We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 877)
Filter reviews
2 877 results
Traveller rating
2 194
350
160
102
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2 194
350
160
102
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews art deco cocktail bar great room afternoon tea hot tub cloth ear victorian room berts jazz bar ulster bank rooftop jacuzzi turn down service beautiful hotel huge bathroom truffle star hotel birthday treat scones
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 2 877 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely afternoon tea at the Merchant hotel on a Sunday afternoon. We were a big group of eight but the service was impeccable. The gluten free options were very tasty. The great room is amazing and hearing the history of the hotel makes it all the more impressive. It was a nice touch to pack up our leftovers in boxes for us as well not everywhere does that for afternoon tea and it would have been a shame to see all that delicious food go to waste. The staff were very friendly and made the experience all the better. It was pricey but worth it in my opinion.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Clairedce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2018

We really enjoyed our two nights in this splendid hotel in Belfast city centre. There are two room types - Victorian and Art Deco. We choose Art Deco and were not disappointed. The bathroom was splendid with an excellent, walk in shower. Staff were very attentive. Arriving with a car is a little pressurised in the narrow street but the valet parking on hand more than made up for that. Breakfast was magnificent and entirely table service which is such a rarity nowadays; great to avoid the buffet experience for a change.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank b2dac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2018 via mobile

We had our wedding at the Merchant on the 20th October. Everything was absolutely perfect! I cannot speak highly enough of the staff, polite and helpful without being over bearing. The food was excellent, I have no idea how they managed to dish out over 90 rib of beef cooked so perfectly. We stayed the night in the Seamus Heaney suite which was beyond luxury.
As we had family over from England, we had paid a visit to Bert's on the Thursday prior to our wedding, and again food and staff were top notch with a great wine list!
I don't like to single out staff as everyone was so lovely, but I have to give special mention to Clare M who co-ordinated our wedding, and Michelle who was on hand as well on the day, and also Sophia who waited on the top table. It could not have been more perfect!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank zararob88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2018 via mobile

Stayed at the Merchant on a Sunday night. Nice friendly staff. A bit of a pain when the keycards wouldn’t work twice, but it was sorted quick enough. Beautiful rooms. Food was good, but the staff stood out for me. They couldn’t be more helpful. I’ll stay there again. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank H7332NEhelenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2018 via mobile

Myself and best friend book for one night on the autumn deal! From we arrived Sarah on the reception desk couldn’t have been nicer or more helpful!
We where shown to our room by Jonny who was also very helpful!
The room was just perfect! It had everything you needed and more. The television had a great choice of movies to watch and the bed was like sleeping on a cloud!
The roof top Hot Tub was lovely, on a cold evening with a glass of champagne and great views of Belfast!
The room service was fantastic- with them bringing in the table and setting it up to perfection!
The breakfast was also perfect- With a great choice for everyone.

The staff in the hotel where all fabulous and couldn’t have done enough for us!

Only issue was I would have liked a bigger towel and that was me really trying to think of something wrong! Thank you for a lovely stay! Worth every penny and we will definitely be back!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Gleck05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews