We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Exchange Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cardiff(Cardiff)
US$190
US$174
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Future Inn Cardiff Bay(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$197
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$205
US$160
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$244
US$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$205
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$83
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$154
US$149
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$118
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
217
53
29
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
217
53
29
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi bathcoal exchangeoriginal featuresgrand halliconic buildingcomplimentary bottle of proseccobeautiful hotelshirley basseycardiff baysnagging issuesrestored to its former glorysignature livingsignature suiteq parktrading floorluxury double roomlobby bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 318 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in the hotel using Groupon. Did not know what to expect,but it was fantastic. The old coal exchange saved from demolition. Lovely rooms perhaps the decorating a bit too dark for my liking. We had a ground floor room with a double bed and two singles and a wet room, which i asked for when i booked the room. We had a 2 course meal in the beautiful dining room while the waiters were very entertaining with one even giving us a very informative history of the hotel, and the future restoration in the coming months. The only drawback is that there is no car parking. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Expect to book a taxi
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BethanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
30JSt, Front Office Manager at The Exchange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi BethanJ,

A huge thank you for taking the time to leave us a five-star review!

I am very pleased to see you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and it is lovely to read your positive comments regarding the restoration of this beautiful, iconic building.

As a team, we do pride on our customer service and we are all very passionate about the history of the building, it is lovely to see this was shown during your experience.

Unfortunately we do not have a car park, however we do have a affiliation with a local Q-Park car park at Cardiff Bay just a short 6-7 minute walk away where our guests can make use of 15% discount when pre-booked online.

We really hope to see you again soon.

Thank you once again for your review and take care,

Charlotte Fenwick
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a Cream Tea at The Exchange Hotel today with my mother for an Easter Treat as I have wanted to come and see it for quite some time. Blown away with how stunning all the original features and history that pours out of the place, but also the scones were freshly home baked and phenomenal - plus you get two! And if you can’t manage them they offer to place them in a box to take away so not stuffy at all!
Paul had a lovely manner and looked after us very attentively in fact all the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating, that we felt truly comfortable. They also have a ramp for disabled people whom may struggle with all the steps at the entrance.
Will we be back? Hell yeah!!! Totally in love with the place, so happy to see the building was saved and preserved so the history wasn’t lost.
So next time dinner, and hopefully a stay sometime soon!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
30JSt, Front Office Manager at The Exchange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Charlotte S,

A huge thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely, five-star review!

It is great that both yourself and your mother were able to pop in for an Easter treat and take in the beautiful architecture of his iconic building.

I'm pleased to see you enjoyed your cream teas - I have to agree, the scones are stunning!

I have personally passed on your kind words to Paul and he is thrilled to have impacted your visit in such a positive way.

We do have plans further on in the development to have a permanent ramped access at the rear of the hotel leading directly into our R.P. Culleys restaurant as the steps at the front of the hotel are listed and therefore we are unable to adjust them in any way.

It is fab to see your positive comments regarding the restoration and for this I thank you.

We can't wait to welcome you back again very soon!

Thank you once again and take care,

Charlotte Fenwick
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a two night stay at the Exchange and were so impressed with the standard of service and friendliness of all the staff. They really couldn't do enough for us.
The meal in the restaurant was excellently cooked and absolutely delicious.
Would recommend to others and will be returning shortly. .

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bella352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
30JSt, Front Office Manager at The Exchange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Bella352,

A huge thank you for leaving us a fab review following your recent stay with us!

I am so pleased to see you found the team to be friendly - we are very lucky to have a great team here who really care about our guests and pride themselves on going the extra mile.

I will ensure your wonderful comments regarding your meal are passed to our chefs as I know they will be thrilled to hear your feedback.

It's fab to read you will be returning and on behalf of the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Thank you once again and take care,

Charlotte Fenwick
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Iniatilly we went there at lunchtime to have a look, The Exchange is a lovely looking Hotel, set in the old quarter of the Bay. We had to pay for street parking but we noticed that the parking was free after 6pm. At the moment is a temporary restaurant set to the rear of a very impresive function room, I liked the look of the restaurant a lot but my husband was not as impressed as I was.We took the menu into the bar to have a look at the food they had on offer, the bar tender Miguel was very attentive and helpful, couldn't do enough for us, and offered us a 10% discount card to be used in the restaurant, the menu at the moment is small, but has some intriguing choice on it, so we decideed to book a table for that night.

On arrival in the evening, we had drinks at the bar, my husband was intrigued by a cocktail called "Dragon's Breath", the bar tender fully explained how it was made which included smoking oak shavings into a dome which held a glass of Whiskey, with Lemon and Port, he is a sucker for theatre and anything new, so that was the drink for him, and he was like a big kid with a new toy, needless to say that he loved it and would highly recommend it.while I just settled for a Pironi.
They called us when our table was ready and we had table 3 which is in a lovely position, we shared a starter of Scallops and it couldn't be faulted, the presentation and flavour was top quality.
For the main course I ordered the Lamb, and my husband ordered a medium rare Rib Eye Stake, my Lamb came with a Celeriac puree and 3 lamb bon bons, it was a beautiful meal and we both thought it was the best bit of lamb we could remember having, however my husband's Rib Eye Stake was not that good, although it was medium rare, it didn't melt in the mouth and was a little bit chewey, but the pepper corn sauce was full of pepper corns and creamy, (lovely), its a shame that there was not a Sirloin offered on the menu, finally we shared the Cheese Board and were a little disappointed with its size for the price.
The Staff were wonderful, attentive, friendly and funny, and couldn't do enough for us.

We understand that they are opening the new restaurant in a few months time, and we look forward to becoming frequent visitors to this beautiful Hotel.I would give it 10 out of 10, however my husband would only give it a 9 out of 10 but we would both highly recommend you having a meal there, beautiful, lovely sourced food and a warm friendly environment.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

An iconic building and restaurant in the grand hall but not finished to a good standard and some teething issues still.
Food excellent but I’d request a different bigger room next time.

Staff - friendly on check in and in all areas. Organised a complimentary bottle of prosecco for our anniversary Thank you.

Resturant - large breakfast room and dining area in the grand hall. Very impressive and warm enough.
Food very good and ample. Steak was a £7 supplement to the two course menu. Drinks £5 a pint. Wine £19 a bottle. Deserts £6 to £8.

Breakfast - a good effort and staff working very hard. Not enough food coming out at a time. Had to wait for several items eg eggs and butter but tasty fresh food.

Bar - no draft beer as the cellar wasn’t finished. Poor choice and £4.25 for a small bottle of iPa. Draft beers were served in the restaurant so could have been sourced.
Nice relaxed area to chill near reception.

Our Room was room 104 at front - small size.
Heating control was good and nicely decorated with appropriate furniture and history.
Workmanship - the rooms are dry lined and have secondary double glazing to the old casement sash windows. Can be opened partially.. the job seems to have been rushed as finish not good with loose taps and fittings, gaps in trims, loose carpet and poor design of mirror locations and openings. The bigger rooms may be better. Lighting dim but with extra lamps in the room.
No noise issues other than doors slamming in room next door.
Bed was a small double and not big enough really when used to a king. Pillows comfy. We

Tea and coffee sachets and kettle. Tv good size wall screen.
Bathroom - big double jacuzzi bath that takes ages to fill.. Lots of hot water. Poor steam extraction and room mists up.
Wi-fi - worked well in room 104

Hotel heating was variable, with cold corridors and stairs and a Luke warm Resturant hall. Room air conditioning good control.
No pool or lifts and this hotel.

Surroundings - a few bars and restaurants across from the hotel and good Choice of chain restaurants in the bay area. . Busy on Friday and Saturday evenings. A few dodgy characters and chancers around the streets.

Overall - great value hotel £99/night with meals and breakfast. Just right distance from city/bay. We liked it and will be returning here when improvements are made. . Nice atmosphere for a traditional old hotel.
Will return in a year or so....

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank JP070766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
30JSt, Front Office Manager at The Exchange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi JP070766,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent visit however I am very sorry to see we only made three-stars this time.

As a new hotel, we will encounter a few teething issues but we are very keen on rectifying these issues as soon as they are brought to our attention and a such I can confirm that our Maintenance team have since resolved the problems in your room.

It is lovely to read that you found our team to be friendly - we do pride ourselves on our level of customer service and I am pleased to see the reception team went the extra mile and popped a bottle of Prosecco in your room for yours special occasion!

Currently all of our beds are standard double in size however we are looking at getting king-sized beds for the next phase of bedrooms.

The lifts are in the process of being installed and should be operational very soon. As well as this, the future plans do include a spa so please keep an eye out for the open day of this.

I have passed your feedback regarding breakfast and the bar to the relevant persons to look into however I am slightly confused at the comment that the cellar is not finished, as the cellar has been completed for some time.

It is lovely to see that you will return in the future and hopefully next time we can achieve a full, five-star review.

Thank you once again and take care,

Charlotte Fenwick
Reception Manager






Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews