We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent location and property”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Acre Brecon

The Acre Bwlch Brecon, looking towards the Black mountains. Set in two acres of private grounds.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Acre Bwlch Brecon, looking towards the Black mountains. Set in two acres of private grounds.
Master bedroom with super king size bed and additional single. Kitchen, range cooker rustic table seating 8,  open plan with natural light from all aspects.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
The Acre Bwlch Brecon, looking towards the Black mountains. Set in two acres of private grounds.
Master bedroom with super king size bed and additional single.
Kitchen, range cooker rustic table seating 8,  open plan with natural light from all aspects.
Ground floor sitting area with 42' led TV and Wii console, breath taking views.
Ground floor lounge with seating for 8 in comfort.
First floor lounge, with balcony panoramic view's of the Usk valley and beyond.
Utility room comprising off boot rack, washer dryer, dishwasher, door leading to shower room
Utility room with ample floor and wall storage, tiled floor throughout the ground floor.
View from the decking, which has a double burner BBQ and seating for 8, sit and relax.
The decking looking North,a parasol to shade you from the summer sunshine.
The Acre Bwlch, from the top of its grounds looking East at the Black mountains. 2 acres of garden.
Happy guests on the balcony, relaxing with a drink and enjoying the fabulous views.
Kitchen set up for breakfast for 6 more seating available. American fridge freezer with dispenser.
A view from the Black mountains in the same valley as the Acre Bwlch. A walkers paradise.
Walk in shower on ground floor with toilet and wash basin. All towels and bath robes provided.
The lake, under 3 miles away, walk or cycle a bird watchers haven, perfect for sailing & fishing.
Brecon Beacons in Brecon 7 miles away, Hay on Wye a short drive, Green Man festival 2 miles .
Drive and flower bed, the lane leading to the Acre is single track and a dead end road so very quiet
Ground Floor layout
Taken on the 23rd November 2014 fog in the usk valley
The Acre in winter bottom left of the picture.
First floor lounge with balcony doors open in the summer.
Sink and American fridge freezer with plumbed ice and water.
Fresh vegetable boxes with green house for organic supplies.
Patio area with BBQ and plenty of seating,
King size bed with ensuite.
First floor living room with balcony doors closed.
Boot and coat rack for storage after your days adventure.
Travel cot,for the younger visitors.
Patio area with BBQ and water feature. Fabulous view in every direction.
3D 5.1 Blu Ray home cinema system.
Table set for dinner.
Fresh bread made at The Arce.
Snow at The Acre, approaching 1000ft.
Bright warm sunshine on the patio at The Acre Bwlch.
Loads of private parking along with well kept colourful grounds.At The Acre Bwlch.
Our own hens, a great attraction with the younger guests free eggs!
If your visit is in the summer months feed the huge Sun flowers.
Fisherman on Llangorse Lake.
View to the Black mountains with snow from The Acre Bwlch.
The start of our ride back to the Acre Bwlch
Clean sealed floor tiles, american style fridge freezer
utility room from the stairs
Utility room from the kitchen
Floor plan of The Acre Bwlch Brecon
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Hittfamil...
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent location and property”
Reviewed 2 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We had a lovely weekend at Acre Bwlch to celebrate my Dad's 75th birthday. Our welcome to the cottage was superb thank you. The accomodation worked well for us and it was lovely to be able to relax in the large upstairs lounge area. The kids loved the chickens, Wii and the ice machine on the fridge! Thank you for a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alex r
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“great”
Reviewed 19 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Very welcoming host, excellent location for exploring the national park. Property was very spacious and clean. Excellent views and an abundance of mod-cons made for a very pleasant stay. Would highly recommend visiting!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon M
Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed 29 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

The Acre is one of the best self-catering properties we have stayed in. From start to finish Conway went above and beyond to make our stay an enjoyable one. We received a text message prior to arrival asking our preferences for bread and milk. On the day of our journey we received a text saying that a pot of tea would be waiting for us on our arrival, this was a nice touch. The Acre is a very large, spotlessly clean and very spacious property and is out of this world with all the luxury items such as a large range cooker, a massive American style fridge freezer, 3 TV’s, and bread maker to name a few. On arrival Conway was waiting to greet us with a pot of tea and coffee and the welcome pack on the table was out of this world with fresh baked bread, Steph's home-made Welsh cakes (tasty and delicious) large basket of vegetable and fruit. The Acre is situated in an area ideal for walking, mountain biking and sightseeing. It is also great for star gazing as well. Highly recommended and will definitely return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B
2 reviews
“Superb Accommodation”
Reviewed 7 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We came to South Wales as we were filming at Tretower Court - so we very much appreciated having such a warm and welcoming house to come back to after a week of long hours. It was well stocked with fantastic appliances and we were welcomed with freshly baked bread and welsh cakes.

Quick wifi, wonderful views, modern bathrooms with lovely showers, great central heating, great spaces for socialising.

All the bedrooms are cosy with luxurious carpets, towels and comfortable beds. The living room has superb views and is a great space for relaxing with plenty of furniture and a huge TV.

We were looked after by Conway who is on hand with anything you need such as dishwasher tablets.

I'd highly recommend The Acre and we'd love to come back!

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard F
1 review
“Extremely comfortable and thoroughly enjoyable!”
Reviewed 7 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

This was our second stay at The Acre, and after enjoying such warm hospitality on our first visit, we didn't hesitate to come back!
Yet we were still surprised by the extremely warm and friendly welcome from the owner and very grateful for the food and drink supplies we had waiting for us inside, including the unbeatable smell of fresh bread. The welsh cakes didn't last 5 minutes!
The property itself is very comfortable. A lot of effort has been put into the small details to make the stay comfortable for a large group or family. The property itself is meticulously clean and kitted out to a high spec with everything you could need, from slow cookers, to bread makers, it also comes equipped with the mod cons; several TV's, Blu Ray player, Nintendo Wii and plenty of room to swing a cat (or child).
The property enjoys spectacular views looking down the valley towards Crickhowell. An early wake up is recommended, to view the sunrise and see the mist rise out of the valley! Beautiful.
The owners, Conway and Steph are extremely welcoming and make you feel very comfortable, help or advice is at hand should you ever need it. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and found ourselves departing with some sadness at having to leave such a beautiful property, in such a beautiful location.
Thanks for the stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;