We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ladies for lunch”

The Old Custom House
Ranked #249 of 1 415 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$199
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

Beautiful views across the Cardiff barrage. Great fresh fish and meats, all beautifully cooked. Only choices of potatoes is jackets or chips, but the chips are amazing! My sea bass was delicious with garlic butter. Service has been better, but preparations for a wedding party were taking place and it looked like a stunning wedding room, decorated lovely with an awesome cake!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 292FionaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

Myself and my partner visited here for Sunday lunch. It is a beautiful building with lovely outside eating areas when it is sunny, unfortunately for us it was raining ☔️
Inside the restaurant boasts high ceilings with strong decor, it has a very pleasant atmosphere, the staff are happy, friendly and helpful.
The food was well presented, tasty and with a substantial amount.
We both had a two course for £17,95 each which was reasonably priced. I would definitely return but on a sunny day maybe next time!..

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Cher1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

Visited to celebrate a special birthday. Drove a fair way to get there beaded on the menu on the website. On arrival, nothing from the website available. Asked to speak to a manager who arrived and preceded to treat us with brusque contempt. He told us the website menu is a sample menu and varies according to the season. Given they had prawns and fillet steak on offer (but not on their 2 course set menu) it seemed difficult to believe that they couldn’t offer these dishes because of ‘the season’. He turned his back on us and I was all for walking out. I was persuaddd by husband and son to stay as we’d travelled a fair distance. Ended up paying more than the cost of two courses advertised on the website for just one. We were offered the dessert menu, and may have had one, but the last of desserts was completely uninspiring, and we left and called at a nearby Tesco for dessert on the way home. We won’t ever be going back.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank JulieBart0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

Visited the restaurant for the first time after a recommendation from a friend. There was ample parking for the restaurant customers only. Room to sit outside but we chose to eat indoors. A lovely welcome from the staff. Shown to our table but could see all the fresh food available at the counter. We chose to go for the traditional Sunday lunch - we had a fresh seafood starter - 1 steamed mussels and 1 Hake goujons. This was followed by the main course - one of us chose Lamb and the other beef. These were served with 5 different veg and two types of potatoes. Staff were attentive without being overbearing. Majority of desserts were on display in a chiller and there was a dessert menu available. We did not have a dessert but and very tasty filtered coffee. The whole experience was very enjoyable and the view was spectacular.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank llinos2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

We visited in bank holiday Monday without booking; we spotted it after going across the tragedy and just calling in on a whim. Although it was busy they managed to seat us (5 of us) with no wait.
We ordered starters, main courses and desserts. The food was very fresh and really tasty.
I did feel slightly under dressed but the staff put us at ease and it didn’t seem a problem.
Order the creme brûlée for dessert you will not regret it.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Kesmai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Custom House also viewed

Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Pontyclun, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to The Old Custom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing