We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Sunday Late Lunch - Family of 9”
Review of Grey

Grey
Ranked #20 of 1 327 Restaurants in Cardiff
Price range: US$7 - US$50
Description: Experience a sense of belonging at Grey, a contemporary restaurant and lounge that champions the modern dining scene with local and British classics. Our menus feature no-nonsense country-style dishes with big flavours and high quality, local ingredients. ·Free-range, farm-fresh food ·Small and large plates from the stove or grill ·Gourmet sandwiches and salads
Restaurant details
Description: Experience a sense of belonging at Grey, a contemporary restaurant and lounge that champions the modern dining scene with local and British classics. Our menus feature no-nonsense country-style dishes with big flavours and high quality, local ingredients. ·Free-range, farm-fresh food ·Small and large plates from the stove or grill ·Gourmet sandwiches and salads
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Late Booking - the Better Half decided on Friday night she wasn't up for a big roast. I couldn't help - as I had a commitment; running the line, up at Sardis Road. So - what were the options? Not many... Had some ideas, but 1st & 2nd Call - fully booked. Made a 3rd call & delighted that Grey at the Hilton in Cardiff would be happy to accommodate a late lunch for 9. Set Menu, though. Not a problem, sure we could find some delights in there... Arrived & courteously escorted to the bright and contemporary restaurant front, overlooking the Kingsway.

Delighted we were shown to our table and offered the A La Carte menu, as an alternative.

The Team were attentive, accommodating and so helpful. The party age ranged from 3 yrs to 70+ with a 21 yr old, 18 yr old and 3 x teenagers as well - so we'd (no doubt) be hard work!

Drinks sorted & starters were ordered. We were then offeredsome bread. You have to try the selection of breads, with butter, oil and goats cheese - Delicious.

My Eggs Benedict (guilty pleasure) was spectacular.

4 of us (2 x Adults + 18 yr old & 12 yr old) opted to share the Tomahawk - 1.1 kg of Rare Steak. Perfectly prepped, cooked & then brought table-side & sliced - presented on Himalayan SaltRock platters. Left on the platters, just long enough to be seasoned, to perfection - accompanied by Fries (Skinny & Sweet Potato), Portobello mushroom and a selection of sauces (Garlic, Bearnaise & Peppercorn). An absolutely delectable and succulent meal.

The young ones had various dishes from the Kids Menu & whilst the food was spot on, I cannot express how attentive and obliging the Waiting Staff were. Whatever we asked for, they responded to so well. Even when we hadn't asked for anything, we were quietly approached to see if there was anything they could do for us.

As a result of the Tomahawk Steak, preceded by appetising starters and the bread and olives - nobody had any space for desserts!

I will definitely put Grey on my shortlist, for the upcoming Mother's Day Lunch...

Thank you to the attentive and courteous Staff at Grey - they made the Family Occasion and Easter Sunday Lunch; a memorable and most enjoyable meal...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AKS Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, Manager at Grey, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hello AKS Y

Thank you for your kind review about your visit at Grey.
We are very delighted to hear you`ve had such a great time with us.
The whole team always wants to make sure everyone`s dining experience is special and I`m glad that`s exactly what you found to be the case.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the hopefully not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Regina
Grey Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited today after having some treatments in the spa. The 2 courses for £10 was excellent value and the service was good. Ham and chicken terrine starter was lovely and a generous potion, the goats cheese in walnut crust looked good too. For mains, I ordered the butternut risotto and for some reason it wasn't good..I've never sent a dish back before but it was like a bland rice pudding, it was quite odd! However the staff were so helpful and changed it for a tuna Niçoise salad immediately which was beautiful and a really good portion. I would definitely go back here, may event try the bottomless brunch! Nice location opposite the castle if you get a seat in the window.

Thank Hayleybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, Manager at Grey, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Hayleybob
Thank you taking the time to share your experience in Grey. I`m delighted to know that you were happy with food and service.
Your comments will be shared with our kitchen team.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards,

Regina Rager
Grey Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a fab brunch here for my friends 21st. I had the steak sandwich and crumble which were delicious and they really decorated the table to make it special

Thank abbieshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, Manager at Grey, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear abbieshaw
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience in Grey.
We are delighted to hear that we were able to help make your friends 21st birthday celebration special.
Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Regina Rager
Grey Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We attended today as a party of 9 as part of my 50th birthday celebrations. All I can say is from the moment we arrived to the moment we left we had excellent service. The food was amazing , the sandwiches that we chose individually were a great hit, simply delicious. The cakes were stunning with more than enough to fill us up. Our waiter Rhys was simply amazing as a host. He explained everything, was patient, and very engaging, nothing was too much trouble rouble and we really felt looked after. Thank you so much for a wonderful experience, we shall be returning soon for a brunch with bottomless prosecco.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank karengolledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, Manager at Grey, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear karengolledge
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review about Grey.
We are delighted to hear that we helped make your birthday celebration special and that you`ve enjoyed both service and food.
We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Regina Rager
Grey Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked for 17.30 but arrived just after 17.00 and we’re seated without any problem. The restaurant was quiet but it was a Sunday evening, post super Saturday and with the mini beast from the east in full swing, it was to be expected.

We ordered two gins which were very nice and shared the Mussle’s for starter which we really enjoyed.
For mains, we ordered a hake risotto and chicken club with chips. The club was huge and my partner really enjoyed his risotto. The chunky chips unfortunately weren’t great.

Sticky toffee pudding to finish was delicious and we relaxed with a liquor coffee and espresso martini.

Service was polite and attentive and the decor calm and inviting on such a bitterly cold night.

Thank Hungrygirl150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLCardiff, Manager at Grey, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Hungrygirl150
Thank you for taking the time to write this review about Grey.
I`m delighted to hear you enjoyed both service and food in the Restaurant.
I`ve passed your comment about the chunky chips on to our kitchen team.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Regina Rager
Grey Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grey also viewed

 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Grey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing