We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly Recommended”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lakeside Lodge

Lakeside Lodge with views of the hills beyond.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lakeside Lodge with views of the hills beyond.
The decking area and Japanese garden. Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Lakeside Lodge with views of the hills beyond.
The decking area and Japanese garden.
Lounge
Lounge
Dining table
Kitchen door leading onto the decking area.
Sit here and enjoy a glass or two!
Side door
Kitchen, with cooker, hob, toaster and microwave.
Kitchen leading to shower room and downstairs w.c.
Main bedroom with church style window.
Twin bedroom showing corridor with upstairs w.c.
Twin bedroom.
Twin bedroom showing door and Juliet balcony.
View onto paddock and hills from the twin bedroom.
Plenty of parking space!
The lodge and church clearly visible...what a wonderful location!
The Beacons are just up the road!
Above Pontsticill reservoir looking down on lakeside Lodge, to the left of the bridge!
The reservoirs look mysterious in the mist! Great for fishing too!
Blaen Y Glyn waterfalls are just 5 minutes up the road!
Behind the waterfall at Ystrafeldte!
The Brecon mountain railway runs along the other side of the reservoirs.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
TomDoleza...
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 15 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A spacious, clean, well appointed holiday cottage in a very peaceful and photogenic area.

An ideal location for relaxing on the large decking area or in the Japanese garden after a days outing be it walking, seeing the numerous local sights and attractions.

Paul and Roz being delightful and informative hosts for our week.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2016
Hi Tom.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your week staying at the lodge. Many thanks for the delightful review. We would welcome you back at any time! All the best.
Paul & Ros
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susan b
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A private and peaceful haven.”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This was our second stay at Lakeside Lodge, and can`t thank Ros and Paul enough! Fantastic Lodge, home from home, very comfy bed, ample storage, great kitchen, and all in this beautiful location. Our favourite pastime was feeding Lucy the horse in the paddock at back of Lodge, she loves carrots! Lot`s to do, waterfalls last year, coal pit, gold mine, mountain railway this year. Great place to eat right next to railway. Beautiful countryside,lovely walks,pretty towns Crickhowell being a favourite! Hope to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2015
What a lovely review! Thank you so much. We are so chuffed that you had such a great stay and found so much to do around the area. We hope you find the time to visit and enjoy the lodge and surroundings yet again in future years!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P d
Damwald, The Netherlands
1 review
“Excellent lodge, a home away from home”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This lodge was better then expected. Very clean, good furniture, super beds, kitchen well equiped.
Very friendly and helpfull owners. Great location, quiet and peacefull. We felt right at home. On a scale of 1 to 10 this would be a 12.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The beds without a doubt!
Liked least: After thinking very hard; Bathroom bit small maybe.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2015
Hi.
Wow, many thanks for the excellent review. So pleased you enjoyed your week with us, and all the fabulous walks and views in the area. Ros and Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie G
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and all the home comforts!”
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Just returned from a last minute 1 night stay in the lodge.We were very lucky to have such fantastic facilities for the night.
My partner and I travelled with a friend from Cardiff Bay on bikes via the Taf Trail which was lovely. When we arrived at Ty Taf Fechan (very easy access from NCN 8) we were given a very warm welcome frm Paul and Ros and shown our accommodation.
A good storage facility for our bikes as well was very handy!
Lovely meal in the local pub and a good atmosphere was perfect for the night before settling down in the comfortable lodge.
Paul and Ros did a fantastic breakfast for us the next day which set us up for our journey back.
Thank you both for an amazing weekend and we will be back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable and homely
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2015
Hi there!
Sorry for the late reply. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your (all too short) stay at the lodge. We are now waiting for you to finish off the Taff Trail from here to Brecon, and be sure that you would be welcome once again to stay with us!!! All the best for your long ride from John O'Groats to Lands End!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topsy107
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic gem in beautiful spot”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Just returned from a fabulous week at the Lakeside Lodge near Pontsticill. It is a lovely lodge and has everything you could wish for: friendly and knowledgeable owners, beautiful location, fantastic walking from the door and lots more within a short drive, well equipped kitchen, lots of local info and great views! The only thing it lacks is Internet access and a mobile phone signal - personally I quite liked that but some people may find it difficult. We were incredibly lucky with the weather so were walking a lot and didn't spend loads of time at the lodge but when we did it was extremely comfortable. Would definitely recommend this lodge and will return when we visit Brecon Beacons again. Thanks Paul and Ros for a great week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2015
Hi there!
Sorry for the very late reply! We are delighted that you had a great week at the lodge, and that you found it so comfortable. We'd be delighted to have you back when you return!
Ros and Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing