We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely wonderful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lakeside Lodge

Lakeside Lodge with views of the hills beyond.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lakeside Lodge with views of the hills beyond.
The decking area and Japanese garden. Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Lakeside Lodge with views of the hills beyond.
The decking area and Japanese garden.
Lounge
Lounge
Dining table
Kitchen door leading onto the decking area.
Sit here and enjoy a glass or two!
Side door
Kitchen, with cooker, hob, toaster and microwave.
Kitchen leading to shower room and downstairs w.c.
Main bedroom with church style window.
Twin bedroom showing corridor with upstairs w.c.
Twin bedroom.
Twin bedroom showing door and Juliet balcony.
View onto paddock and hills from the twin bedroom.
Plenty of parking space!
The lodge and church clearly visible...what a wonderful location!
The Beacons are just up the road!
Above Pontsticill reservoir looking down on lakeside Lodge, to the left of the bridge!
The reservoirs look mysterious in the mist! Great for fishing too!
Blaen Y Glyn waterfalls are just 5 minutes up the road!
Behind the waterfall at Ystrafeldte!
The Brecon mountain railway runs along the other side of the reservoirs.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
slowrunne...
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I stayed here with my husband and teenager daughter last week. The cottage was absolutely beautiful. It was very clean, warm, spacious and had everything we needed. Lots of lovely walks in the area too. My daughter absolutely loved Lucy the pony! We had a wonderful week.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2016
Hi Jenny.
We are chuffed to bits that you enjoyed your week here with us, and that you had a good time in the lodge itself, as well as in the area. I guess the glorious weather helped! Lucy says 'hi!'
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claire p
1 review
“Family History”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The Lodge was spacious with all that one needed. The owners of the Lodge were very friendly and willing to help in any way. The master bedroom had a bed to die for :) The owners live on site within their own property but respected our privacy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the Lodge
Liked least: going to bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2016
Hi, Claire. Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review for the lodge. We are pleased that you had a good time while you were here. All the best, Paul & Ros
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomDoleza...
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 15 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A spacious, clean, well appointed holiday cottage in a very peaceful and photogenic area.

An ideal location for relaxing on the large decking area or in the Japanese garden after a days outing be it walking, seeing the numerous local sights and attractions.

Paul and Roz being delightful and informative hosts for our week.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2016
Hi Tom.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your week staying at the lodge. Many thanks for the delightful review. We would welcome you back at any time! All the best.
Paul & Ros
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susan b
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A private and peaceful haven.”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This was our second stay at Lakeside Lodge, and can`t thank Ros and Paul enough! Fantastic Lodge, home from home, very comfy bed, ample storage, great kitchen, and all in this beautiful location. Our favourite pastime was feeding Lucy the horse in the paddock at back of Lodge, she loves carrots! Lot`s to do, waterfalls last year, coal pit, gold mine, mountain railway this year. Great place to eat right next to railway. Beautiful countryside,lovely walks,pretty towns Crickhowell being a favourite! Hope to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2015
What a lovely review! Thank you so much. We are so chuffed that you had such a great stay and found so much to do around the area. We hope you find the time to visit and enjoy the lodge and surroundings yet again in future years!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P d
Damwald, The Netherlands
1 review
“Excellent lodge, a home away from home”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This lodge was better then expected. Very clean, good furniture, super beds, kitchen well equiped.
Very friendly and helpfull owners. Great location, quiet and peacefull. We felt right at home. On a scale of 1 to 10 this would be a 12.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The beds without a doubt!
Liked least: After thinking very hard; Bathroom bit small maybe.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2015
Hi.
Wow, many thanks for the excellent review. So pleased you enjoyed your week with us, and all the fabulous walks and views in the area. Ros and Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing