 2 miles of Ballycastle, convenient for any nights out or last minute shopping.
One thing they don't tell you, it's also on the road to the world famous Dark Hedges from the Game of Thrones tv series. It's about 3 miles away.
Really enjoyed our weekend there and we will definitely book again.
Loved it, Mal and Cathy

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2017
Hi Mal and Cathy,

Thanks for taking the time to write such kind words about your stay.
We're glad that you had such a good time and enjoyed the property.

We look forward to hosting your next stay, perhaps next time you can tick off more of the Game of Thrones film locations?

All the best,

Adam, Lisa, Rhonda.

Forestside House
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam H
1 review
“Fantastic getaway in a great location!”
Reviewed 15 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Great place for a weekend (or more) away from the hustle and bustle. Lovely property in a nice location with stunning views on the doorstep.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2017
Hi Adam,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review for the house.
We're happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you in the future.

Regards,

Adam and Lisa
Forestside House
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy L
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Great family getaway. Plenty of space with a huge garden for the kids. We were a family of 8 adults and 8 kids and although dining room was a bit squashy when we all ate together otherwise a perfect house for a big family gathering . Have already rebooked,

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2017
Hi Judy,
Thanks for taking the time to review the house and help our future customers decide that the house is for them.
We're glad the family had a great get-together and look forward to hosting you all again this May.

Kind regards,

Adam and Lisa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupsy2
Belfast
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A fantastic family stay at Forestside House and Cottage”
Reviewed 30 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Our family of 12 adults and 7 kids stayed for a weekend at the end of June in both the Cottage and House.

The house is fantastic, really spacious bedrooms, bathrooms and ample living space.

The site is very safe and secure for young kids and the garden has slides, swings and a trampoline for the kids.

The owners, Adam and Lisa, were very easy to deal with, quick to respond and very helpful.

Rhonda, who checked us in and out was also lovely, very welcoming and helpful.

There are very few places that can accommodate a large family group and it's great to have somewhere so well looked after to stay.

We enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2017
Thanks for your kind words and for taking the time to write a review!

It was great to host you and the whole family. We're glad they got to enjoy the kids garden area.
Thanks for getting in touch before your stay to iron out those finer details that concern large groups. We're happy to help make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Looking forward to your return trip.

Many thanks,

Forestside House
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidpark...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic place”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Loved this place from the outset. Brought together most of the family under one roof, kids and all. Hardly saw the wee ones as they were in the garden most of the time when we were in. Couldn't get them off the trampoline and the dad's had a good kickaround with the older ones. Nan uses a wheelchair and the host was great, the ramp was ready when we arrived and there are two bedrooms downstairs.
Master bedroom was huge with an ensuite. All the bedrooms were large, with the bathrooms big enough to play football in!

Area was grand, Ballycastle is just down the road. Lovely seaside town. We had a day on the beach, and further out there was plenty to do. Kids loved Hilltop farm. House had everything we could have asked for.
Even though there was a secure keypad we were personally checked in and out which is much better than anywhere else I've stayed. We were worried at first that the oil and electricity would cost a lot separately but wasn't much at all.
We ordered shopping online without any hassle and the big kitchen was a great feature. Nan loved her wee reading room too.
Per person really cheap. We've booked already for next year for the same time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house is perfect for all the family under one roof
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2017
Hi David,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We're glad you and the family had such a fantastic holiday.

We look forward to your return trip in June!

Many thanks,

Forestside House
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing