We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in all ways”
Magnificent Front door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Magnificent Front door
Sitting Room showing fireplace with historic oak beam. Large well-equipped kitchen with full laundry facilities.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Magnificent Front door
Sitting Room showing fireplace with historic oak beam.
Large well-equipped kitchen with full laundry facilities.
Dining Area with window commemorating Lilian Bland's first flight.
Lilian Bland Bedroom (upstairs) with direct views over Belfast Lough.  Has ensuite.
Lilian Bland ensuite with luxury powerful shower
Dimity Bedroom (upstairs) overlooking patio.  Has ensuite.
Dimity Ensuite with luxury powerful shower.
Gingham Rose Bedroom (upstairs) with windows on opposite walls getting evening and morning sun.
Gingham Rose Ensuite with large shower cubicle with luxury powerful shower.  Roll top bath
Edwardian Lady Bedroom (downstairs) looking onto south-facing patio garden.
Garden Room with twin beds looking onto south-facing patio garden.
Downstairs (2 steps up) shower room with luxury powerful shower.
Partial view of lough from Lilian Bland 4 Poster Room
View of Coach House Garden
Dining area with window commemorating Lilian Bland's first flight
Outside View of the Coach House
Georgian main residence overlooking Belfast Lough
Front view of The Coach House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Neil T
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect in all ways”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

From the moment of arrival we realised we had struck "GOLD" The property is wonderful and the Lemon Drizzle cake left for our arrival was a lovely touch.

The property is large and ideal for One large family or a small group. Its location is ideal for touring to Places on the North coast and Belfast City attractions are only 10 minutes away by car or Taxi. The private access down onto the Beach was also an added bonus and our dogs loved early morning paddles each day.

Local pubs and reastaurants are within walking distance and Carrickfergus is well worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its location and size plus private walled garden area
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2013
Thank you for such a brilliant and enthusiastic review of our property - much appreciated that you took the time to do this. Loved the photo also !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMAC111
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, perfect location!”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I stayed in the owners adjacent property, 'The Coach House', with my husband, children, mother-in-law and friends.
The house was absolutely wonderful and spacious with ample parking, in a perfect location with easy access to the local area and motorways for trips further afield. It is located very close to Belfast Lough and with private access to the footpaths running alongside.
The house was beautifully presented with everything that required for our stay. The bedrooms are a true delight and the kitchen/diner extremely spacious and fully equipped (essential when travelling with children!).
We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and will be recommending this properties to our friends and will be returning ourselves.
Car is essential if you want to make the most of your stay in NI.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review my property in such detail and for awarding it 5 Stars. You and your family were perfect visitors and if I was to give guests Star ratings you would certainly get 5 Stars for the excellent way you left the property on departure! Hope we shall see you and your family here again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fbd13
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Property is as beautiful as it looks. Close to city centre (by car). Immaculately clean. Beautifully furnished.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Old Rectory and saying such complimentary things about it. We enjoyed having you, your husband, baby, and aunt stay in our house and so glad you enjoyed it so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westcorkl...
cork
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect home away from home.. Only convenience missing was a downstairs bathroom.”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Really had a fantastic holiday. Felt immediately at home on arrival. Fantastic beach promenade at the bottom of the road with a park which had outdoor gym equipment, which I used every morning on my run. The house is fully equipped with comfortable furniture and tasteful decoration. Beds very comfy and plenty of hot water, enough for all and there were nine of us. Perfect distance from all attractions. Got bus into city several times. Recommend Titanic tour, dark hedges, tour of murals and visit to Derry. We would return. Great shopping !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Really homely and comfortable.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our beautiful house and for your kind and enthusiastic comments. Thank you for mentioning that there is lots of hot water - we put a lot of effort into ensuring that our guests’ comfort is paramount hence the top quality beds etc. When we did the refurbishment we thought that 3 bathrooms upstairs would suffice but I take your point that one downstairs would be useful and there is space where we could put in a full shower room which we shall do at some stage in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G
Bishop's Stortford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great place to stay, very well located - superb accommodation”
Reviewed 1 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed in the Coach House six times since 2009 - in fact we were the first guests to stay there after it was refurbished in 2010 . The fact that we keep going back there is testimony to its charm and qualities. It is by some distance the best self catering accommodation we have ever stayed in either in Europe or UK.

The Coach House is very well connected with very fast road links to Belfast via the M5 (we have on occasions, for example, reached the ferry terminal in 7 minutes and Belfast city centre in about 15). It is also situated at the start of the Causeway Coastal route, going north up the Antrim coast road which is stunningly beautiful and leads to the Glens of Antrim, Dunluce Castle, the rope bridge at Carrick-a-Rede, Whitepark Bay and the Giants Causeway -amazing!

The accommodation is first class. The large kitchen is very well equipped. Three of the five bedrooms have en suite facilities. The bed linen is luxurious.
The Lilian Bland suite has a wonderful four poster bed and views overBelfast Lough to the County Down side . The sitting room which is very tastefully furnished has a beautiful outlook on a private and charming walled garden which is very thoughtfully planted out and since we first saw it it has blossomed profusely. We love it for many reasons including the friendliness of our hosts Rosemary and John; they have always made us feel at home. Their beautiful house is the big one beyond the high walled garden. Their front lawn rolls down towards the Lough ...magical. There are great walks along the nearby coastal path along the shores of the Lough.

The Coach House is situated in a quiet private road with a view of the Lough at the end of the road and there is secure private parking.

We would thoroughly recommend the Coach House.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High specification accommodation; most helpful hosts
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2012
Thank you for your very encouraging remarks. It is always a pleasure to have you both stay in The Coach House and hope we shall see you again in 2013.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$1 394
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing